8/10 Eddie AMPS 348, +8/113, PMPS/98, +2/103, +3/45, +6/72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Eddie's 8/5 Condo

Yesterday: AMPS/405, +2/368, +6/156, +7/154, +9/119, +11/185, PMPS/233, +2/261, +5/107, +6/91, +7/132
Today: AMPS/348, +2/309, +6/154, +8/113, +9/125, +10/126, +11/98, PMPS/98, +1/148, +1.5/113, +2/103, +2.5/73, +3/45, +3.5/57, +4/54, +4.5/62, +5/61, +5.5/69, +6/72

Hi LL! Sorry for the lack of Eddie condos. I've been so incredibly swamped at work lately, and have been working at home in the evenings. We just hired a new associate attorney, and it's super time consuming (but fun! :-D ) helping a new attorney get her feet on the ground. My boss was a solo attorney for about 10 years at the time I started working there as a law clerk while I was in law school. It was supposed to be temporary, but before my third year of law school, my boss decided it was time to add a second attorney to his practice and offered me a job. Since then, it's been myself and my boss for the last 6 years. We finally got to the point where we absolutely couldn't handle all the work between the two of us (which is a good thing!), so we bit the bullet and decided to hire a newly-minted attorney to join us. She started with us last November, and she's been an awesome addition to our team. During the interview process, we also interviewed a young woman who was headed into her third year of law school. We didn't need two attorneys, but she was so darn talented, we couldn't pass her up. She just took the bar exam a week ago, and started with us this last Monday. It's exciting to have two new talented young women join us!

My little wompa-stompa seems to be liking his 2.25 units. This is the longest we've held a dose in quite a while. I'm cautiously optimistic that he might actually be starting to flatten out a bit on the dose. He's still bouncing at pre-shot, but is clearing and hitting normal numbers at nadir each cycle the last 4-5 cycles (anti-jinx). He's hit 40's on this dose twice, so I don't know how long I'll be able to keep him here, but I'm going to try to avoid a reduction in the hopes that he'll flatten out some more. The two dips into the 40's on this dose of course happened while I was at work. The first occurred on a long bounce clearing slide late in the cycle. That one I didn't really anticipate and didn't do anything food-wise to try to prevent. The second one I did anticipate that he might have a busy cycle, so I fed extra MC early in the cycle and then in the auto feeders, but he still hit 40's which I caught on my lunch-time spot check. Numbers in the 40's no longer make me sweat - when I can monitor - but when I catch them on a spot check when I have to go back to work, that does make me nervous. nailbite_smile I'm actually a little bit suspicious that Eddie may have been lower than the 45 I caught at AM +6 on Friday. He was unusually insistent about wanting food RIGHTNOW when I got home. The only other time he's acted that was was when I caught him in the 30's at AM +2.5 on 7/21. Do any of the other full-time workers here have a contingency plan for when they catch low numbers on the way out the door or on a spot check when they absolutely can't stay to monitor??

Eddie's recent pattern seems to be to hit low greens, then bounce for two cycles, then have a cycle where he hits low 100's or high greens where it looks like he has bounce cleared, but has room to go back up in dose, but then Eddie's like "just kidding," bounces for two more cycles, then has a dive-bombing bounce clearing cycle on cycle 6, hitting the 40's again. He's had this pattern twice in a row now. If he continues this pattern, he should have an exciting cycle on Monday morning while I'm at work. :roll:

I'm continuing to steer with food as much as possible to try to slow big drops - primarily early in the cycle. Eddie seems to be sensitive to the big fast drops more than anything else. I will say that steering even with HC or karo for the really big drops early in the cycle have seemed to be somewhat of an exercise in futility. When Eddie's on a bounce-clearing mission, it doesn't seem to matter how hard we fight the drop with carbs, he's going to hit the 40's or even 30's no matter what we do, having experimented with this several times. We also started an experiment with slightly higher carb food for his regular food - 5-7% as opposed to 0-4%. The "ultra low" carb food we'll reserve for when he's bouncing. A slightly higher carb food totally makes sense with diver kitties, and although Eddie doesn't usually dive unless he's bounce clearing, maybe he's a kitty that just does better with a little more carbs. We shall see.

At this stage, since Eddie's hitting 40's on this dose regardless of my efforts to slow down his bounce clearing cycles, there doesn't really appear to be much I can do to manipulate things, either dose wise or food wise. Hopefully, he'll just decide to settle in to this dose and flatten out without my interference. :-D

Vines and hugs to all those who need them!
 
Re: 8/10 Eddie AMPS 348, +8/113, PMPS/98

I hope that Eddie doesn't drop too low when you go to work tomorrow. Hopefully he surfs safely for you tonight. That bouncing can drive you crazy. I'm glad things are going well for you and Eddie.
 
Re: 8/10 Eddie AMPS 348, +8/113, PMPS/98

Jen&Eddie said:
Do any of the other full-time workers here have a contingency plan for when they catch low numbers on the way out the door or on a spot check when they absolutely can't stay to monitor??

So far it has been either calling when I know my boss won't answer or sending a text to his blackberry :lol: Good thing he is an animal lover and gets that Skooter is like my kid!

Nice PMPS there Eddie, but please surf nicely for mommabean tonight (and tomorrow while she is at work!)
 
Re: 8/10 Eddie AMPS 348, +8/113, PMPS/98

Dyana runs into the situation you're describing. I have, to some extent. What I do, and I'm pretty sure Dyana does, is leave out some higher carb food. If you don't have a timed feeder, I'd strongly encourage you to get one. With a feeder, you know that food will be available and you can adjust the carb level of what you leave if you need to.

Good instincts on getting that +1 test this evening.

