8/11 Fitzel PMPS/+3-63/+3.5-71/+4-80/+4.5-90/+5.5-105

Status
Not open for further replies.
Fitzel's Condo

Fitz ate a good breakfast and did much chop-licking and cleaning. So what do you think of the the +2?

Yes, Judith is my wife. Just the two of us here in the mad house. Furrs out number us two to one. :lol:


I can't get to my computer yet so I'm typing this from my iPhone. That's why no condo yet. Please look at her SS from yesterday you'll see Fitzel hasn't had ANY insulin in 36 hours! Need opinions and thoughts.

Shai
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115!!!! NEED EYES HERE

Shai

I can't open your SS...don't know why. I'm going to go out on a limb here because I can't see it.

Can you stall any at all to see if she comes up? If you can't, then I'd have to suggest you skip because I can't see her SS and I want to keep her safe.

Is she eating? While you respond, I'll look for yesterday's condo.
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115!!!! NEED EYES HERE

Are you going to be there to monitor? Do you have supplies?

Since I can't see her SS, I don't remember the dose you are on. You could shoot a BCS dose to get some insulin in her. I think, based on yesterday's numbers from her condo, that she needs it.
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115!!!! NEED EYES HERE

Marje.
I have the SS open...
8/9
PMPS
256 .1u

8/10
AMBG 133 NS
+3 220
+6 146
+9 110
PMBG
137 NS

Fitzel has had .1u 6 days running until yesterday when no insulin was given.

Carl
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115!!!! NEED EYES HERE

That's weird. I can open it. Could you try again? In case that doesn't work here are her numbers from yesterday.
AMBG - 113
+3 - 220
+6 - 146
+9 - 110
PMBG - 115

I didn't shoot at all yesterday. She IS eating. Still a bit quiet.
Shai
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115!!!! NEED EYES HERE

Marjorie I'm here for the next 5 hours. Longer if I need to. I will most definitely test again. How long should I wait? She just had breakfast so I'd expect a food spike.
Shai
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115!!!! NEED EYES HERE

Got it this time...and thanks, Carl. Maybe it was my iPad and my PC is not up yet.

Sorry...foggy brain but I do remember you are shooting .01... A drop. You have enough daytime data. I'd like to see you shoot this because she needs just a little insulin. It could bring her numbers down into the lower mid greens.

The big question is...where do you stand on this? Can you be there...is she eating (BIG factor), how are things overall..can you test all day..do you have supplies and food she will eat? The CG issues come into play here as well as Fitzels.
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115!!!! NEED EYES HERE

Sorry, I typed ".1" instead of '.01" on the dose. I figured "a drop" as well, but I can't see .1 on a syringe, so I took that as "a drop" :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115!!!! NEED EYES HERE

What are CG issues?
I'll be here to test until 3:30. Have a series of scheduled lab tests and need Judith to drive me. I have a hypo kit but should I shoot if I won't be here in the later afternoon ?
Shai
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115!!!! NEED EYES HERE

Can Judith drive you to the tests and then come back to monitor Fitzel? That's a lousy choice to have to make.
Liz
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115!!!! NEED EYES HERE

Sorry...caregiver. Can Judith test once you go?

I would hope she would have hit her nadir and start up but I can't guarantee that. I'm not trying to put any pressure here but we don't know if she is dropping, surfing, or coming up. If I did, I'd have a possible clue to what she might do. She was lower yesterday at +9.

