8/10 Harley odd low BG values last few days

Status
Not open for further replies.

KKL

Member Since 2013
Even with a slightly lower dose to stop him from going so low between 2am-6am (which I ended up staying up most the night and or giving him MC or HC food)

I have seen some real low numbers, so much so that I skipped two shooting periods in a row...take a peek and see what you think is going on??
 
Kris --

I know it takes some time and probably nerves of steel to get your head around the idea of shooting lower numbers, but the pre-shot numbers that caused you to skip are very shootable numbers -- at least around these parts. Frankly, I was anticipating seeing pre-shot numbers in the 50s from your note. It looks like you're comfortable shooting if numbers are above 130. How about considering shooting a bit lower -- say if numbers are 100 or above? If you get a pre-shot that's lower than 100, you can stall (don't feed) and re-test in 20 - 30 min. and see if numbers are staying the same or rising. (This is providing your schedule can accommodate a delay.)

I don't want to label Harley's numbers as "odd." I think those hours spent in very safe, green numbers are doing Harley's pancreas a great deal of good! The more time he spends in those numbers, the greater the likelihood that his pancreas is healing.
 
wow.... Harley is so close .... such a small amount he's on...
he just needs the consistency so his pancreas can heal and take over....


would love to see the numbers for today....
 
He keeps going under 70 at THE WORST times, like oh, between 2am-6am and when I am headed out for work nailbite_smile
I just don't know how he reacts at these numbers so I get paranoid he'll go hypo in my sleep and I give him a little food to keep him from dropping. I'd love to have him do this while I am home and awake so I can see what exactly his body plans on doing, but haven't had that luck yet.

I have gotten what would seem like conflicting advice the last few weeks...or is it that the advice changes as the cat progresses??

What numbers should alarm me? When should I give LC, MC or HC food? When should I just watch and when should I test often?

All I know is that he has always been particular about being clean and loves to play, but he has become a grooming machine and has become even more playful than ever. Very alert, very vocal. I wish I could post a video I took today of him grooming my husbands goatee, what a ham :)

***Oh and what I meant by "odd" was that even though I skipped both one PM shot and one AM shot in a 24 hour period (because he was at 92 and 106--and I wasn't going to be around for several hours to make sure he didn't drop if I did shoot) he still stayed in the high greens and low blues :) AND the little bugger found some old dry food in the back corner of a closet later that day and inhaled it which might have helped shoot him up to 400. Who knows :)
 
well the lows at difficult times are what everyone gets to do. That's part of this dance.
It looks like Harley has some surfing skills... ( like my cat did - ability to just surf greens) but one can never assume anything.

I only see one too low number back in the beginning when you got a 33.

You have to go under 50 ( so 49 is as low as you ever need to go) for a dose reduction for a newly diagnosed ( less than 1 year) cat.

So if Harley would just stay in between 120 and 50.... he'd be doing absolutely wonderful and get to his remission status.
He seems to need just that tiny bit of insulin to continue supporting his pancreas for a little while longer and get rid of all the numbers over 120.

ETA: it's those higher numbers that keeps him needing the insulin support.
 
Just me chiming in...I think Harley is doing fantastic!! Those are awesome numbers and he's becoming a Most excellent Surfer too!!!!!!'''

Just by glancing at his spreadsheet, I see LOTS of hopeful things going on and it wouldn't surprise me if he goes OTJ and goes to visit the others at the Falls soon!!

Those lovely green numbers from 50-100 are the ones I'm still hoping to see sometime with China! If you're concerned he'll drop too low while you have to be at work and can't check, put some low or medium carb food mixed with some water and freeze it in an ice cube tray. That way he'll have access to "fresh" food through those times you can't be home to test to help keep him safe

The way things keep going, we'll have to start planning a menu for your OTJ party soon!!

You're doing GREAT!!!

GO HARLEY GO!!!
 
Thank you!!

What has made it a bit difficult is our multi special need cat household...and that Harley inhales all food in sight the minute it's set down, so I can't leave food out. My reductions were more based on that he was dropping too low too fast and needed HC food to bring him up, BUT the HC food makes him sick and I was worried that would cause him to go even further. So on the cautious side I dropped his dose slightly, the drops are less and less severe (I actually slept last night) and yet we are still seeing very low blues and good higher greens. If this isn't going to be enough I can try to tinker when my schedule isn't so crazy (there are days I work 12-16 hours easily 6-7 days in a row, need that sleep). But, if conservative is just as good, I'd rather err on the side of caution.... :mrgreen:
 
Most of the "gravy" foods contain gluten. Many cats are gluten sensitive and it can cause them to barf or have diarrhea. I've dealt with that issue with Gabby. What I do instead of giving her HC gravy is to add a few drops of either corn syrup or honey to her LC food.

Being conservative is fine. If you are happy about where Harley's numbers are and you're getting sleep and not driving your self crazy with worry, then all is good.
 
I came up with a concoction on those 50"S nights that I gave him a tablespoon of his normal LC wet food with a dab of karo (to bring him up faster) and a few small bites of his old dry food to help slow his crash. So far, with exception to the morning he got into something he shouldn't have and puked (we got a nice 400), he has not been spiking. Ideally I'd like to not have to give him anything but we will see as he eases into this dose for several days...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top