FWIW, Gabby is a kitty who likes to take early dives. One strategy is to front load the early part of the cycle with food. I'm currently feeding at PS, +1 and +2. You might want to experiment to see if this helps.
 
Re: 8/10 Eddie AMPS 348, +8/113, PMPS/98, +1.5/113

Looks like another active cycle in store fir Eddie. Try your best to help your mama by surfing high green Eddie. I hope Eddie cooperates tomorrow, Jen. If I were working I couldn't do this as you can't call in late when teaching.
 
Re: 8/10 Eddie AMPS 348, +8/113, PMPS/98, +1.5/113

Hi Carla! I think your comment worked....I suspect Eddie's going to do his bounce clearing tonight rather than tomorrow morning! :lol:

MollynSkooter said:
So far it has been either calling when I know my boss won't answer or sending a text to his blackberry :lol: Good thing he is an animal lover and gets that Skooter is like my kid!

Hahah! Yep. This is what I do, too. Mostly my boss is accommodating, but I had to call in a week and a half or so ago, and it didn't go over well just because of what was scheduled that day. I ended up running to the office and back twice while feeding low numbers for several hours during the AM cycle. I've lucked out and been able to work something out thus far with work. I did ask about bringing Eddie into the office but boss has severe allergies, so that idea was shot down unfortunately. It would have been the perfect solution! Having my buddy with me at work during the day would make me a happy camper. cat_pet_icon

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you don't have a timed feeder, I'd strongly encourage you to get one. With a feeder, you know that food will be available and you can adjust the carb level of what you leave if you need to.

Thanks Sienne. I do have timed feeders and they are definitely a life saver. I leave food at various scheduled times in various carb amounts based on what Eddie's early cycle numbers are. On Friday, when I got the 45, I did leave out more food in the feeder and said a little prayer to the cat goddess to keep Eddie safe for me. I guess it's probably better to overcarb and risk aborting the cycle with low numbers that can't be watched than to attempt to be conservative with the carbs.

Sienne and Gabby said:
FWIW, Gabby is a kitty who likes to take early dives. One strategy is to front load the early part of the cycle with food. I'm currently feeding at PS, +1 and +2. You might want to experiment to see if this helps.

Eddie has really only recently become a diver sometimes early in the cycle when he's bounce clearing, so we're working on a strategy to deal with this. I have studied Gabby's SS to see what you are doing with food. :-D We currently usually feed at PS and +2, but I'm thinking that we may start feeding at +1, too, or at least if he looks to possibly be bounce clearing, maybe getting that extra meal in at +1.

I am suspicious Eddie might drop tonight, so I'm trying a little experiment. I started trying to get a +1 at times several weeks ago just to see what Eddie's normal food bump looks like, and then, after he started dropping early in the cycle, to try to help predict a drop. Unfortunately, his +1 hasn't necessarily been helpful in making any predictions. Sometimes, he gets a food bump at +1, but then drops fast and hard to +2. Sometimes he's flat between PS and +1, but then just stays flat for the cycle. Tonight I grabbed a +1.5, and it looks like he's probably going to drop. I opted to not feed just to see if the +1.5 is going to be a useful data point. I know Marje was experimenting doing something similar with Gracie trying to figure out for a while with which early cycle test would help catch the drop before it happened. Maybe a +1.5 will be useful data going forward.
 
Re: 8/10 Eddie AMPS 348, +8/113, PMPS/98, +2/103, +2.5/73

Cats do NOT like to be predictable. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :lol: :lol: :lol: Paws crossed for a nice surf tonight and safe work numbers tomorrow.
 
Re: 8/10 Eddie AMPS 348, +8/113, PMPS/98, +2/103, +2.5/73, +

Hi Elise! Thanks for stopping by. Please disregard any suggestions I've given on steering, as clearly, what I'm doing isn't working. :roll: :lol: ;-)
Edited: Tonight I fed 7% at PM, 9% at +2, 15% at +2.5, and just fed 20% gravy with the 45 at +3. I probably should have brought out the big guns earlier I guess.

Wendy - you called that one! Looks like Eddie is one cycle ahead of me. ;-)

So, this is the third dip into the 40's on this dose...probably fair to say I better take the dose down to 2.0? I think I jinxed myself by posting Eddie's condo today. Seems like the last couple times I've posted about being happy about Eddie starting to flatten out, he immediately earns a reduction. Ah well.
 
Re: 8/10 Eddie AMPS 348, +8/113, PMPS/98, +2/103, +2.5/73, +

They certainly do have their own agendas....it would just be nice if they consulted their beans every so often to make sure it goes along with what we have planned as well...
 
Re: 8/10 Eddie AMPS 348, +8/113, PMPS/98, +2/103, +2.5/73, +

Yup, the night is young and Eddie's having too much fun at this dose. I'd take it down to 2.0. Usually they let you know loud and clear when they are done with that dose. :lol:

Up Eddie please!
 
Re: 8/10 Eddie AMPS 348, +8/113, PMPS/98, +2/103, +2.5/73, +

Jen, I'm beginning to think they will do whatever they want regardless of what we feed. That makes things even more frustrating and confusing. Good luck with the reduction.
 
Re: 8/10 Eddie AMPS 348, +8/113, PMPS/98, +2/103, +3/45, +3.

I'm pretty sure Eddie was getting some ideas when I was restocking the HC fuds "candy" cupboard today. ;-)

+3.5 = 57. Looks like the HC is doing it's thing. It's not uncommon for him to drop back down after an hour to an hour-and-a-half. I do wonder about feeding some MC or LC to help the surf once I get him up. I've never really figured out the timing on that. In the past, I've almost always switched to MC or LC too soon, and he starts coming back down, and I have to go back to HC/karo. Any input on that?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top