8/11 Harley PMPS 387, +4.5/214

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
Nice start to the day, especially after yesterday afternoon. Sister is visiting so will update ss and post more a bit later.

Pattie

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=49683
 
Re: 8/11 Harley AMPS 170

I didn't expect a bloo PS this morning! :mrgreen:

That was a quick come back! - wondering what you shot. . .and how the rest of the PM cycle went,. .
 
Re: 8/11 Harley AMPS 170

Harley fell into the blues at +6. Gave the 3.5u lantus and 0.1(might have been fat) or R. Am using the the magnifying glass to check amount so this should be as accurate as I can get it.

Snacking last night went ok but I might have to give a bit more. After eating the 0.5oz, he was still crying. Today I put into the feeder 0.6oz...will see if that helps him.

His whole morning is upset. My sister is using the bedroom where he usually gets his shot and breakfast. He kept running into the room where she was still sleeping and coming out looking at me like I should do something about this. Finally he went into the office area where he has a kitty column that he sits on. He was so cute.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/11 Harley AMPS 170

Aww poor Harley, his room has been taken over :lol:

funny-pictures-kitten-plots-revenge.jpg
 
Re: 8/11 Harley AMPS 170

how funny - cats are such creatures of routine. they finally get it figured out and then they think that The System is the only way things can be. We joke that punkin has a Feed Me Contract and we aren't allowed to deviate from it without a lot of complaining.

hopefully harley will recover from the trauma of his room being taken over! great amps for him today!
 
Re: 8/11 Harley AMPS 170

Hi guys .. wonderful start to the day harley! Well, other then your routine being messed with .. hope you have a nice visit with your sister .. have a great day!
 
Re: 8/11 Harley AMPS 170

Dear Pattie and Harley
So sorry I've been MIA but I think of you both. Finally got my act together to get back here and start checking in once again. Hoping it's a great day for both of you!!!!

xxx
patti
 
Re: 8/11 Harley AMPS 170, +5/515

Harley is +5/515 and I don't know why...has had no high carb food and only a touch of R last night. I have picked up the long needles now but don't think that is the problem. I have posted his bg and food amounts on his ss...my question is - can I (right now) use a touch (0.1u) R to get him down?

Pattie
 
Re: 8/11 Harley AMPS 170, +5/515

Hello! Maybe Harley is just stressed out from the visitors and being misplaced out of his room. My Stella is a stress case I have to make sure she is peaceful and her routine isn't knocked around. I looked at your SS and you have blue...so yippee!
 
Re: 8/11 Harley AMPS 170, +5/515

Hi Pattie,

I'm at tbp and getting ready to hop on a conf call I can't miss. Can't see ss. Hopefully others will chime in.

How is harley acting? did he get into any contraband?

Something is very wrong. What did you shoot this AM? How old is your Lantus? Do you think it was a furshot?? Please double check withh your alternate meter.

Breathe - better too high than too low. wait a bit for some feedback
 
Re: 8/11 Harley AMPS 170, +5/515

Sandy, I don't know how to do the multiple quotes so I have to copy and past. Here are answers to your questions.

"How is harley acting? did he get into any contraband?"
Harley is acting weird, very tired, odd look in his eyes. Contraband?? Not that I know of. I do know that he was at his brother's bowl but I shooed him away before (I think) he got any food. Even if he got some - it would have been a very small amount - no more than 1 nugget of food.

"Something is very wrong." This has me very concerned.

"What did you shoot this AM? How old is your Lantus? Do you think it was a furshot?? Please double check with your alternate meter."
Shot 3.5 - but the short needles. New pen was opened 8/2. Was not a fur shot. I need to go get a new battery for the alternate meter so won't be able to check for about 1 hour.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/11 Harley AMPS 170, +5/515

OK, I'm back at home and can see ss.

If you have re-checked and he is still in the black go ahead and give a DOR and check him in 1 hour.

So here are some more questions:

Is it possible he went way down, Harley style, last night after the +6.5/192?

Test strips expired?

I don't know about the needles - hopefully others do.
 
Re: 8/11 Harley AMPS 170, +5/515

Am leaving to buy a new battery. He might have fallen low but all food in auto feeder was gone..it was LC. Test strips were opened on 8/9 - I mark it on the bottle.

The shot, going in, felt the same as if I did it with the long needle.

Right now he is 503/+6.5. He was difficult to wake up and I really had to shake him. Should I make an appointment and get him to a vet?

Pattie
 
Re: 8/11 Harley AMPS 170, +5/515, +6.5/503

Hi Patti, I would try to get Harley to a vet soon, especially if he is lethargic. Could he have eaten something he is allergic to, or perhaps nibbled on a poisonous plant?
I hope that all is OK.

Ella
 
Re: 8/11 Harley AMPS 170, +5/515, +6.5/503

And how about trying to get a ketone test just so we rule out all possibilities.

It could also be a bad pen. If the insulin is bad, numbers can be inconsistent.
 
Re: 8/11 Harley +9.75/408

Gave Harley soupy FF to get him to use the LB - no ketones. bg down to 408. Don't know what is going on. I did not give any R.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/11 Harley +9.75/408

The more I'm looking at Harley's SS, I think he bounced off of the 38 the other night and then the HI/555 drop to what was probably less than 192 by +6.5 set off another bounce. It looks like Harley's coming down from the bounce.

I hope Jill and Libby stop by. I really think you need to look at whether even 0.1u of R is too much if it's causing that fast of a drop and setting up a bounce. I don't have any experience with R to offer any insight, though.
 
Re: 8/11 Harley +9.75/408

If 0.1 is too much (I know he is sensitive) would waving the bottle under his nose count. Only kidding...It might be that I lay off the R all together and let him drop on his own.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/11 Harley +9.75/408

Pattie you sound better - How is Harley??? Looks like he is floating down.

I too think it's quite possible that he went way lower than 192 last night.
Harley and Pattie said:
no ketones
Thank goodness.

Harley and Pattie said:
If 0.1 is too much (I know he is sensitive) would waving the bottle under his nose count. Only kidding...It might be that I lay off the R all together and let him drop on his own.
It is looking like even a drop of R is too much for Harley, even from way up in the 500s...insulin resistance is definately a thing of the past for him.

In my experience with R, although BK became much more sensitive, he did not become that sensitiive.

I too hope that Jill and Libby stop by.
 
Re: 8/11 Harley +9.75/408

I do feel better and I think Harley is too. He became a bit more active about an hour ago, walking around, grooming his brother. So....I hate the 500's

pattie
 
Re: 8/11 Harley PMPS 387

Harley is back into the pinks - whewww. Gave him 1 oz FF and 3.5u lantus tonight. Will continue to check on him.

Pattie
 
Definitely a crazy day for you Pattie! Looks like Harley is coming down. Tarragon will spike like that if there is sudden stress i.e. vet, visitors, etc.

Hope you get some rest tonight!
 
sorry I'm late. The way Harley is coming out of the high does make it look like a bounce. He dropped fast last night from the R, so maybe the fast drop is what set off the new bounce. I agree that 0.1 looks like too much R for Harley right now. Originally I had been thinking that it might be ok given in mid-cycle at the beginning of the bounce (like this afternoon), but he has cleared out of this so fast on his own without R today that I don't even think I would give R in mid cycle for a while. Let's see what he can do without it.

I hope you wake up to a good number tomorrow!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top