8/10 Rhinog amps 461 +3 306 pmps 312 +3 203

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruth and Rhinog

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21981

What have you been up to Rhinog?

DH saw him eating something on the lawn this morning an hour before amps. We thought it must be a bird or a mouse but then at amps he was red again! :sad:

Does anyone think I should go back up to 1.25 units or give more time for these food spikes to clear?
 
Re: 8/10 Rhinog amps 461 +3 306 pmps 312 dose advice please

I want to know what you put into your meatloaf to make it HC? And were the critters that your kitty have been munching on been eating pasta for dinner?

It would be easier to to know what was going on if Rhinog would restrict himself to eating what was in his bowl. I suspect the numbers in the evening of 8/8 are a bounce. It can take up to 72 hours for that to clear.

Are you able to get any spot checks in during the AM cycle or are you not at home? I'm thinking that getting a few more tests or even a curve would be helpful. I'm inclined to suggest that you wait another day to see if Rhinog's numbers level out and then if not, increase the dose. Let's see what some of the others have to say, as well.
 
Re: 8/10 Rhinog amps 461 +3 306 pmps 312 dose advice please

Hi Ruth,

To me there could be several possibilities for the gradual increase in numbers (because he looks like he was increasing before the meatloaf incident).

The Pred having an impact.

Lantus is 43 days old (looking at ss and date last change noted)-is it still good? (I changed Lev around 42 days, but I know some people have used Lan for up to 9 weeks, just that Jojo the vet tech who used to be on here everyday swore by changing around much earlier)

You queried a furshot (shed refilling along with The lovely meatloaf-assume it was full of sugar?!) -plius if it was, to me that shows some possible own pancreatic action with the blues!

If the lawn meal was HC then as Sienne has said it may take the 72 hours to clear and thus your clearing out 2 lots of 'HC' influenced numbers.

So, after all that, I'd agree with Sienne. Give it another day before considering an increase. Also consider if you'll be able to monitor between +3-6 when you do (if you do).

Thanks for the explanation about the cascade-now I understand it. If I can at least get Peeps onto Prozinc I think it would be a step forward!

As for Rhinog-well, Naughty kitty :roll: It's not the 1st April you know!!!

Hope you see an improvement tomorrow.
 
Re: 8/10 Rhinog amps 461 +3 306 pmps 312 dose advice please

Your Rhinog is certainly a little bugger, isn't he!!! Although it really isn't funny, I did laugh at his eating of the cake and purhaps a carb loaded mouse! My Spot is a munch hound. When we are having dinner, I either have to put Spot outside on his leash or put all food in the microwave so he doesn't eat any of it. The other day, he was caught steeling chicken out of a baggie...and boy oh boy, was he pi*#ed off when I took it off of him.

I hope all the nasties clear Rhinog's system soon!
 
Re: 8/10 Rhinog amps 461 +3 306 pmps 312 dose advice please

Hi Sienne,

It's not meatloaf it's maltloaf. Maybe it's a uk thing but basically it a bran and sultana loaf cake.
See viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21906
Totally full of carbs!

I wish he would stop eating outside of the rules. I've thought about keeping him in but I can bring myself to do it. He loves being outside. With the lymphoma we just don't know how long he has with us so I just want him to make the most of every day.

It's the same with the spot checks. I am home some days but Rhinog doesn't alway oblige. Sometimes he only returns at +11. I'll do my best to get some more in. :smile:
 
Re: 8/10 Rhinog amps 461 +3 306 pmps 312 dose advice please

Deb
Glad to hear it is not just us that has to hide every scrap of food. We too have to put Rhinog outside when we eat.
Recently he has taken to licking the spotless kitchen worktop in the hope of a crumb.
At least we know that if our kitties ever get low numbers we will never have a problem getting food into them! :lol:

Kate
I picked up a new vial yesterday and will start it tomorrow.

The pred is definately his biggest problem. It makes him bounce but also it's the reason he will eat anythng and everything!

It looks like he is starting to come down. Just got +3 203. Nearly blue. Keep going Noggy!
 
Re: 8/10 Rhinog amps 461 +3 306 pmps 312 dose advice please

Hope he continues to come down....Sienne answered your dosing question, right? It's still in your header. At least the PMPS is sooooo much better than AMPS! Whew! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top