8/10 Izzy pmps +2 49! +2.45 61 +3.5 60+5 71 + 9.5 82

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.25 69 +12.5 71

I am now an hour off scheduled...I am feeding her now and going too shoot... and keep my fingers crossed.
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.25 69 +12.5 71 +12.5

You're doing great, Janet - And Izzy's SS is fantastic! Sending you support and energy vines! :thumbup
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.25 69 +12.5 71 +12.5

I don't think I have ever shot this low....71...this is scary to me. How often do I need to test her now?
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.25 69 +12.5 71 +12.5

Usually, the suggestion is at +1 and +2. How's that work with your schedule tonight?
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.25 69 +12.5 71 +12.5

Not a problem Carl. I will be up all night if I have to tonight. Tomorrow is the one and only day off a week I have :)
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.25 69 +12.5 71 +12.5

I'll check back for updates. I'll be up at least until your +2.
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.5 71 +1 80

80 @ +1 is good. :smile:
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49!

OK, Janet, this is where you feed a couple teaspoons of gravy style higher carb food. And test 30 minutes later.
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49!

13% carb high enough? she doesn't get gravy....no wheat gluten. She is eating some FF right now.
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49!

13% will do for now. Do you have karo or honey? If the 13% doesn't bump the number up a bit, we can get creative. ;-) But try the 13% first. Every cat reacts to carbs differently. It will help to find out what works well for Izzy.
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49!

I have karo and honey...and tubed icing lol She didn't like the natural balance...had a few bites and wasn't interested. she did eat some ff.
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49!

What you are after is to bump her numbers up to the 70 range and keep it there. You can put three or four drops on karo with a tsp of FF and make your own "HC" mixture. You want her to eat a tsp or two at a time, and test in 30 minutes. That way she doesn't fill up if the first attempt doesn't quite do the trick.
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49!

I gave her some Sheba with gravy (no wheat gluten in in)..not sure how much carbs....but it is gravy?
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49!

If it's gravy, it's likely high carb, so good. The gravy is the magic part. Whatever they put in the food to make gravy apparently is high in "sugar".
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49!

I was so freaked out I got 50 in her right ear that I tested her left ear and got 49. Now I'm freaking out over getting her number up and she is over there just laying there cleaning herself like it's not big deal. <breath...just breath....>
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49!

Well, she doesn't even know she has diabetes, Janet :-D All she knows is that some days she feels great, most days she feels good, and she's getting a lot more love and attention lately. ;-) I want to "come back" as a cat, preferably a sugar cat whose people hang out here.
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49!

Oh, and forgot to mention...
The 49 means she's "done with" this dose, and wants a reduction to 1.25u :-D
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49!

One thing I meant to ask earlier but forgot to.

In your sig, it says she's CKD and on sub-q fluids? How often do you give fluids and when did she get them last?
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49!

Last fluids were 7/7 and she got about 25 ml cause she wasn't interested. At her Vet visit yesterday, she was well hydrated...and I didn't do them tonight. I try to do them every other day 50ml give or take.
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49!

so in the am she gets 1.25 insteand of 1.5 and we go through a bounce period right? I swear she has aged me 10 years lol
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49!

Only reason I asked about the fluids is that it has been noted by some people that fluids can cause lower numbers on the cycles they are given. Not in every case or every cat. And that it can be a good idea to give the fluids and the shots in different locations, but that also might depend on the volume you are giving, and the timing of the fluids vs. the shots. 50ml is not too much. I gave Bob lots of fluids back when he was on insulin, usually 100ml per treatment, and the fluids and shots were never in the same place. I can't say whether or not they made his numbers lower, because he got them a lot and I wasn't testing as often as I should have (I wasn't a member here at the time).
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 67...stalling 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49!

Janet said:
so in the am she gets 1.25 insteand of 1.5 and we go through a bounce period right? I swear she has aged me 10 years lol

Yes on the new dose. 1.25u. But I don't assume a bounce period. Ha, I try not to assume anything with this. :lol:
I see bouncing as caused by two things. Either a drop into really low numbers. Or a rapid decrease in BG in a short period of time.

Tonight's cycle doesn't "fit" either category. She didn't drop far. She was only at 67 a couple hours ago, right? And she didn't drop far and fast. She may or may not bounce from this 49, but I don't think it's a 100% sure thing. She may surprise you.
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49! +2.45 61

If I give fluids she doesn't not get shot in the ruff. Lately I have been shooting in the hip and side belly.

So she is at 61...a little more gravy or wait and retest?
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49! +2.45 61

61 is just what you wanted to see happen. The gravy helped bump her up, but not really "up". Another spoonful and test in 30 is a good idea. If she's higher then, then you can switch to good old LC, or wait 30 and test without the LC. 70ish would be nice.
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49! +2.45 61

ok..she is eating a little more. restesting at midnight. fingers crossed I don't have to be up all night lol
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49! +2.45 61

Okay, here's another option you can consider after midnight. People call it "aborting a cycle". Izzy has already made her point - she dropped under 50 and earned a reduction in the morning. In a case like this, when you need to NOT stay up all night, you can just put the brakes on things. At midnight, you will have gained some knowledge for "next time". You'll see what a couple servings of gravy-style food can do when her numbers go low like this. And that's great stuff to know, because at some point, this will probably happen again.

At that point, you can put out some food and let her eat it. It'll boost her numbers further up so she won't go back down, and it will allow you to get some sleep. You can, if you want to, set an alarm for like 3 hours later, and you can check her around +6 or +7 to make sure she's still "up". By the time the AMPS comes around, the food will have worn off, so you shouldn't see like a 200 or anything from the food. If you see a number like that in the morning, it'll be a "bounce" rather than due to overnight munchies. Cats seem to plot and do these sorts of cycles on nights when sleep is a must and staying up isn't an good option. On nights like that, especially after the dose reduction is already a "given", that's a way you can deal with low numbers and get some sleep.
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49! +2.45 61

If she goes above 70 do i keep testing her every hour? Or just for a couple hours as long as she stays in the 70s
She normally has access to her ff all the time. I dont feed 2x a day.
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49! +2.45 61

If you decide to stay up...

Then the next "trial" is to, once she's up in the 70s, get two tests that show rising numbers without feeding. That might not happen, however, before you reach her typical nadir time. At that point, the numbers should rise on their own as the insulin starts to "taper off" in terms of effectiveness.

That's an option if you want to stay up. If not, you can do what I said earlier. Put food out, set an alarm for +6 or +7, and test her then to make sure she hasn't dropped back down. I think that once you get past nadir, as long as she has food available, she isn't likely to drop back down. Not to the 40s anyway.
 
Re: 8/10 Izzy pmps 12.5 71 +1 80 +2 49! +2.45 61 +3.5 6

Then you let her be for a few minutes, take the food away, and then put it back down to see if she's interested again. If "no", then test in 30 anyway and see what the meter says.
If the number is the same or higher, repeat trying to feed. If still "no", then test again in 30 and see if the number is the same or higher. If it's higher after the 2nd test, then you've just gotten the "2 consecutive tests with no food and a number that is rising" result you wanted. And you can leave food out and take a nap.

If the numbers drop, then you can try a different food, mix some karo/honey with the LC, or give her that gravy food she ate earlier. That'll push the numbers up, stop the numbers from falling back down, and allow you to get some sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top