8/11 Callie AMPS 327 - question re Walmart ReliOn BG monitor

Hi Jessica, I'm wondering if you want to talk to your vet about a possible increase in dose for Callie? Maybe 2.25U?
 
Hi Jessica, I'm wondering if you want to talk to your vet about a possible increase in dose for Callie? Maybe 2.25U?
Hi Bhooma, we were thinking the same but then didn't want to jump the gun if we are in a bounce now from the lower numbers a few cycles ago. Do you think we should wait a bit for it to shake out or go ahead and contact her about it tomorrow? (Thanks for keeping an eye on us! :bighug: )
 
BG testing question: Wondering from those using the ReliOn Monitor, which one do you have/ recommend? We have had a freestyle libre monitor on Callie and when she was first diagnosed we ran out and bought a One Touch at Walgreens for manual testing but I have since realized that the One Touch test strips are so much more expensive than the ReliOn test strips (we paid approx $140 for 100.) Since I want to make sure we have loads on hand at all times, I would prefer to switch to the less expensive ReliOn if it is a good monitor. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks!
 
BG testing question: Wondering from those using the ReliOn Monitor, which one do you have/ recommend? We have had a freestyle libre monitor on Callie and when she was first diagnosed we ran out and bought a One Touch at Walgreens for manual testing but I have since realized that the One Touch test strips are so much more expensive than the ReliOn test strips (we paid approx $140 for 100.) Since I want to make sure we have loads on hand at all times, I would prefer to switch to the less expensive ReliOn if it is a good monitor. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks!

Wow $140, that's more expensive than AlphaTrak. Didn't think that was possible!

Switch for sure. Everyone here appears to love theirs.
https://www.walmart.com/grocery/ip/ReliOn-PRIME-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System-Red/20752267
100 strips for $18.
https://www.walmart.com/grocery/ip/ReliOn-Prime-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/38423728
 
@Jessica A The Contour NEXT One meter is the most accurate meter for humans available, I switched to that. It's super cheap tbh.

I wouldn't take my experience as 100% truth though as I'm new to this too.

Strips are ~$15 for 35.

I didn't know that, cool.
There was a website someone posted with a comparison of all the meters. I meant to click on it to read later and forgot. Did you happen to come across it?
 
Hi Bhooma, we were thinking the same but then didn't want to jump the gun if we are in a bounce now from the lower numbers a few cycles ago. Do you think we should wait a bit for it to shake out or go ahead and contact her about it tomorrow? (Thanks for keeping an eye on us! :bighug: )
Hi Jessica, she is bouncy, but I am going by her nadirs. I am assuming that most, if not all the green nadirs she has seen in the last few days are inaccurate seeing as they are sandwiched by higher blues - as also the comparison with the human meter. I think there is scope for an increase.
 
Wow $140, that's more expensive than AlphaTrak. Didn't think that was possible!

Switch for sure. Everyone here appears to love theirs.
https://www.walmart.com/grocery/ip/ReliOn-PRIME-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System-Red/20752267
100 strips for $18.
https://www.walmart.com/grocery/ip/ReliOn-Prime-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/38423728
I know -- we were so overwhelmed that we just bought what was recommended at the pharmacy - but the cost was a bit outrageous! Thanks so much for the rec and links!
 
I use the Relion Premier but from what I see it seems like more people here use the Relion Prime. Either way you really can’t beat price of the Relion test strips!
Good to know - will take a look at both. And you aren't kidding about the price! Thanks so much!
 
I know -- we were so overwhelmed that we just bought what was recommended at the pharmacy - but the cost was a bit outrageous! Thanks so much for the rec and links!
Dude, the first time I went to the pharmacy to try and get a meter I spent near an hour trying to fit together which meter went with which strips. I ended up in tears and left empty handed. :D
 
I have the Relion Prime meter, and the price can't be beaten. I usually buy 2 boxes every two weeks or so - $38 for 200 strips. Works out to about 19 cents a test. I don't go through 200 strips in 2 weeks, but it has helped me slowly stockpile. It doesn't take a lot of blood (though more than the AlphaTrak), and it stays on long enough for me to poke and collect the sample 98% of the time. Only if I'm having a tough time does it time out.
 
I have the Relion Prime meter, and the price can't be beaten. I usually buy 2 boxes every two weeks or so - $38 for 200 strips. Works out to about 19 cents a test. I don't go through 200 strips in 2 weeks, but it has helped me slowly stockpile. It doesn't take a lot of blood (though more than the AlphaTrak), and it stays on long enough for me to poke and collect the sample 98% of the time. Only if I'm having a tough time does it time out.
Terrific, thanks so much.
 
I have used the Contour Next, also after reading reviews about its accuracy. However I got tired of paying $35 for 100 strips and tried the Relion Prime. Not only is the cost about half of the strips for the Contour, I found it also showed lower numbers overall. This made me feel better knowing that I would be better able to catch Ruby at lower numbers. I also find the Relion MUCH easier to use—the sample size is small, didn’t time out as quickly, and the area of the strip that siphons the blood is wider, making it easier to test.
 
Dude, the first time I went to the pharmacy to try and get a meter I spent near an hour trying to fit together which meter went with which strips. I ended up in tears and left empty handed. :D
:D Yup, sounds about right. Thank goodness for this board - I was sure that I was the only one feeling this way!
 
