8/10 DC AMPS=331 +2=257 +4=270 +6=252 +8=216 +10=239 Day 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noreen&DC&Frisky

Member Since 2010
I made the switch today from Humulin N to Lantus. So far so good.
AMPS = 331
+2 = 257
+4 = 270

I will keep posting as I test.
Should I keep testing every 2 hours or is a different time better when just starting?

Thanks for all the feedback as I was getting ready to make the switch.
 
Re: 8/10 DC AMPS=331 +2=257 - FIRST Day on Lantus

Hi,

excellent choice on the insulin :mrgreen:

Not sure if it's been another 2 hours due to timezone.

Get a +6, that is approximately the nadir (lowest number of the cycle) for Lantus.
Good initial response.

Not sure how 'up' you are on the info for Lantus, but recommend you re-read the stickies at the top which will refresh/remind you about useage, storage, and how it works in cats generally (will always have the ECID element. Every cat is different).

Often you get a good initial response, then numbers seem to start increasing. Don't worry about this, happen s majority of the time. You keep increasing until you get a breakthrough dose, then hopefully you start the trend down.
Hold initial dose 5-7 days, unless you do get a sudden drop under 50, then you would decrease immediately. If you post every day, will always be someone to offer help and guidance.

Good luck :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/10 DC AMPS=331 +2=257 - FIRST Day on Lantus

Hi Noreen! Wishing you and DC lots of good days and good numbers with Lantus! Welcome! :-D
How is DC doing? So glad to see you post your fist condo here! Looking forward to seeing DC's numbers each day. If you can test frequently today it will be great~every two hours is awesome! Then, alternate hours tomorrow if you can as well as before bed checks at least at night...is that possible?
The more data you get, the better....I see you started at a lower dose....wishing you all the best! :mrgreen:

When you post tomorrow, can you link today's condo to your first post? It makes it easier to see what transpired the day before if you link it~~makes it easy to find! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/10 DC AMPS=331 +2=257 - FIRST Day on Lantus

Welcome to LL and to being on a much better insulin :-D you will find so much information and support here cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/10 DC AMPS=331 +2=257 - FIRST Day on Lantus

Thanks everyone. How do I link todays post to tomorrows? Also when I add the BG should I put a new post or just edit the old one?
AMPS = 331
+2 = 257
+4 = 270
+6 = 252
 
Re: 8/10 DC AMPS=331 +2=257 - FIRST Day on Lantus

Hi Noreen


How do I link todays post to tomorrows?

scroll down the list and find your last thread.
open it, highlight the http, copy, open a new thread, and paste the link to the text box.


Also when I add the BG should I put a new post or just edit the old one?

Go to your first post in this thread, hit edit, type in your updated numbers in the subject/title line, hit submit
And add a reply to the last post in your thread. This will bump your update to the top.

Many here use this method to yell for HELP, DOSE etc...but make sure you do a new reply so you get the bump to the top.
If you only update the first subject line, it won't bump your thread.
But if you're just updating numbers and everything is ok, then that is fine.

Good work getting those numbers today!
 
Re: 8/10 DC AMPS=331 +2=257 +4=270 +6=252 +8=216 Day 1 Lantus

I just checked on DC and he is more alert and playful than he's been in ages.
He's chasing Frisky around the house and playing with the 4 year old from next door, which he never does.
I think switching to Lantus is just the fix he needed.
 
Re: 8/10 DC AMPS=331 +2=257 +4=270 +6=252 +8=216 Day 1 Lantus

Nice update. Very nice to hear your kitty is having fun.
I had the same thoughts when I finally took that step too.

You guys are doing good!

Have a good nite Noreen!
 
WELCOME to lantus land--My Moonie was also on Humilin N & we switched to lantus, as she was not responding well to the N at all.
Been on lantus about 2 yrs now & it is a world of difference--Also, we have a very close community here, and you can get help 24/7!
ONE THING-Lantus doesnt have to be rolled, shaken, & must be refrigerated!! It is more fragile than the N, so treat it kindly--
The curve is also different on lantus, look how flat those numbers are!! That's good!
The thing about lantus is that you need to be consistant & patient...Hold a new dose 5-7 days as a newbie, and test when you can-
I test amps. +3.+6.PMPS and before bedtime--AT VERY Least!--dosing changes are discussed here and are done in increments of 0.25U at a time, no big changes--
I saw on your SS that you shot 2.00 in am, and 3.00 pm on N--We dont do that on lantus--keep the dose consistant & if you need to go up or down, dosing helpers will advise you--There are so many wonderful friends here to help..
Also read the Stickys at the top of this page, ask questions, & you will see your furbaby getting better & better--
Again--Welcome :mrgreen:
 
All DC's shots were around 11am and 11pm.
I think the SS date you were referring to is 05-28-2010 where I wrote that the vet changed the dose. I meant that I gave him 2u for his 11am shot and 3u for his 11pm shot.
I try to keep his shots as close to 12 hours apart as possible.
The reason for the late times, is with the N, I had to feed before each shot and he sleeps until 10:30am and it's hard to get him to eat if I wake him up.
It was easier to just shoot later in the day, than to upset his routine. And with me being on disability, I'm home most of the time anyway. Except when we go to the lake for
the weekend, and the cats always go with me.
Do to the fact that I am gone on the weekend, I won't be posting numbers, but I will update when I get back from the lake. I don't have computer access there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top