Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor
Member Since 2009
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53!/+3-63/+3.5-71/+4-80
Here's a little reminder from the Low Numbers Sticky. (You'll see that a test-and-feed routine is described. I haven't insisted that you feed based on the fact that Fitzel stayed above 50, started rising fast when you fed, and seems to be still rising or at least surfing, and because you're doing great at watching this cycle and seem relaxed, and I'm here watching with you, and finally because of the fact that Fitzel had those insulin-free cycles in the past couple of days. But I wanted to point it out, because test-AND-FEED is protocol and so we're going off-book a little here in a way.)
"If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out."
Here's a little reminder from the Low Numbers Sticky. (You'll see that a test-and-feed routine is described. I haven't insisted that you feed based on the fact that Fitzel stayed above 50, started rising fast when you fed, and seems to be still rising or at least surfing, and because you're doing great at watching this cycle and seem relaxed, and I'm here watching with you, and finally because of the fact that Fitzel had those insulin-free cycles in the past couple of days. But I wanted to point it out, because test-AND-FEED is protocol and so we're going off-book a little here in a way.)
"If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out."