8/10 Ivy Amps 144, +3 236, +6 290, +9 218, Pmps 158, +3 177 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
8/9/24
Amps 144 Libre

Good morning,
Blue and yellow overnight cycle. We both slept in our respective beds for a change. Would love to see more activity today (not tonight, going out to dinner).

Libre installation and a walk (for me, not Ivy… she will sleep in her comfy bed) planned for this morning.

Vet visit and fasted labs to check her thyroid meds, kidneys etc and more coming up on Tuesday (already stressing about that). Will probably reduce her dose the on the night before and skip her dose the morning of labs since no eating and she tends to drop). Ugh the whole process of sedation and everything:banghead:
As always, I wish she was a more relaxed kitty but that’s apparently not in her dna :arghh:

Hope you all have a lovey day and a safe surf to all :cat:
 
Do you do this yourself? I'm considering more and more using the Libre. How much does it cost you? Trying to figure out if it's the same or more than the cost of so many test strips. I can afford the same but can't afford more.
Yes, I install it myself. I pay around $35 per Libre at my pharmacy. (I buy 2 at a time and try to have several more on hand at all times since they can fail at any odd time day or night).
Takes me about 10 minutes to prep and install at most.
(You can read up on how to do it on the Facebook group Freestyle Libre for Dogs and Cats)
And there are plenty of videos around to watch.
Feel free to ask me any questions.
But of course you will still want your handheld meter and strips to check any odd readings or low readings to make sure Shooter is safe.
It’s not a perfect system, but since Ivy is so difficult to test consistently it helps me to keep her safe and have a good idea what’s going on. :)
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!

Glad to hear you got some rest last night.
Enjoy your walk and dinner later on and I hope Ivy behaves today (and always)
Sounds like a busy week ahead. Good luck with everything ♡♡♡

Happy Caturday

upload_2024-8-10_12-3-28.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-8-10_12-3-28.png
    upload_2024-8-10_12-3-28.png
    263.5 KB · Views: 137
Hi Staci,
Nice blue start to the day! :cool:
Hope she gives you a nice beach day (Steady though!)
Enjoy your walk today and dinner later!
Looks like a busy week ahead for you - hope you can relax and enjoy the weekend before it all starts!
Wishing you a wonderful Saturday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit, thank you for the sweet wishes. Ivy seems to have lost her compass today and is in the yellow zone. Not sure why. We may need to use the secret code “I” threat.
I hope you are having a great weekend and Mikan is behaving and is maybe even at the beach:cool::D
I hope you have a great weekend!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!

Glad to hear you got some rest last night.
Enjoy your walk and dinner later on and I hope Ivy behaves today (and always)
Sounds like a busy week ahead. Good luck with everything ♡♡♡

Happy Caturday

View attachment 70751
Hi Karolina, can you send Nestle to guide Ivy back to the beach, please? She’s lost her map ;)

We had a nice walk. It’s hot out there. Now for a quick swim to complete my outdoor day.
Then I will relocate Ivy from her room to a sunny spot for some Vitamin d.
Thanks for your support. I’m worried about going to that vet on Tuesday. I need to do some meditation! :joyful:
I hope you and the boys are having a wonderful weekend :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Karolina, can you send Nestle to guide Ivy back to the beach, please? She’s lost her map ;)

We had a nice walk. It’s hot out there. Now for a quick swim to complete my outdoor day.
Then I will relocate Ivy from her room to a sunny spot for some Vitamin d.
Thanks for your support. I’m worried about going to that vet on Tuesday. I need to do some meditation! :joyful:
I hope you and the boys are having a wonderful weekend :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Glad to hear you had a nice walk. Enjoy your swim. I'm so jealous. I'm currently still at my 2nd home, you know what I mean haha.
I'll be back home later this evening and then off to work again sunday afternoon-monday night.
I will def enjoy a nice evening with the boys once I'm home.
And I know it easier said than done, but try to relax about Tuesday as Ivy will pick up on your stress and will feed off of your energy.
Sending PAWsitive vibes ♡♡♡
 
Hi Staci, looks like Ivy is taking a little yellow break today, but I am sure that helped with the plan to walk and to install the libre. I can imagine that installing the libre is much easier on days, where you don't have to poke her so much. Binie only has a certain limit of what I can do with her on one day and I have to choose wisely, what is most important. I can imagine, Ivy may be similar. I hope she goes down tonight but very gently and undramatic, so you can enjoy your dinner without worries. I hope meeting your friend and driving through the rain on thursday all worked out fine! :)

I'm so sorry going to the vet is so hard with Ivy. But it sounds that you thought about every detail in your planning and adjusted everything to Ivs needs. Nothing more you can do. I'm sure it will be stressful somehow but both of you will manage well and getting these results will help you to treat her even better. And I remember, that this new vet and his staff did a perfect job in handling Ivy in a good way. And last but not least, there are fingers and paws crossed all over the planet for Ivy and you! :kiss::cat::kiss: So everything will go well!

Hope you enjoy your weekend! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci, looks like Ivy is taking a little yellow break today, but I am sure that helped with the plan to walk and to install the libre. I can imagine that installing the libre is much easier on days, where you don't have to poke her so much. Binie only has a certain limit of what I can do with her on one day and I have to choose wisely, what is most important. I can imagine, Ivy may be similar. I hope she goes down tonight but very gently and undramatic, so you can enjoy your dinner without worries. I hope meeting your friend and driving through the rain on thursday all worked out fine! :)

I'm so sorry going to the vet is so hard with Ivy. But it sounds that you thought about every detail in your planning and adjusted everything to Ivs needs. Nothing more you can do. I'm sure it will be stressful somehow but both of you will manage well and getting these results will help you to treat her even better. And I remember, that this new vet and his staff did a perfect job in handling Ivy in a good way. And last but not least, there are fingers and paws crossed all over the planet for Ivy and you! :kiss::cat::kiss: So everything will go well!

Hope you enjoy your weekend! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, thank you so much for your sweet message. I really appreciate your kind words.
I am the same as you, I try to limit how much I do in one day with Ivy also. Otherwise she lashes out at me.
This new vet office has never drawn blood so I am quite worried. Paws crossed for success. She is very difficult so it takes a gentle yet careful touch.

Wishing you a very peaceful night with a restful sleep :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, thank you so much for your sweet message. I really appreciate your kind words.
I am the same as you, I try to limit how much I do in one day with Ivy also. Otherwise she lashes out at me.
This new vet office has never drawn blood so I am quite worried. Paws crossed for success. She is very difficult so it takes a gentle yet careful touch.

Wishing you a very peaceful night with a restful sleep :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I just remember they have been quite successful to measure her blood pressure and saw that as a very good sign. All fingers and paws are crossed here for tuesday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top