8/11 Fitzel PMPS/+3-63/+3.5-71/+4-80/+4.5-90/+5.5-105

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53!/+3-63/+3.5-71/+4-80

Here's a little reminder from the Low Numbers Sticky. (You'll see that a test-and-feed routine is described. I haven't insisted that you feed based on the fact that Fitzel stayed above 50, started rising fast when you fed, and seems to be still rising or at least surfing, and because you're doing great at watching this cycle and seem relaxed, and I'm here watching with you, and finally because of the fact that Fitzel had those insulin-free cycles in the past couple of days. But I wanted to point it out, because test-AND-FEED is protocol and so we're going off-book a little here in a way.)

"If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out."
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53!/+3-63/+3.5-71/+4-80/+4.5-9

Jane - thank you for the sticky notes. That's good to know.

But, you're right in that I'm on top of it. I can see Fitzel's mood and demeanor as well as BG test results. And, you're here to hold my hand so at least I appear calm. :-D

You're wonderful to go find that and post it for us. I'm going to print it out.

Shai
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53!/+3-63/+3.5-71/+4-80/+4.5-9

shai said:
90....Is it okay if I go ahead and feed some LC and call it a night? Shai

Right, let's review. Last food was HC at (+2.5), which was 2 hours ago. Since then, Fitzel has steadily risen, even without the test-and-feed routine. Those are great signs.

Yes, I think you can feed an LC-meal and sleep a bit. You can also leave out some MC if you have it, after you fed the LC-meal. I would definitely set an alarm and get another test - I'd say in 1 hour (given the sticky-guideline of not becoming complacent - I really am OCD abiut testing and making extra extra sure I won't miss anything). Depending on the (+5.5), you may then be able to get more and uninterrupted sleep.

Can you get up for a (+5.5)? (I think others may have been ok with a test 2 hours from now rather than 1, but I'm OCD about making sure, like I said!)

Printing out the stickies is a great idea. I did that too :smile: Remember to print the whole thing. You can always highlight what you want to have standing out.

Jane
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53!/+3-63/+3.5-71/+4-80/+4.5-9

I can get another test in an hour.

No sleep though. I don't know if you're aware - I have permanent health issues where I have to connect to medical equipment to filter toxins out of my blood. I have to do this at night and again in the morning. I haven't done it yet tonight so when we're I get done here - I'll be out of commission for two hours on the machines and then I have to lay down after for a couple of hours.

I'll see if Judith can do the test later, but, Fitz might not get tested again for four hours after I do the +5.5. That's the minimum time it takes for me to cycle through the machines and the rest (or in this case sleep) period. I hate those damn machines, but they've been keeping me alive for the last 25+ years.

It's that fine line between needing to do what I have to do for me and taking the best care I can of Fitzel in spite of my circumstances.

I'll see if I can get her to eat. She's asleep next to my computer.

Shai
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53!/+3-63/+3.5-71/+4-80/+4.5-9

Of course! I'm sorry I didn't realize you hadn't done your medical treatment yet. And that you have to do them at all. ((Shai)) If the (+5.5) isn't what we'd like knowing the next test will have to wait 4 hours until (+9.5), you can feed again to be safe. You can even feed MC then, if you have it.

You did great tonight!
Jane
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53!/+3-63/+3.5-71/+4-80/+4.5-9

No worries. I'd like to forget I need to do this stuff too. :-D

I'll go feed her now and post at the 5.5 mark.

Will you still be online?

Shai
 
Hi Jane -

She's 105. I think she'll be okay until we can test her a bit later.

She ate a little, but she really wanted to sleep. I have LC food out for her and a small bowl of MC.

Do you think we can call it a night?

Shai
 
Yes, I think you can. You *always* have the option, if Judith is able to jump in, to get another test in a couple of hours if you *want* to be OCD-level with this :mrgreen: But Fitzel has doubled her BG basically, within three hours, with only a tiny bit of HC and a tiny bit of LC. I think she'll be fine, hopefully she'll even surf where she is for a while!

Good luck with your treatment and I hope you get some good rest afterwards! I'll keep an eye out for an update from you guys just in case.
Jane
 
Thank you for being here tonight. Fitzel says thank you as well. Even if she is a bit grumpy from all the tests.

We'll be on later in the am with a new BG number.

Thank you for being obsessive. It's appreciated and respected.

Now, as I read on your thread you made some lunch. I'll have mine to go. :-D

See you later!!!

Shai
 
Great cycle for Fitzel! You handled it perfectly, Shai. That 53 would get your heart to racing a bit but it's a normal BG for a cat.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top