8/10 Max AMPS109+2.75=94+4.5=54+5=66PMPS 163+1.5=259+3.5=215

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123232

I'm quite surprised at the low AMPS after two low shots. He either hit green last night or stayed blue all night. He woke me meowing at 4:00 a.m. At 4:30 I couldn't take it any more and gave him some fd turkey. Now I'm wondering if perhaps I should have started him back on less insulin than 2.5+.

Funny, I'm starting to see more levemir ads on tv like right now while I am typing this.

The wedding was really nice. The weather was perfect for being at the beach on a boat. My mom did make it, Marje, but it was touch and go at first. I got a call from my sister that she wasn't getting ready and she had told her that she was going to leave without her if she wasn't ready on time. I said I'd leave immediately. Then my shoe that I had taken to the shoe repair fell apart. Fortunately I had a stand-by but was so rattled I left without my present, sunglasses, or sunscreen. We did manage to get my mom ready and were there well before they would even let us board. We were supposed to get on an hour early. We had to go down a long plank and some men saw us and helped as I was afraid the walker would get away from us like it once did and we were running. That time it was just the two of us and this time I had the caregiver. When we got to the boat and she let go of the walker she didn't grab the hand rail and started to lose her balance and fall. I caught her but landed with one foot in the water. A man saw it and jumped in from the other side. I think she would have fallen with me into the water otherwise!! Quite an entrance!!! The other guests told me it was even scarier than I describe it. My heart was racing for the next half hour. I don't thnk my mom had a clue how close it was. The water oly reached my calf but she could have broken bones!! The bride was gorgeous and my nephew so handsome. They were glowing. They leave for Hawaii today. I hope the rain is long gone.

Now let's see what Max has in store for me today.

Vines for Marje's mom, Amy's dad, and all beans and kitties in need.




Now let's see
 
Re: 8/10 Max AMPS 109

Wow Elise you had to put so much effort to get your mom there, but you did it.

You have thought quickly and had quick reflexes. She could have broken something

easily. Did things settle down a little from there?
 
Re: 8/10 Max AMPS 109

Hi Catherine. Yes, once we got on the boat it was somewhat easier until we realized the bathrooms were down a very narrow set of maybe a dozen stairs. There was no way she could make it down there. We were again being watched from above as she didn't need to go and made it home without any issues. My poor nephew was almost in tears when he heard us trying to figure out if we could get her down the stairs. The stairs up to the deck where the ceremony weren't so narrow and that wasn't too difficult plus there were lots of people to help. I should have taken pictures but didn't. I'm just a tad sore from the experience but nothing Aleve won't cure.
 
Re: 8/10 Max AMPS 109+2=127+2.75=94+3.75=61

I'm surprised to see Max going green after being reduced from 2.5+ to 1.75 yesterday morning and the evening before. It makes me wonder if he is getting too much juice instead of not enough? Yet he was high yesterday. I just don't even begin to understand how diabetes works for felines and especially bouncy kitties like Max. I'm glad he has come into good numbers but will another bounce follow? Should I have held him back to see what would happen or not gone back to his current dose?
 
Re: 8/10 Max AMPS 109+2=127+2.75=94+3.75=61+4.5=54+5.25=66

I wondered about that too if he is getting too much insulin since he comes down so quickly from lower numbers, but he has a lot of nice cycles too. Does the higher amount of insulin help the bounces to lessen and not be as high or will he bounce regardless of dose until he stops? I was trying to count bounce cycles versus nice cycles and I think he is bouncing less. It looks like he bounced at lower doses as well, but that was awhile ago. Maybe he could handle a lower dose now? Is it difficult to keep him above 50 or does a little food do the trick?

I am going to look at his spreadsheet again. This is tricky stuff
 
Re: 8/10 Max AMPS 109+2=127+2.75=94+3.75=61+4.5=54+5.25=66

I agree that this is very tricky stuff. He bounces no matter what I do no matter what I feed him. He will get on a roll from time to time and then bounce. Something is just not working. I was so surprised at how fast he adjusted to the lower doses. I was expecting and prepared for our first black number and so happy not to see one. We were hoping this last increase would flatten him out and maybe only be needed for one or two cycles. I can get him back up when he hits lower numbers with food but then he quickly goes up to higher numbers rather than surfing and having two green cycles in a row. It is so confusing.
 
Re: 8/10 Max AMPS 109+2=127+2.75=94+3.75=61+4.5=54+5.25=66

Elise,

I have no advice or insight for you, but I wanted to let you know I empathize with your situation with Max. I hope someone smarter comes along and gives you some guidance.

I'm so glad your mother was able to go to the wedding and you could all enjoy it. Great catch on that almost fall. That must have really rattled you! I'm glad she didn't realize how close it was.

Sending safe surfing vines for Max. I hope you can enjoy the rest of your Sunday.
 
Re: 8/10 Max AMPS109+2=127+2.75=94+3.75=61+4.5=54+5.2=66+6=7

Hi Elise!

I'm so glad that you and DM were able to make the wedding. Sounds as though there were some challenges with her mobility, but I'm glad to read that it was a beautiful ceremony. Sounds like it was really special and you and DM got to be there.

