8/10 Mickey +4 344

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/10 Mickey

Do you think on one of your days off you could do a curve?

It's hard to comment on dosing since you're at work and not always getting preshots or spot checks.

What we're missing is information like is Mickey going too low, or is he not budging at all on these numbers.

Overall, how's Mickey feeling? Drinking or peeing less? Coat? Lethargy? Happy and content?
 
Re: 8/10 Mickey

He is feeling good/content. His coat is better. He is eating well, drinking a bit less. Peeing volume decreased. What I mean is they are not 8 inches around when he is done. They are like 3-5 inches around. He doesn't cover his stuff.
Chasing other cats around alot. Loves the baby kitten. Oh, and he wants more attention. Before dx again he lived in the kitchen and on the table. He is all over the house now. Thomas is having a run for his money now. :roll:
Getting a curve will be difficult. I am shooting at 10:30-11:00 am and pm now because my shift is changing. I would only be able to get a plus 2 before work at 2pm and a +2-4 after work. starting at 10:30-11:00 pm depending how late I could stay up.
 
Re: 8/10 Mickey

Given his distaste for the testing :lol: I think a curve would be really tough. I agree though it's pretty hard to evaluate the dose w/o more data. I would *guess* the dose is too low since the PSs aren't lower, but aren't high enough to make me think rebound. If it were me, I would probably aim for one more test around +6, and if that's not in blue or green #s, go up to 1.8u. But again that is just guessing.

There used to be an alternative testing methods forum for those who don't/can't home-test, but I think it's defunct. There are a few options, though I'm not sure how good they are. One is to use the peestix that tell how much glucose is in the urine - if you are just seeing a tiny bit vs. a lot that might give you some clues, but I don't know how much you can really judge from that. Another though is to get some tests from the vets - not ideal since of course it costs $$$ and the #s can be artifically elevated from stress. Before I home tested, I used to take Bix in every week or two for a spot test specifically at his nadir time. Although it was far from complete data, it was still really useful (we caught a 26 one day... TG I took him in so we knew to lower the darn dose!!!).

I don't recall if you did this already or not, but I would also try posting on Health being really specific about what the difficulties you are having with testing. If you can really pinpoint the problem for people, someone may just have the suggestion that leads to a breakthrough. I haven't heard of a cat yet that didn't come around sooner or later, so don't give up hope!!!
 
Re: 8/10 Mickey

I think that overall you are seeing a happier cat. When Tucker was getting big swings on PZI he often had headaches and was cranky. Cranky enough to pee outside the litterbox.

So, possibly, maybe, and I hate saying anything without more data, but maybe a slight increase in the dose would work.

I like Joanna's idea, if you can get a +6 occasionally, maybe on days off that would give more info.

Is the testing problem Mickey or is it another person who's giving shots?
 
My friend won't test his ear. I mean if you sit on him you can get it done 1/4 of the time but she is afraid of him. They have a love/hate relationship. :mrgreen:
Now I just did a +4 and it is the same as the AMPS will it move at +6 ?
It probably will because I am leaving for a concert at 3:30 AND wont be home till midnight. My friend is coming over about 10:30pm to give his shot. I will try to stay up for a bit and see what I can get.
 
Tucker did that yesterday with numbers not moving. His preshot, +6 and PS preshot were all in the 280s. He's getting his next B12 injection tonight. Of course he's also on steroids, so his numbers like to be wonky.

Mickey could have the close numbers for a few reasons, dose is not high enough, food spike or underlying illness. I mention the third simply because Tucker's pancreatitis and IBD sometimes makes his numbers stay high, one of the reasons for his getting B12 injections.

Did I mention I tend to ramble on, thankfully Lilly Grace likes to listen :lol:

Do you want to try a quarter unit increase? Have you tested for ketones? I know I was supposed to send you those strips, but I started using them for Tucker and forgot all about it. Very sorry about that. There I go with that ramble thing again :oops:
 
Sometimes Bix will be flat like that, and then drop late in the cycle. When you see something like that though, it is likely you would see a dramatically lower PS this evening, which would be pretty surprising with the data you have so far. Most likely I would guess it means the dose is too low. I wouldn't worry too much about getting a +6 off this (but if you can get one easily, go for it!) - it's likely to be a similar #. If you could get something like a +9 or +10 and it's still flat like this, then it would seem pretty clear the dose is too low. If a +9 is really high and then the next PS low, or if the +9 were surprisingly low, then the dose could be too high. I really wouldn't expect that, but still nice to have data points if you can get them, to be sure...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top