8/10 Calley AMPS 377

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris10mo

Member Since 2014
I think I will be increasing her insulin dose to 1.5. For her current weight of 9 lbs she should be at 1 unit/2xdaily....but her old weight was 11lbs so that is 1.5 dose. She was not over weight at 11lbs.

She has been on Lantus now for three weeks without significant progress.
 
Kris,

If you are going to increase the dose, try 1.25. Insulin is a very powerful hormone. It should be adjusted very slowly. And, unlike other insulins, Lantus and Levemir are not dosed by weight.

They are dosed by the blood sugar numbers at the lows in the cycles. The nadir is what you are looking for. You have some room to go up, but you want to be careful. A hypo, or severe low, when you are not home could be a disaster.

Can you try and get a curve again soon? The sugar dance is a marathon, not a sprint. It would be nice if we could fix diabetic kitties in a week. But, it is not possible.

All the best and wishes for patience.

Claudia
 
I agree with Claudia about only increasing the dose to 1.25u. You also need to hold any new dose for at least 4 doses (other places say even longer than that) before you can know if the change is having any effect.
 
+6 was 229. She vomited again today. :(

I will go up .25 today and then on Thursday I will increase it again....if she is still high, which I suspect she will be. She has not regulated in 8 months. I have no faith that she will ever regulate.
 
Hello Kris and Calley! Please be sure you are not increasing the dose too quickly. If you cant follow the tight regulation protocol,which requires lots of testing am and pm, then follow the"start low go slow" method. You cant rush a cat into remission, just wont work. If you aren't able to get daytime mid cycle test, maybe you can get pm mid cycle test, by setting an alarm for +6/7 to see how low she might be going. I've done the late night test and caught some very low numbers. I am posting the link to the instructions for those who cant test as often, and are using the SLGS(relaxed lantus method).http://www.felinediabetes.com/start-low-go-slow.htm I know how difficult it can be when there's no one else to help test and you have to work and have a life! I am fortunate that I taught my mom how to test..shes 79!! I couldn't do all this without her. Before that, I relied on am/pm test and days off mini curves, and set my alarm for the overnight test. I think you should give each new dose at least 6-10 days..at least thats what I understand the SLGL steps say(actually it says 1-2 weeks!) for safety. Hope Calley starts settling in to this dose soon for you
 
I've read conflicting things in terms of how long to keep Calley on a dose before increasing. So I guess I'll wait a week for each dose to give it awhile to get to an even level.

I won't be able to do overnight testing. My alarm would wake the whole house and the other pets. I just can't do that. I will do the best I can to get tests twice/day during the week and more on the weekends. That is all I can give it.

Her +6 today was as high as her AMPS :(

I appreciate all the information and support. Being patient is not working well for me. lol
 
Just a suggestion, but I use my phone alarm and its set to low enough volume that it wakes me up and no one else. I can set it to light melody as well. I dont know what kind of phone you have, but all smart phones are capable of this I believe. I know some people who have husbands, or wives, will sleep on the sofa to avoid waking them, at least once a week to get a +6.
 
Kristen

I know how it is. I don't get night tests often unless I am worried. Once I am up the whole house is up for the rest of the night. Sometimes if I stay up late on a weekend I take advantage of it and sneak in a test.

I am sorry that Calley is still throwing up. Now I am wondering if it is the insulin.

I always keep dose changes for at least a full week to ten days. Alska seemed to take that long to settle into a new dose. You will figure that time-frame out for Calley in due time. Hang in there. Pets and purrs to Miss Calley.
 
With squeeky floors and a small child that is a light sleeper......middle of night alarms won't work.

I am going to get a few later tests tonight and then on Friday night. Weekends will be my only pm +6 times.

I don't know why Calley is still vomiting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top