Your call shai.
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115!!!! NEED EYES HERE

Can you dose any less? Is that feasible? Mind you, I think her current dose is what she needs until she earns a reduction. And I can't tell you that on less of that dose that she won't come down. I'm just thinking of getting some insulin into her.
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115!!!! NEED EYES HERE

My tests are too far away and she's my liaison with the doctors. I want to be on the safe side. I don't think I'll shoot this number. Too much chance for a hypo incident. But I can monitor her and see what she does. Not the best scenario but the best of what's available to me today. Considering we'll be dealing with a food spike when should my next test be?
Shai
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115!!!! NEED EYES HERE

I should add that you've already stalled so that also serves as a dose reduction. And you can control her numbers to bring her up if she goes low. You can give her HC if she's still low an hour or so before you leave.
I'm sorry....I meant to ask before if your spouse could test. Or is that Judith :-D
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115/+2-166 Comments Wanted On +2

I think you can take a testing break. I'd just get a test before you leave and then get a +11 tonight.

Be safe...hope everything goes well.
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115/+2-166 Comments Wanted On +2

If you want to reset your shot time, you can shoot at any time you want tonight.
Liz
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115/+2-166/+3.5-140/PMPS-189 NEED EYES

I gave her the regular dose tonight of 0.01. For the time I've been home, she's had a pretty quiet day.

Still sulking because of Amma - especially when I'm back letting the baby get some run-around time.

What are the thoughts on her day and what it might or might not mean.

Until tonight Fitzel had no insulin from the morning of the 10th until the night of the 11th. Do her numbers over that course mean anything other than she might have been using her shed? Could any of this have been because her pancreas is trying?

Shai
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115/+2-166/+3.5-140/PMPS-189 NEED EYES

Shai,
I don't really know how long the shed takes to empty, but I think it had to be a pretty tiny shed since you've only been shooting two drops a day for the past week. I think a lot of it comes from her pancreas trying to regulate on its own. It just looks like you need a very tiny bit of help from the lantus. Overall, in your shoes, I'd be thrilled!

Carl
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115/+2-166/+3.5-140/PMPS-189 NEED EYES

Thank you Carl!

I was hoping part of this might be her pancreas trying to make a come back. Considering her stress level the last couple of days with the baby, I am thrilled!

It's a double edge sword when they get to these lower numbers. The ones which don't automatically mandate a shot. That grey area is hard to define and I'm so grateful to you and Marjorie and Liz and Anne and Sherry and Rhiannon and Sienne and MelanieP and Jane and Julia and Squeem3 and everyone!!!! (oh gosh, I know I left someone's name off - :? )

Shai and Fitz and Amma (who is being fed wisely in the hopes of forever remaining a civvie!!)
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115/+2-166/+3.5-140/PMPS-189 NEED EYES

Shai

I agree with Carl but one thing I do want to stress is that when the pancreas starts to heal and make new beta cells, they tend to be fragile. That's why we like to continue to give insulin as long as safely possible.

When we reduce the dose, skip shots, etc, and we see numbers go up, sometimes it's because those fragile cells just couldn't take the stress put on them. Sometimes, it's just not enough insulin because it just isn't. So you want to be able to shoot insulin into her for as long as you can even though her numbers don't look too bad without it; they still aren't normal numbers. We want to try and give those new cells some extra support until Fitzel's pancreas can heal more and do the job itself. :-D :-D
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115/+2-166/+3.5-140/PMPS-189 NEED EYES

If Fitzel can stay in normal numbers (50-120) for a week, she can start an OTJ trial. :-D I think she has a good shot at going into remission. Marje or Sienne would have input about exactly what you need to do but you will need to be super diligent about not skipping shots, even with low PS values. It's pretty scary at first but there is a saying around here: "Shoot low to stay low."
Liz
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel AMBG-115/+2-166/+3.5-140/PMPS-189 NEED EYES

Hi Marjorie and Liz -

I hear you about those fragile little beta cells. I'm hopeful even with my limitations I'll be able to keep Fitzel as close to the ideal protocol as possible.

Thank you for hand holding today. :YMHUG:

I really needed it.

Shai
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53! HYPO?!

She's on her way down, but I don't know how far. I've given her a couple teaspoons of HC.

This is off of her regular dose of 0.01. She's so sensitive to the insulin.

I'll be staying up. Could use some hand holding if anyone is up.

Shai
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53! HYPO?!

