Hello Bhooma, thanks for this. When speaking to the vet yesterday we talked about other symptoms etc and currently my concerns are BG seems less affected than previous and the pulling and licking at hair at base of tail. Herman is still peeing larger amounts and more frequently than what I would deem normal and doesn’t show any symptoms of pain or straining while urinating.Is he showing any symptoms of a UTI? Were any tests done? It's also possible he has Idiopathic Cystitis and that will not respond to antibiotics. So you do not want to give antibiotics unless an infection is confirmed by tests.
See the section on Cystitis:
https://catinfo.org/feline-urinary-tract-diseases/
If after a see vet this morning she advises to still go ahead with Baytril (I am not sure if she will say to still go ahead based on symptoms and last months lab results or have me bring him in again for more tests), but IF he does start Baytril would I still increase the dose while I start treatment? Or give Baytril a few days to work before increasing?Also, you want to take him up to 2U tonight. Let's get him to a good dose soon. Break through any glucose toxicity.
I would say he pees both frequently (6+ times a day) and larger than average amounts (not as large as pre-diagnosis but more than he was when numbers were better and in larger clumps than I find in my neighbours litter box who I pet sit for almost weekly and they have three cats). He does not strain to urinate, I can’t believe how quick he is in and out of there. Never seems in distress around litter box and keeps things quite tidy (never misses the litter box etc).The excess urination could be due to the higher numbers. If he going tiny amounts more frequently, that could indicate UTI or IC. But both are obviously differentiable from the excessive urination you see in higher numbers.
Is the pulling of the tail still there even after the flea treatment and stopping the Beyond pates?
I would go ahead with the increase. You don't want him hanging around in higher numbers. We don't know if it's an underlying problem causing the higher numbers or just loss of regulation/glucose toxicity.
Sounds goodMaybe I should monitor the grooming for another couple days and do the increase without Baytril. If numbers continue to not cooperate and I 100% confirm the excessive nether region grooming is still a problem then reassess with vet? You just hate to lose more time.
It’s a plan. And look, blueSounds good![]()
Yup. Was trying to sleep and Budge was trying to ensure I don't! Next time tag @tiffmaxee, use the ? prefix on the thread title and add a part of the question to it like "Dose increase?".And I realize Bhooma is hopefully tucked in bed at this point… so given that I will be able to monitor him closely tonight I think the increase should happen…hoping someone will see this and speak up if I am off the mark![]()
Yup. Was trying to sleep and Budge was trying to ensure I don't! Next time tag @tiffmaxee, use the ? prefix on the thread title and add a part of the question to it like "Dose increase?".
We get to fattening and skinnying doses only when a cat fails a reduction multiple times and goes between doses.
I think it's been 3 days since the flea treatment and stopping Beyond pates? You could hold the 1.75U one more day though I suspect he will bounce. And he is over 150 on this dose so he could use an increase to 2U.
Tagging @tiffmaxee for her input on dosing.
Ok will up dose in am…just over 4 hours from now. Trying to decide if I should wake up in 2 hours to test again or sleep till amps.I would increase to 2.0 in the morning. Next time you need help add the question mark and write dosing help or whatever you need so we know.
Replied in today's condo. Hold the dose this cycle.Amps 146 …low for herm. Proceed with 2u?