8/10 PMPS 61 - what dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tooloo

Member Since 2013
Hi. I'm posting a new post because TooToo's PMPS is 61. Seems low to give a full dose, yet I think that is the protocol? I'll do a little quick research, but would like some input. Thanks!
 
Three options....

1 - stall without feeding to see if the number rises in 30 minutes or so on its own

2 - give what is called a "BCS" dose, which is a lower dose if you aren't comfortable giving the normal 1.0u dose. This doesn't not mean, however, that you would necessarily see "less" effect from the insulin. The effects of an increase or a decrease are not "immediate" in many cases due to the depot nature of Lantus.

3 - shoot the full dose. Provided you have plenty of test strips, food in LC, HC and MC varieties, and can get tests at +1 and +2 for starters. Tests after that would depend on what you see at those tests.

The other option is skipping the shot altogether, but I have the feeling that you'd prefer not to do that?
 
Thanks Carl. He's eating right now. So I'll probably give a partial dose. I'm afraid a full dose would definitely have me up all night. Partial might too, but I would feel better about it and might sleep some. :smile: Thanks for the quick reply!
 
Can you get a +1 or +2 tonight? Even with a reduced dose, that's good info to know.
 
In the future, if you have a low pre-shot, don't feed until you decide what you want to do. If you opt to stall, you definitely don't want to feed since your next test will be effected by the food. I don't think you have the data to shoot this low. You may want to take a look at this post on dealing with low pre-shot numbers.

Also, just a housekeeping note. We try to limit ourselves to one thread (aka "condo") per cat per day. Lantus Land is a big place and there are lots of posts. It also helps to keep track of information if the day's posts are all in one place. In a situation like tonight, you could post in your previous condo and simply change the subject line. To change the subject line so it's visible on the Board, you go to your initial post, click on the "edit" button, make the change to the subject line and then click on "submit."
 
Ok. Thanks for the info. I shot .5; +2=76. I'll test again tonight too, at least once, more if number is low.
 
The 76 at +2 is great. When you test next depends on you. You can get a +3 or +4 to see if the number has dropped down, and if so, feed accordingly. You can stay up if that's an option, or go with an alarm if that works better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top