8/10 Orange AMPS 91, +6 84

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Orange

Member Since 2012
Last Condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=76592

Hi everyone!

I've been trying to fill in Orange's spreadsheet with a few more tests this week. He's been mostly green EXCEPT on Wed. night I ran out of Charlie's food. She's been eating FF Chunky Chicken. I'm not sure of the carbs in that so I always feed her seperately. I had some FF Classics so I tried giving her that instead and I left it out in the open since I know that one is diabetic friendly. Well, she stuck her nose up at it. I left it out thinking she might get hungry enough and go back to it. Orange would never touch that stuff when Charlie used to eat it a few months ago. I stop paying attention for a while and next thing I know I look back over there and Orange is chowing down and had just finished off the entire can! Wow! He never eats that much in one sitting! I usually put out all his food at shot times and he picks on it all day and by +9/+10 I need to remind him to finish off the last pieces before I take it away. Anyway, that cycle we ended up with a 115 at +2 and an AMPS of 104 the next morning. Not sure if that's a good sign that he stayed in normal numbers after a low-carb binge or if its bad that we saw some blues.

So, we had talked about more testing before discussing another OTJ trial. I'll be home during the day tomorrow - is there any specific schedule of tests you want to see? Am I getting enough tests in general at this point over the week? (I'm not sure I'll be to get much more on weekdays).
 
Re: 8/10 Orange AMPS 91, +6 84 - Testing and Questions

I think you've got enough tests. IIRC, the issue was getting some PM tests and you've done that.

I suspect the blues were due to Orange eating more than usual vs. the number of carbs. The Classics chicken is around 5%. It's a bit curious that the AMPS was still blue but it's all been normal range.

I think you can start a trial at any time. I would pick a cycle that starts with a green pre-shot number. These are the instructions:
  • Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).
  • If your cat is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!
  • After 2 weeks, if everything is looking good, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

There isn't a specific "best" time to test. I would go by the info in the first bullet point. Good luck!
 
Whooooooo Hooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you Sienne!

Assuming he's in the green I'll start the trial tomorrow morning. He hasn't has his PM shot yet tonight, but something about starting the trial on a new fresh day just feels better to me :-D


I know he is more ready this time than he was last time (he's on a lower dose now that he couldn't hold after his last trial), so I am hoping for the best! Don't worry though, I won't be too disappointed if it doesn't work - he's come such a long way doing so much better since we started this journey I almost feel like I can't ask for more!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top