8/11 Lucy PMPS=106;+2=79;+4=68

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Happy Sunday!

Yesterday's condo

8/10 AMPS=211; +3=176; +7.5=131
8/10 PMPS=133; +2=88; +3=76; +6.5=94

8/11 AMPS=103; +2=79; +5=119; +10=124
8/11 PMPS=106; +2=79; +4=68

Lucy seems happy, and her appetite is very good, but she's still having diarrhea. :sad:
It think it may be time to give up on reduced pred dose....
I called the vet and waiting for a call-back.

I hope everyone's having a nice day!
 
Re: 8/11 Lucy AMPS=103;+2=79;+5=119

I just spoke with the vet, and she suggested I take the below steps, which I will.

Step 1: Because I started giving her slippery elm bark powder and omega-3 at the same time she started having daily diarrhea, I stop them for a week to eliminate the possibility that these are causing her diarreha.

Step 2: If diarrhea doesn't stop, we'll put her on metronidazole.

Step 3: If that doesn't help, we'll put her back on the previous pred dose (currently 0.25mg every other day ---> increase to 0.5mg every other day).

I think this is a good plan.

I also spoke with her about the high white blood cell count from the recent test, and she thinks it's from the pancreatitis.
I asked her if she thought Lucy is in constant pain from pancreatitis, and she said she didn't think so from Lucy's demeanor.
She said acute pancreaitis flare is always very painful, but chronic one is not always painful.
As far as I can tell by looking at Lucy, I don't think she is in pain either.
So.... I will keep some bupe at hand in case of acute flare.
 
Re: 8/11 Lucy AMPS=103;+2=79;+5=119

Sorry to hear that the diarrhea isn't any better, but hope the ideas the vet gave you will give you some answers! You sure can't say you haven't given it a good try without going back to the old dose of prednisone right away

We'll all hope that one of the suggestions helps get it under control so you won't have to go back to the higher dose

Good luck you you and Lucy!
 
Re: 8/11 Lucy AMPS=103;+2=79;+5=119

Bummer about the loose poos, but it sounds like you've got a great plan in place, and it is awesome that she's hungry and happy! FWIW, my GA Mario, who was 17.5 when he crossed, has "mystery" high white blood cells probably for the last 2 years he was with me. The vet had all sorts of horrific theories, and wanted to run tons of expensive and stressful tests, but I have a strong gut instinct when it comes to my kitties, so I opted to observe and go from there. No doubt something was causing the WBC count, but it was steady for those 2 years, and aside from typical "17 year old kitty issues", he seemed to feel just fine (which was why I didn't want to put him through the stress of extensive testing), even though I didn't do any further testing.

Have a great evening, Mariko!
 
Re: 8/11 Lucy AMPS=103;+2=79;+5=119

Hi there Mariko,so sorry to hear Lucy having pooping problems today, numbers look good, so glad you could make to the party today and you enjoyed Lucky's video, hope all the rich food didn't get to you. Thought a day at the beach would make you better.
Hope you start feeling better soon.
Linda and Lucky
 
Re: 8/11 Lucy AMPS=103;+2=79;+5=119

Poo on the poo problems.
Here's a little something Ollie and I hope will help
magicalpoop.jpg

It sounds like you and your vet have a good plan in place.
Sending lots of "don't need more pred" vines.
Nice numbers, by the way.
 
Re: 8/11 Lucy AMPS=103;+2=79;+5=119

Lucy is looking good today. I'm glad she's happy and eating well. I think that's a good plan. I hope it will solve the poo problem.
 
Re: 8/11 Lucy PMPS=106

Thank you for your visit and well wishes for her poo problem.
Despite the puddin'poo, Lucy is feeling good.
Her appetite is still good.
She ate all her breakfast by herself this morning, and just ate her 1st dinner by herself too. :smile:
I love it when she loves her food!
 
Re: 8/11 Lucy PMPS=106

Hi Mariko,
If Lucy is eating well and her numbers are so good, I don't think her pancreatitis can be bothering her very much. I hope that the WBC will not be an issue, either. Your vet's plans for the poo problem sound very sensible. Thinking good thoughts that one of the remedies will be successful.
Have a good evening.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/11 Lucy PMPS=106

Nice start to the evening for Miss Lucy. :-D Sorry to hear about the back end issues but I'm glad your vet has some options to try before going back on pred. It's good the vet has an explanation for the WBC. I think we worry so much when one of the B/W indicators is out of normal, but it's comforting when the vet isn't as worried as us.
 
Re: 8/11 Lucy PMPS=106

Hi Mariko,

I am happy that Lucy feels good, even with puddin' poo. Your vet sounds like she has a good plan to try out. Hoping Lucy won't need more pred, but more important, that she stays feeling and eating good for you!

Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top