8/11/18 Olive AMPS 200; +4.25=51; +4.75=51; +5.25=66; +9=303; PMPS 392; +5.5=153

Status
Not open for further replies.

Olive & Paula

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Went with the dosecrease this morning. Thought it would better to give while not in higher numbers.

Rainy, muggy day. I guess it's a good day to visit my dad and do his laundry except it will mighty stuffy there. Most residents do not put their AC on.

Stay dry everyone. And have a good day.
 
Maybe the dosecrease wasn't a good idea. Maybe a fat 8.5 would have been better. At least we know this time 8.75 might be a tad to much. Will see if she stalls on this dose.
 
Good Daughter Award to you, Paula :bighug: Wish I lived closer to my 95 yr old momma :(.

He use to be 3 hrs away. When he fell I enforced my POA and moved him closer to me. He was so pissed. I'm still paying for it after a year and a half, 2 more falls and 3 blood transfusions later. He still thinks he can live alone in his house with stairs that he can't take care of. And it's all I hear about.
 
Heading into shore. She just had 1/2 her regular meal so she will be fine. I can now go to dads, late but laundry doesn't care what time it gets washed.
 
Paula, I totally identify :bighug: My Mom refuses to leave her house of 60 years and i pray she can stay there but , like you, I have POA and may have to usevit in near future :banghead: Hate to see them lose their independence but when it’s about safety and I’m 3 hours away :woot: I know I’ll never hear the end of it too ... :eek:
 
Paula, I totally identify :bighug: My Mom refuses to leave her house of 60 years and i pray she can stay there but , like you, I have POA and may have to usevit in near future :banghead: Hate to see them lose their independence but when it’s about safety and I’m 3 hours away :woot: I know I’ll never hear the end of it too ... :eek:

It's not just safety. It's also lack of personal care. The house and property in such disrepair and unhealthy. His driving, I was afraid he would hurt some innocent person. Prime target for getting mugged in a parking lot, opening door to some invader. The dryer vent was solidly clogged, fire not far from happening. The furnace had 3 gas leaks and it's next to the dryer. He never would have made it out of house.
 
You do indeed get the good daughter award. I know exactly how it is. I was fortunate that my brother lived fairly close to my Dad and could handle it.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

2005 - Dad's start of Parkinsons
- he lived in a small but very nice home in rural Washington, I loved it
2007 - pretty bad, part time housekeeper
2007-2009
- car dented significantly on all 4 sides, and all 4 corners
- in total denial about health, capabilities, and finance
2009 - forced move out to a care facility
- we excluded him from the physical moveout so we could move his 2 x 18' truckloads of accumulations to storage
- took his car keys, he could barely steer the powered wheelchair
- he HATED us for about 6 months
- he fought the caretakers (mostly verbally)
- most of his home profits paid for his care after
2010 - settled down, turned gentler, pretty sick, most of his mind was gone
- he only visited his storage area twice
2011 - goodbye Dad, you were the best

You don't get any rewards for the care you provide. You get the memories of when the times were good. And an occasional hug and thanks.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@JeffJ , thank you for that ...touched my heart and made me choke up :bighug: And Paula , you AND Jeff win the Best Adult Kid Award . :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:Blessings on both of you ❤️
 
Oh Paula, I can so relate! Hugs to you with all you do for your Dad. With my mom, when she doesn't cooperate I tell he she might find a nursing home a better fit. That usually shapes her up.

Olive, that was quite a drop at 4.5!!!! Seriously?
 
Oh Paula, I can so relate! Hugs to you with all you do for your Dad. With my mom, when she doesn't cooperate I tell he she might find a nursing home a better fit. That usually shapes her up.

Olive, that was quite a drop at 4.5!!!! Seriously?

I can't use that threat. He's already in a facility.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top