I have the Relion Prime meter, and the price can't be beaten. I usually buy 2 boxes every two weeks or so - $38 for 200 strips. Works out to about 19 cents a test. I don't go through 200 strips in 2 weeks, but it has helped me slowly stockpile. It doesn't take a lot of blood (though more than the AlphaTrak), and it stays on long enough for me to poke and collect the sample 98% of the time. Only if I'm having a tough time does it time out.
This is great info, thank you!
 
I have used the Contour Next, also after reading reviews about its accuracy. However I got tired of paying $35 for 100 strips and tried the Relion Prime. Not only is the cost about half of the strips for the Contour, I found it also showed lower numbers overall. This made me feel better knowing that I would be better able to catch Ruby at lower numbers. I also find the Relion MUCH easier to use—the sample size is small, didn’t time out as quickly, and the area of the strip that siphons the blood is wider, making it easier to test.
This is great - thanks for your thoughts. Just ordered the ReliOn :)
 
BG testing question: Wondering from those using the ReliOn Monitor, which one do you have/ recommend? We have had a freestyle libre monitor on Callie and when she was first diagnosed we ran out and bought a One Touch at Walgreens for manual testing but I have since realized that the One Touch test strips are so much more expensive than the ReliOn test strips (we paid approx $140 for 100.) Since I want to make sure we have loads on hand at all times, I would prefer to switch to the less expensive ReliOn if it is a good monitor. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks!
I use the Relion Premier. It works great. Another huge advantage is that Walmart delivers. I also use Walmart.com and have them ship to me usually in 1 or 2 days.

I had used my Relion meter for almost 2 years until it frequently stopped storing the previous readings. I think the battery was just getting low. I called the customer service and asked what the problem could be. They immediately told me they would send me a replacement. He told me he would send me the whole kit free of charge. I received a new meter, test strips, ear pricker and a carrying case within a few days. You can't beat that for great customer service.
 
I have used the Contour Next, also after reading reviews about its accuracy. However I got tired of paying $35 for 100 strips and tried the Relion Prime. Not only is the cost about half of the strips for the Contour, I found it also showed lower numbers overall. This made me feel better knowing that I would be better able to catch Ruby at lower numbers. I also find the Relion MUCH easier to use—the sample size is small, didn’t time out as quickly, and the area of the strip that siphons the blood is wider, making it easier to test.

I really dislike the sample size needed for the meter, that's my only complaint. It takes about double what the PetTest meter did, supposedly 0.5ml but feels worse than that. I have to get a pretty big drop of blood to not error the first time, however, you get a second chance for 60 seconds if you don't get enough blood the first time. The PetTest meter & most newer good meters use 0.3ml, however I feel the accuracy was off.
 
I use the Relion Premier. It works great. Another huge advantage is that Walmart delivers. I also use Walmart.com and have them ship to me usually in 1 or 2 days.

I had used my Relion meter for almost 2 years until it frequently stopped storing the previous readings. I think the battery was just getting low. I called the customer service and asked what the problem could be. They immediately told me they would send me a replacement. He told me he would send me the whole kit free of charge. I received a new meter, test strips, ear pricker and a carrying case within a few days. You can't beat that for great customer service.
No, you certainly can't! Good to hear.
 
I really dislike the sample size needed for the meter, that's my only complaint. It takes about double what the PetTest meter did, supposedly 0.5ml but feels worse than that. I have to get a pretty big drop of blood to not error the first time, however, you get a second chance for 60 seconds if you don't get enough blood the first time. The PetTest meter & most newer good meters use 0.3ml, however I feel the accuracy was off.
Guessing all have some problem or another - just important to know what that problem is so you can account for it... we have been having a bit of a problem getting blood from Callie's ears today (getting larger gauge lancets in a bit to see if that helps) so I think larger sample size would be tough for us.
 
Guessing all have some problem or another - just important to know what that problem is so you can account for it... we have been having a bit of a problem getting blood from Callie's ears today (getting larger gauge lancets in a bit to see if that helps) so I think larger sample size would be tough for us.
Getting a larger lancet will most likely solve your problem. I tried the Relion mico thin lancets and couldn't get blood without numerous attempts. The Relion ultra thin works great. I get a good sample the first time every time.
 
We use the CareTouch Lancet at level 4 with 0.30 gauge lancets. Pushing firmly against the ear while holding the other side as long as the ear is warm works every time for us now. :)
 
Getting a larger lancet will most likely solve your problem. I tried the Relion mico thin lancets and couldn't get blood without numerous attempts. The Relion ultra thin works great. I get a good sample the first time every time.
Thanks! You're definitely right about that. We got larger lancets (28) and we are now using Vaseline and those things made a world of difference. Callie still isn't a huge fan of the whole thing -- despite the treats :) -- but we are able to get the amount of blood we need on the first try so less stress for everyone.
 
We use the CareTouch Lancet at level 4 with 0.30 gauge lancets. Pushing firmly against the ear while holding the other side as long as the ear is warm works every time for us now. :)
Thanks for that info. We changed lancets and added Vaseline and we are back in business too....
 
My cat abhors having his ears touched, I feel super bad about it. He lets my fiancé do paws easily, but not me.

Paws I feel like would be more painful, but ECID. Lol.
Yeah, we didn't even try with her paws for that reason, but who knows... Just glad that something is working for us now! Btw - Dexter is absolutely adorable! I love your profile pic.
 
Yeah, we didn't even try with her paws for that reason, but who knows... Just glad that something is working for us now! Btw - Dexter is absolutely adorable! I love your profile pic.

I'd say the same to you. I've always loved Calicos. Dexter is only cute when he wants to be, Mr. Sofi is always cute. He's still got a kitten meow & LOVES attention. He can never have enough :)
 
Back
Top