Max looks great today! Looks like he's getting right back on track despite the reduced doses. I think a lot of us have that nagging question in the back of our minds at times wondering whether or not we are overdosing. What I go back to is that the TR protocol should address overdoses, one way or another, based on my understanding. If kitty is seeing high numbers due to too much insulin, eventually, the dose will reach a tipping point to overcome the counter-regulatory bounce response, and you'll catch low numbers on the meter, earning a reduction. At least that's what I think to myself anytime I'm doubting whether we're going the wrong way on dose. :smile:

Have a great day!
 
Re: 8/10 Max AMPS109+2=127+2.75=94+3.75=61+4.5=54+5.2=66+6=7

Nice surf for Max today. The bouncing confuses me too. I hope you can find a good dose for Max. I'm glad your DM didn't get hurt.
 
Re: 8/10 Max AMPS109+2=127+2.75=94+3.75=61+4.5=54+5.2=66+6=7

Thanks for looking at Max's ss Carla, Catherine, and Jen. The thing is I gave been feeding him middle carbs when he gets into the 60's and hc in the low 50's. I wonder if I should stop that and let him drop and take a deduction after three times. I am surprised pleasantly that he got into green after the reduced doses which makes me question what I'm doing.
 
Re: 8/10 Max AMPS109+2=127+2.75=94+3.75=61+4.5=54+5.2=66+6=7

tiffmaxee said:
Thanks for looking at Max's ss Carla, Catherine, and Jen. The thing is I gave been feeding him middle carbs when he gets into the 60's and hc in the low 50's. I wonder if I should stop that and let him drop and take a deduction after three times. I am surprised pleasantly that he got into green after the reduced doses which makes me question what I'm doing.

Just to throw this out there Elise, but I wonder if feeding the HC or MC earlier in the cycle would help. What I've seen with Eddie (sometimes), is that I have to be ahead of the low numbers. If I wait until he's in the 50's to start trying to slow down the curve with HC or MC it's too late. For example, if I see a drop of 50 or more points from PS to +2, I'll often bump up the carb level for the +2 test. For example, if he dropped from 200 to 150, I would probably feed something like 10% or maybe even higher at +2. I think the HC or MC strategy works best really early in the cycle, rather than waiting until +4 or +5.
 
Re: 8/10 Max AMPS109+2=127+2.75=94+3.75=61+4.5=54+5.2=66+6=7

Hi Jen. I have been feeding mc if he drops more than 50 in an hour. I call that mc. I go to the hc in the 60's and 50's and hc + karo if the mc still results in a drop. You and Tina suggested that. I even went to the mc when he dropped more than 50 but still in the 200's. Last night he shocked me when he went from high 300's to 186. I didn't check after that but he was down to 109 this morning and didn't bounce from it. I just don't get it, why he didn't bounce today. Watch, when I get home he will bounce!
 
Re: 8/10 Max AMPS109+2=127+2.75=94+3.75=61+4.5=54+5.2=66+6=7

Beautiful cycle for Max today. I sometimes find with Neko that if I miss or reduce a shot (likely from a furshot :roll: ) I get a really nice cycle a couple cycles later as the depot fills up again. Just throwing that out as a possibility for what happened today. The other thing, if you are having to work really hard with carbs to keep Max up, then sometimes that's enough to say he wants a little less juice.

BTW: Could you look at your SS, it looks like Max got a 25@3.75 today. :shock: :shock:
 
Re: 8/10 Max AMPS109+2=127+2.75=94+3.75=61+4.5=54+5.2=66+6=7

Hi Wendy. I fixed the ss. I was getting confused when I was posting because my meter is off an hour and I recently changed my shot time by 30 minutes. Thanks for catching that.

I haven't had a hard time getting him up. I've just been feeding mc and hc more. Then he jumps and doubles his BG from +7 to his next shot. Now he might be starting the bounce I expected earlier. I guess the depot draining might explain that one. Does this sound like working too hard? I didn't need karo. Thanks.
 
Re: 8/10 Max AMPS109+2=127+2.75=94+4.5=54+5=66 PMPS 163+1.5=

So it's either a bounce or a delayed reaction to the two reduced doses. Max will be happy to have less pokes tonight. I'll probably get one more.
 
Re: 8/10 Max AMPS109+2=127+2.75=94+4.5=54+5=66 PMPS 163+1.5=

What a nice cycle for Max, especially considering yesterday's reduced dose. So glad to hear you and your mom could attend the wedding. How scary she almost fell on the boat though! When we take mom out where the walking is iffy, I'd rather bring a wheelchair than her walker, but she usually prefers the walker. :roll:
 
Re: 8/10 Max AMPS109+2.75=94+4.5=54+5=66PMPS 163+1.5=259+3.5

Looks like this might be due to the reduced doses rather than a bounce. I hope I'm right.

Ruth, she almost fell getting on to the boat. It was when we were having the walker taken up to the boat and were about to board. I don't know if it was losing her balance or the rocking of the ocean that caused it. Fortunately it was at the shore so when I stepped into the water to get leverage, it was just calf deep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top