8/11 Johnny AMBG 123 PMPS 197

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
We're working on getting either a new pen or cartridge today. The vial we've been using turns 3 months old this Friday and it seems to be losing some potency, but is still clear and looks fine. And, until yesterday, Johnny reacted as though it was full strength. Yikes.

No luck in the Supply Closet or Craigslist (didn't post, just searched...it kind of freaked me out to think of getting it that way). Sienne had a great local suggestion for getting one pen at a time. I think we'll do that.

Oh, and all five Ps are in place for Johnny! :smile:

Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22046
 
Re: 8/11 Johnny AMBG 123

Well, happy birthday to your pen! Wow! 3 months old already? Time flies, eh? :lol:
It will be interesting to see what Johnny does with a new one.....hope you manage to find one locally....
 
Re: 8/11 Johnny AMBG 123 - Wow. Dumb vet comment.

I followed up on Sienne's lead for the pharmacy where you can get 1 pen. I called, got the pharmacist's number so the vet could call in the prescription. And then called the vet. And ran head first into a brick wall. The person who answered pulled up my file. I said I still had one refill, but it was specifically for a vial and I wanted to switch it to a pen. She put me on hold. Came back and said she talked to one of the vets (not the one we usually see) and she said that insulin "doesn't really lose it's efficacy" and if it did, it wouldn't be until six months or later. What?! I replied (to the care coordinator, not the vet) that we do hometesting and had noticed the insulin not working in the same way as it had previously and that the vial says 30 days (I think, maybe I made that up), but that other people I know could get up to 3 months out of it. She said she could have the vet call me back and I said that would be great.

What the heck? What if they don't give me the pen? Pay another $100+ for a vial filled with 100,000,000,000+ doses for Johnny? Ugh.

What are your experiences with the length of time you can keep vials? Maybe they DON'T refill others' prescriptions either and lots of animals are getting "increases" to make up for the lack of strength?? Oh, that would make me so mad.

I'm also a little nervous, as they have no idea we've been tackling the dosing, etc. ourselves (well, you guys have!!). They would have known if they cared to follow up. Last time, I talked to the vet (I initiated), Johnny was getting 2u and she thought he'd be ready for a decrease soon. That was 2.5 months ago. Ya think he's ready yet, Doc? :lol:
 
Re: 8/11 Johnny AMBG 123 - Wow. Dumb vet comment.

i wonder if this "not the one you usually see" vet realizes you are using Lantus? she may be thinking of vetsulin or one of the pzi's or something.

another thing would be to tell them you dropped the vial? or you already threw it out because you were getting a new one? ;-)
 
Re: 8/11 Johnny AMBG 123 - Wow. Dumb vet comment.

Good thought, Cindy. I told the person who answered that it was Lantus, but I don't think she was familiar with it. She likely told the vet "insulin" instead of being specific.

And I LOVE those suggestions for making sure I get a new one. You're good. ;-)
 
Re: 8/11 Johnny AMBG 123 - Wow. Dumb vet comment.

I was told once by a vet tech that the expiration was shown on the box of Vetsulin! Duh, not once you open and use it, Lady! It is very frustrating to speak with "the people who answer the phone" usually.
How frustrating! Cindy had some great ideas....non-negotiable really. I dropped it. Perfect!
Good luck when you speak with the vet. <sigh> Things like this get me so frustrated, ya know?
Hope it goes smoothly....
 
Re: 8/11 Johnny AMBG 123 - Wow. Dumb vet comment.

Tell them that you see "floaties" -- little crystals in the vial and that the pharmacist indicated that it's one way to know that the insulin is bad. If they tell you to shake the bottle, tell them to talk to a pharmacist!

Actually, if you read the Tilly Protocol, they note that many people on the German forum get up to 6 mos. from their Lantus. The duration of its effectiveness is variable. If you don't see crystals forming in the insulin and you are getting a consistent response, regardless of the age, the insulin is likely to be good.
 
Re: 8/11 Johnny AMBG 123 - Wow. Dumb vet comment.

The most I ever got was 40 days on one pen!!
How about you just going over there & speaking on a one to one basis & ask to see your vet?
Good luck!
 
We're now shooting 180 and above, so Johnny got his drop tonight.

We'll get some tests in to see if he's "quick dropping Johnny" or "gradual descent Johnny" tonight. If it's another gradual drop, should we assume the insulin is not as potent or that Johnny is the variable. It was just so odd the other day when he didn't react as strongly. Nice, but odd.

Edited to add: Brian thinks he may have been more stingy with the last shot. Paranoia on hold. Please don't have me committed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top