8/11 Lulu AMPS 379

Maya_

Member
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...5-what-to-do-with-dosing.292903/#post-3198799

Hello,

I’ve had my cat on 0.75 units twice a day and seems to improve throughout the day by being within the 200s but then go back to a higher BG level, for example 379 today. It seems like I will need to increase the dose to 1 unit twice per day.

Still trying to understand how to have her BG levels regulated, will increasing the dosing slowly to get the BG levels within a normal range increase the chances of remission?

Thanks!
 
With SLGS you hold a dose for a week, (unless the cat goes under 90, in which case you would reduce the dose by 0.25u), then evaluate by running a curve, although getting random spot checks when you can during that week really helps to fill in the missing pieces.

From the SLGS dosing method sticky:

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments (emphasis mine).
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
Unfortunately with only preshots you aren’t able to get a good sense of how the dose is working, particularly details on where she onsets, nadirs and how much duration she’s getting. From the Basics sticky:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
I’d recommend you try and continue regularly with a before bed test since many kitties like to go lower at night, and with only some spot checks during the am part of the cycle, you are missing half the data. I wouldn’t let the pink preshots influence your thinking that she isn’t up to anything the rest of the cycle. I have seen plenty of cats over the years who start out in pink and drop during that cycle to a blue or green nadir, then bounce back up for next cycle.
 
Back
Top