8/10 Tyler AMPS 106 +5 60 PMBG! 113 OTJ TRIAL STARTS NOW!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian & Tyler

Member Since 2014
8/8'S Condo

OK FOLKS HERE WE GO!!!!!! THE MOMENT I'VE BEEN WAITING AND HOPING FOR HAS ARRIVED!!!! WE HAVE STARTED OTJ TRIAL AS OF THIS EVENING! YEEEEE-HAAAWWWWWWW

If someone can please direct some info about OTJ trial, that would be much appreciated!
 
Re: 8/10 Tyler AMPS 106 +5 60 PMBG! 113 OTJ TRIAL STARTS NO

graphics-garfield-736914.gif


You meanz I gets to go to like 3 more parties in the next two weeks?!??!?! This place is great! ~ Skooter

So excited for you!!!! Looking forward to your countdown!
 
Re: 8/10 Tyler AMPS 106 +5 60 PMBG! 113 OTJ TRIAL STARTS NO

kliban_lopez.gif


Let the Dancing Begin!

Test at your normal preshot times, if the BG is on the high end of normal test again 3 hours after food. His pancreas should kick in and lower the BG. If the BG stays up. post for advice before resuming insulin.

ALWAYS feed LC fuds for the rest of his life, Tyler is still a diabetic, just diet controlled.
 
Re: 8/10 Tyler AMPS 106 +5 60 PMBG! 113 OTJ TRIAL STARTS NO

Yay Brian and Tyler!!!! Congratulations on the trial! Brian, you should be so proud to have gotten Tyler to this point in spite of how busy your life is!
 
Re: 8/10 Tyler AMPS 106 +5 60 PMBG! 113 OTJ TRIAL STARTS NO

Brian:

Tyler is looking very good. We typically suggest that you start a trial on your next green pre-shot.
 
Re: 8/10 Tyler AMPS 106 +5 60 PMBG! 113 OTJ TRIAL STARTS NO

Congratulations and best of luck on the trial!!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 8/10 Tyler AMPS 106 +5 60 PMBG! 113 OTJ TRIAL STARTS NO

hi brian! Sienne is right - i should've added that the other day when i was saying you needed to hold out for 3 more cycles. He was having green preshots at that time, but now he's back up in blue.

Since you skipped the shot tonight, let's see how he is in the morning. If he's still in blue numbers, you might want to consider continuing the 0.1u for a little longer until you get a green preshot.

Sometimes going a little bit longer on insulin makes for a stronger chance at remission.
 
Re: 8/10 Tyler AMPS 106 +5 60 PMBG! 113 OTJ TRIAL STARTS NO

Congratulations Brian! Tyler has come a long way and is doing so well!
 
Re: 8/10 Tyler AMPS 106 +5 60 PMBG! 113 OTJ TRIAL STARTS NO

Brian, I want to go ahead and give you the directions now, so you know what to look for:

Start the trial on his next green preshot.

If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of blue during their trial, especially at first. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck!

If he gets through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic, but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low-carb food and small meals for the rest of his life. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood sugar weekly for the next few months and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him monthly. His weight should remain stable. If he seems "off" or sick, or is showing symptoms of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss) test his blood sugar right away. Keep the teeth clean; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission.

If you see rising blood sugar numbers, post here before you restart insulin and ask for advice on how to proceed.
© 2014 Microsoft Terms Privacy & cookies Developers English (United States)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top