? 8/10 Post DKA Millie, AMPS 283. Back from vacay, increased dose by .25. OK?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sylvia & Millie

Member Since 2017
I recently went on vacation and Millie's dose was lowered while I was away. Before I left, her bgs were running in the low numbers (below 68) and her dose was 1.5. She was put on a caretaker dose of 1u. Her bgs ran high most of the time I was away. I got back on Tuesday & tested her a bit. I increased her dose by .25. Wednesday she was high and flat (bouncing?). I have lots of running around to do the next few days but I will be testing whenever I can. I guess it was OK to increase the dose by .25 due to the DKA and her running high with the lower dose? I was thinking to keep her here a bit and get her stable again. Don't know why but I'm feeling very anxious, guess the being out of touch it feels like starting all over again (and just when I was getting more comfortable).

Also, to be safe, the DH was giving her MC food. I went back to mixing MC with LC, half & half (she's on CORE Wellness chicken & beef). I'm giving her water in her food and trying to check for ketones as well.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-advice-for-resistant-post-dka-millie.181627/
 
You'll get back to business quickly, Sylvia. It was the safest thing to do while you were away. I hope that break gave you some much needed rest and revitalization. :)
 
Welcome home and glad she was nice and safe while you were away. An increase was in order for sure. Hopefully, you'll get right back into the saddle again and not feel anxious about it all. The break was nice, I'm sure.
 
Welcome home and glad she was nice and safe while you were away. An increase was in order for sure. Hopefully, you'll get right back into the saddle again and not feel anxious about it all. The break was nice, I'm sure.
Looking forward to her having those great numbers again!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top