8/11/17-Jones AMPS 223, +1 292, +6 83 PMPS 122

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Member Since 2016
Yesterday

DS tried to get a test and 3 times he got an error. Seems to be a bad set of strips. So he didn't test at +8, which would of been a nice comparison to the previous day. I was home early enough though to grab a +11. He was higher than the day before but I also put some 9% into the mix of food. Which is all gone when I came home. So I think he went low yesterday and now he is on the trampoline again and doesn't want to come down.

This is day three of giving full pred dose at night vs. BID and trying to carb him up during the day to keep from cliff diving. I need data! Saturday is going to be curve day.

There is a huge amount of urine in the LB this morning. Sigh...seriously wish we could go back to the 2.5mg dose vs 5.0 mg. His BG's was so much easier to handle. Sending IM update and see what he says.
 
I don't think this is a bounce. If you consider meter variance of 20%, the AM and PM cycles aren't all that different and it looks like the numbers are trending down by AMPS today. I would, however, keep an eye on Jones' numbers. After a "yellow" cycle, some cats will follow-up by having a very active cycle.
 
Well +1 was 292...so the higher carb has definitely gone in. I can't be home today have to leave soon for work, so maybe a higher cycle is not a bad thing. DS is hopefully going to get me a mid cycle test today.

It was suggested it would be easier to control his bg's as they naturally do a uptake in the morning. It is on the ibdkitty.net site as well. I think I need to re-read that. Maybe I should of just did the higher carb mix first and see what that did. It just seems he is on a bouncy trail all the time lately.


I also have a email update to the vet to see what he thinks we can do with the pred dose.


I think I did it again...I changed dose time of pred, changed his food and changed his dose down 1 drop as he went below 70 that first day. Too many factors. I think I will let this ride out today and get my curve tomorrow and then access what changes I should make from there. Unless we think we should go back to pred dose twice a day.
 
Found it....

from the ibdkitty.net site
Since the cat’s adrenal glands function primarily in the morning hours, it’s best to give steroid medications in the evening, as the dose will begin to wear off as the adrenal glands are ready to kick in. The preferred way to give steroids on a long-term basis is to administer them every other evening. It’s important not to abruptly discontinue steroid usage, as this can cause serious or life-threatening consequences. The dose must be tapered under the supervision of your veterinarian.

I did find when I was doing every other day before that it just caused havoc with his BG's. So we split the dose and did it every day in the evening. The new IM wanted it BID and increased dosage twice now. So, it was suggested to maybe try just at night.

I really would like to see what his IM says. The increased dose isn't really helping if it raises his BG's and makes it so he feels like poo. I think we were making ground on the 2.5mg BID and should of waited until we sorted out the metronidazole dose changes before upping this one. Again....doing too much at once to know what is working and what isn't. Now that the metronidazole dosage is working, we can drop back the prednisolone dose. Or maybe try budesonide again.
 
Tracey I totally understand your frustration and trying to balance the pred and the insulin. My Fritz has asthma and I have been told that he has beginning stages of IBD. I have not had further testing done as we are doing the wait and see.
As far as dosing pred. I have done years of testing and experimenting. I finally came to the conclusion that it is better to treat with oral pred and try and get down to the lowest amount and be consistent with the doses. So Fritz gets same amount twice a day. It means higher doses of insulin but manages the asthma.
I found it better to be consistent with dosing pred than to give higher then lower one day on one day off. It's a catch 22 with pred cause it isn't good for them but it's horrible if they aren't on it.
When I gave Fritz only at night it played havoc on his numbers like you mentioned low numbers that high numbers then cliff diving and so on..... and his asthma flared up:arghh:
It is a constant juggling act trying to find what balances everything out.:bighug:
ECID I know eventually you will find that balance:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
be consistent with the doses


I think he did do better on the BID approach - twice a day same amount going in. And I think he did better overall all wise on 2.5mg vs the 5.0 mg. His BG's was definitely doing better which helped with the drinking and urination and the eating!. I need to sit down with the numbers again.
See what today brings and see if IM responds.

oral pred
Is that a liquid?
 
Ok, sticking with the plan, 5mg pred given tonight and just fattened the dose a bit. He ate well before his shot but didn't eat much today. Lots of water was drank though and there are some large pee pucks in the LB. See what tonight brings. Will see what tonight and tomorrow brings. I went and pick up more of his current favourite and hopefully he will eat a bit more of the next couple of days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top