8/10 Joplin PMBG: 58

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cherylockholmes

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123115

I have been out of town for the last 2 days due to a death in the family. My husband has been testing Joplin and I've been instructing him on what to give him based on his numbers. We have been fast tracking Joplin (holding each dose for 4 cycles) and he is currently at 1 unit. As you can see by his SS, his current BG is 58. I have instructed to skip the PM shot and feed immediately, and check in an hour. Just want some eyes on this, as I'm sure you can imagine I am very concerned with this number given his recent hypo.

Editing to add, I will probably be skipping tomorrow's AM shot as well, as my husband will be joining me down here (2 hours away) for the funeral, so Joplin will be alone for 7 hours (from 8am to 3pm).
 
Wow...looks like that extra couple of drops of juice really made an impression!!

Don't panic...58 is a great number and if you're not going to shoot tonight, there's no reason to worry. I'd get a "before bed" test and get a good night's sleep. It sounds like you could use it!

If you skip in the morning, the 4 cycle count will start over again, so unless he drops below 50, you'll kind of be back where you started at 1 unit, but he looks like he's responding well and I'd expect he'd get back on track soon

It's more important that you keep him safe right now and don't have to worry about him while you're dealing with the death in the family.

My condolences to you on your loss.
 
Chris & China said:
Wow...looks like that extra couple of drops of juice really made an impression!!

Don't panic...58 is a great number and if you're not going to shoot tonight, there's no reason to worry. I'd get a "before bed" test and get a good night's sleep. It sounds like you could use it!

If you skip in the morning, the 4 cycle count will start over again, so unless he drops below 50, you'll kind of be back where you started at 1 unit, but he looks like he's responding well and I'd expect he'd get back on track soon

It's more important that you keep him safe right now and don't have to worry about him while you're dealing with the death in the family.

My condolences to you on your loss.

Thank you Chris. My only concern with tomorrow morning is I won't have time to come here to ask for advice before shooting (depending on whatever his number is in the morning), as my husband will be testing him and then heading out on the road soon after. If he's say over 300 again in the morning, would I continue with the 1 unit? I'm just concerned that I won't be there to test him over that 8 hour period.
 
Yes, I think if he's over 300, it'd be fine to shoot the 1 unit since Levemir has a later nadir than Lantus, but you can always give a BCS (Big chicken shot) and shoot less just to give some instead of nothing. If he's that high, I'd probably give the 1 unit, but if you're going to worry, give the BCS and deal with it later.

If you want to, now would be the time to change your shot times too...if you were to want to start shooting earlier, since you skipped tonight, you can shoot when you want to in the morning (as long as you can still shoot 12 hours later)

ETA..I agree with Wendy...if you can't be home to test, I think it'd be better for you to skip or give the BCS and be able to leave without worrying about Joplin...He'll get back on track soon enough
 
I'm going to offer a differing opinion. Today Joplin showed you that he can start the cycle at over 300 and end up at 58. If he's low 300's tomorrow morning, I would skip or shoot a lower dose just to keep him safe while you are gone tomorrow. The fact that Joplin dropped so much today with that 319 start is also an argument for getting at least one other test in each cycle. I also think you need to stop fast tracking and stick with 1.0U for 6-10 cycles once you are back home again. He's doing quite well at this lower dose.

Sorry for your loss. :YMHUG: Joplin will be fine with skipping or lowering the dose for a couple of cycles and will get back on track soon enough.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top