Wow! Don't worry i'm here going thru the exact same thing as you. Looks like you might be able to start that OTJ trial :mrgreen:

Test in 30 minutes after you gave that HC ok?
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53! HYPO?!

Hi Tracy - you having that kind of a night too?

I'll be retesting Fitzel in about 15 minutes.

Fingers crossed. Mine are crossed for a successful outcome tonight for your baby too.

shai
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53! HYPO?!

Thanks Shai, Leo has come up with the help of some HC and karo syrup.

I'll be waiting for your +3.
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53!/+3-63 HYPO?!

Oh good she's come up a wee bit.

I looked at Fitz's SS, looks pretty good for a cat that hasn't had insulin for a few days, its just too bad her pre-shots are staying high.
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53!/+3-63 HYPO?!

Shai, I'm sorry I'm late to this! Laptop crashed so posting from iphone this morning.
You ok? Any BG update? Got enough test strips? (Can't see SS right now, iphone is cranky, bad day for electronics, eh...)
Jane
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53!/+3-63 HYPO?!

Its up to you if you want to test in 30 minutes or an hour. I'd think with just a drop of insulin Fitz probably won't be going hypo on you.
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53!/+3-63 HYPO?!

Retest no later than 30 minutes after last test, please! We have to stay with this a bit longer, ok? Tracy is right that hypo is unlikely. Let's be sure though. Cats can surprise us, after all. Funny, I was JUST saying that in Tracy's condo!
Jane
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53!/+3-63 HYPO?!

@Tracy - I was surprised how long she stayed in the 100's this afternoon. I had a 'can't cancel out doctor's lab appointment' today so I chose not to shoot off her AM number. Fitz is a tough little girl.

@Jane - hey there. I had the same issue this am. Judith was on the computer constructing dysfunctional families with SIMS. :lol: I had to input everything with my iphone and the darn thing won't let me get on google+ so I can't update Fitzel's SS from it. It also makes my eyes cross trying to type out repeated posts.

Do either of you have a thought on when I should do my next BG test on Fitz?

Sure glad for such wonderful company.

Shai
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53!/+3-63 HYPO?!

Well ladies, Leo and i are heading to bed. You are in excellent hands with Jane Shai. I hope you and Fitzel have a good evening and you get some zzzzzz's tonight :-D
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53!/+3-63 HYPO?!

Great. I'll be here :mrgreen: You're doing great!
Jane

Edited to add: Shai, is that 71 your (+3.5)? If so, I would get a (+4). It looks like Fitzel is surfing but we want to keep an eye on her anyway.
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53!/+3-63/+3.5-71

LOL, we cross-posted, Shai! :-D Next test in 30 minutes, please. We want to make sure we see a couple of rising numbers, and get a few more tests to make sure Fitzel won't slide back down. When did you last feed?

Jane
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53!/+3-63/+3.5-71

Beans crossing posts in the waters of the cyber sea. :razz:

When Fitz had her PM shot she ate 1 and a half ounces of FF. (non-HC)

After she threw the 53 I gave her 2 teaspoons of HC food. She ate it with gusto.

She hasn't eaten since then.

So we'll test again in about 17 minutes give or take.

Thanks for the coffee!

Shai
 
Re: 8/11 Fitzel PMPS-189/+2.5-53!/+3-63/+3.5-71/+4-80

I think I remember from Fitzel's SS (can't see it right now because my iphone refuses to work properly, grrr) that she has wobbled back down even after (+6)? I want to be really sure Fitzel isn't plotting a surprise - so yes, I would get another test in 30 minutes. The rise from 71 to 80 is slight, so I do think we should stay vigilant just a bit longer.

If she's still rising in 30 minutes, I think she'll be ok. You could then feed some LC and test after a ciuple if hours to make sure she's not wobbling back down - you could set an alarm for that one since I'm sure you're tired!

So, re-test in 30 minutes. Then we'll see. Sound good?
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top