8/10 - Tip - AMPS(421), +7(409), PMPS(493), +3(351);

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
7/9 condo

AMPS - 421
+7 - 409
PMPS - 493
+3 - 351

I know those aren't so great numbers, but it's kind of nice to no longer see many Hi's in there!

Not much to report right now really, besides I accidentally bought too much food for Bruce the tortoise and I'm having to help him eat it all. Any recipes to share besides salads?
 
Re: 8/10 - Tip - AMPS(421), +7(409);

Hi Cindy,
I am no expert, I think Tips numbers look more steady than when she was on Humulin, and also looks like they are gradually easing down which is good.
BTW, Tip looks a lot like Pixie our tuxedo cat!
Leslie
 
Re: 8/10 - Tip - AMPS(421), +7(409);

Cindy

It does seem Tip is flattening out but she needs more insulin. If you can continue to test as you have been, I'd raise her dose tomorrow morning to 4u. We need to try and get her dose up safely before she becomes insulin resistant.

Sound like a plan?
 
Re: 8/10 - Tip - AMPS(421), +7(409);

Alright. I can increase her dose to 4U tomorrow morning. I just updated her SS, figured I should do that now in case the internet goes out later.

At what point should I be concerned that it's too high of a dose?
 
Let's just take it a step at a time and see what she does, ok? She's not considered on a high dose at this point and she could possibly hit her fitting dose at any time.
 
If you keep increasing per the protocol, then you will not go over her ideal dose.

Just to be clear, there becomes a point where we do wonder if a cat has antibodies that keep the insulin from working or the cat has acromegaly. But you and Tip are not there yet. So I don't want you to worry now.
If at any time, we feel you are there, we will be sure to let you know.
 
Oh good.

Alright, and I'll worry about that if it gets to that point. I've read up about it some, but not much.
 
Here's a couple SSs to look at:

Lucy's SS Notice how Lucy had to go up to 4.25u and then came down but then had to go all the way back up to it again before she came down and went OTJ.

Max's SS Max went up to 6u, came down to 5.5u and then flew down the dosing scale.

Of course, Cindy, if at any time YOU are worried, you can have Tip tested. If it's worth your peace of mind, you can do that any time you want.
 
I think at the moment, I'm not too concerned about getting her tested for it.

The food list for Bruce is:
Romaine lettuce
Red and green leaf lettuce
Endive
Escarole
Radicchio
Chicory
Turnip greens
Mustard greens
Kale
Collards
Spring Mix (mixed salad greens)

Though currently I have spring mix, as it has everything and then some on the list I use. And a whole lot cheaper! When I was buying the ingredients separately, it was $25 every couple of weeks, but the spring mix was only ~$8.
 
Have you ever made roasted kale? Probably a better winter recipe though since you roast it in the oven. Steamed greens are good too. I like pepperocini juice on the cooked greens.
Liz
 
Hmm....I do have a vegetable steamer. I wonder how good it'd taste in a stir-fry? Never heard of pepperocini juice....will have to look in to if any stores near here have it.
 
Yeah, got that from a google search. :) Will have to look for it. Haha, even my grandpa doesn't know what came over me to get so much for Bruce. :lol:

I should get some sleep though, night all, I'll be starting Tip on 4U tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top