8/10 Ducia AMPS 157, +2 171, +4 143; PMPS 153, +5 264

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tanya and Ducia

Member Since 2017
Hello everyone,

long time no post! I hope everyone is doing well.

Ducia's overall numbers have been lower as of last couple of weeks which of course I like very much. However I just recently read in somebody's condo that if a cat comes frequently to lower pre-shots and bounces regularly it could mean that the dose is too high.:confused::confused::confused: Did I misread it?

If you take a look at the SS - do you think the dose is OK? She is on 1F Unit for 36 cycles in the row - the longest we ever kept. Should I keep the dose even longer or is it time to change it?

Ducia's AMPS are much higher than her PMPS mostly which made me believe she experiences the Dawn Phenomenon. What can I do to keep the PMPS low AND to lower the AMPS? Any feeding tricks or dose manipulations?

I confess that I completely lost my ability to read/interpret her patterns and was just "going with the flow", so to speak. It makes me feel uncertain and a bit lost :oops:o_O:confused:.

What makes me uncertain?:
a. if I shoot low she does not stay low;
b. often the+2 is lower then the pre-shot but by +4 she often starts bouncing;
c. sensitivity to carbs% fluctuates - sometimes she eats 9% carbs and stays within mid 60s and sometimes feeding her 4-5% carbs sens her way too high.

Also, she always eats her supper at +9: 2-2.5 tsp 0%, how come she makes lower PMPS after that meal?:confused:

I guess I'd like to hear what a "fresh pair of eyes" sees in her SS. All I see is that my cat leads in a crazy dance I am not familiar with and I am afraid to do something wrong.

Current feeding approach is front load: most is eaten pre-shot thru +4, mini snack at +7 and supper at +9. Main food source is Tiki Cat 0% with occasional FF or Friskies Pates.

Have a great day, everyone! Thank you for any thoughts on the SS and dosing.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
However I just recently read in somebody's condo that if a cat comes frequently to lower pre-shots and bounces regularly it could mean that the dose is too high.:confused::confused::confused: Did I misread it?
I have no idea why someone would think that. Some cats are just bouncy. With Neko and many cats, a little extra juice helps to lower the bounces. Lower preshots can mean a later nadir and better duration.

I think Ducia is looking good on this dose. It's been a while since pink (antijinx) and she's getting good nadirs on this dose. If you want to bring the whole range of numbers down just a bit, you could add a drop to the dose. But you might have to feed a bit higher carbs so she doesn't bottom out. If you are happy with the nadirs, keep the dose.

Is she on the same feeding schedule AM and PM?
if I shoot low she does not stay low;
It took Neko quite a while to stop bouncing as much and before she would stay lower if I shot lower. Have patience.
often the+2 is lower then the pre-shot but by +4 she often starts bouncing;
The lower +2 is like still the insulin effect from the previous cycle. ie. good duration. Neko on Lantus would often nadir at +13, you may be seeing some +14 nadirs. If the onset is later (Neko did this too), the numbers would go up after that until onset.
sensitivity to carbs% fluctuates - sometimes she eats 9% carbs and stays within mid 60s and sometimes feeding her 4-5% carbs sens her way too high.
It may depend when in the cycle you feed the carbs. Carbs after nadir will cause numbers to go up faster than carbs before hand. And some cats react more to different proteins/foods. Try doing two different proteins/brands of 4-5% and see if you can see a pattern. Or keep good records on the SS (Remarks section or elsewhere) on what %carb you are feeding when. It may help you spot a pattern.
 
Hey Tanya! It looks like since last night she is really leveling off in nice blues.

This dose looks like it is working for her as you are getting some nice nadirs. I wouldn't change the dose but maybe experiment some with when you are feeding her.
 
Is she on the same feeding schedule AM and PM?
Same feeding timing from pre-shot thru +4 for both cycles.
Difference: because her PMPS is lower (depending on how much lower) I fed her either Friskies 4-5% or FF 2-3% at PMPS, PMPS +2 and+3.
What is the better way to feed her?
And some cats react more to different proteins/foods. Try doing two different proteins/brands of 4-5%
I know she likes two different brands: Friskie and Soulistic, two kinds of proteins both in 4-5% carbs range, can buy at any time. How should I feed her?
Thank you for your input, Wendy!
 
This dose looks like it is working for her as you are getting some nice nadirs. I wouldn't change the dose but maybe experiment some with when you are feeding her.
Thank you Bobbie, I like the lower numbers a lot but I was uncertain if it advisable to stay with the same dose for so long. My insomnia makes my mind dull, I really appreciate the feedback from fresh eyes. I think I'll keep the dose for now if no one sees any signs of glucose toxicity. I know because she sees Greens and low Blues more or less often I could give it a rest but as I said I am very tired and cannot think objectively. Good to hear that the dose is looking good.
maybe experiment some with when you are feeding her.
wendy suggested diffrent protein source and I can do it. But what is the optimal feeding schedule would be like?
Currently I feed Am and PM at the same time but give higher carbs sometimes in the early hours of each PM cycle.
 
f you want to bring the whole range of numbers down just a bit, you could add a drop to the dose.
In the ideal situation I'd keep the PM cycles as they are but lower the AM cycles range - or try to level the AM range with PM.
Is adding a drop to the AM shot advisable (and keeping the PM shot dose as it is)?
I know the depot could be very unforgiving..
 
I would keep the same dose AM and PM. What you do in one cycle is just as likely to impact the next as the current one because of the depot. I once went 3 months on the same dose with Neko, she kept giving me good nadirs. Of course, her low times were always at night. :rolleyes:
wendy suggested diffrent protein source and I can do it
I am suggesting tracking the protein sources, and see if it makes a difference. It may not. The optimal feeding schedule is ECID. I am afraid that means taking good notes, changing one thing at a time, and seeing how she reacts to it. If she goes lower at night and you are feeding higher carb then, that's probably a good way to do it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top