8/1 Walter AMPS 249, PMPS 114 / Mandarin dental day 505 at vet, PMBG 55

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Last condo

First of all: thank you so much for all of your concern and for your messages after I disappeared from the board for a few days. What started out as food poisoning turned into the worst migraine I have had in probably 20 years. I basically laid in a dark room for 48 hours and wasn't able to move or do much. Luckily, a friend of mine came over to take care of me and the critters... but Amy isn't able to test or do Insulin and she never even saw Mandarin.

I managed to test a few times, but Walter ended up with a skipped shot yesterday after he threw me a 46 at AMPS. Amazingly enough, he is already coming back down... so he might be getting ready for a reducie soon.

I also almost rescheduled Mandarin's dental, but his vet is leaving town on Wednesday and wouldn't be able to get him in until late August. So my friend Amy dropped him off this morning. I can't even begin to describe how stressed the poor boy was. At 10 am, the vet called that he was awake and that they either needed me to pick him up or sedate him, he was that frantic. His BG was 505 at the vet. Since everyone I know as at work, I drove out there and got him (let's just say that I am glad that I made it back home safely). He had three fractured teeth that needed to be removed, two additional extractions, lots of tartar, gingivitis and boneloss. In short, his poor mouth was a mess. And it's been only a year and a half since his last dental.

I am just glad the last few days are over. I feel like I've been hit by a truck - and I have only been out of bed for three hours. My head is pounding and I think I will lay down for a bit before I try to take Mandarin's bandage off.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Wow! I am so sorry you were so ill. I hope you feel much better soon!

I am happy you got Mandarin in. Hopefully with all that work done he will be off the juice soon! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm sorry you have been so sick. I'm glad Mandarin had a good dental. I'm sure he feels much better now and hopefully he will get back to OTJ soon. Nice of your friend to help take care of the kitties. Sending prayers.
 
{{{Christina}}},

What a horrible time you have had. I'm so glad you had someone to help you when you needed it. Needless to say, a lot of people here were concerned about you.

Poor Mandarin. I'm sure he's majorly traumatized, but once he settles back at home, he'll soon start to feel better. Did the vet send pain meds and antibiotics home with him? They may affect his BGs for a while, but I'm guessing once he's all healed, he'll be ready to go back to the Falls. With that big a mess in his mouth, it's no wonder he fell out of remission!

Sending lots of healing vines for you and for Mandarin. Walter and babies, you all be good while Mama is trying to recover! :bighug:
 
Wow, what a terrible time you have had! So sorry that it was so bad for you Christina!! Glad that Mandarin got through the dental and hopefully, this will put him back OTJ! Glad that Walter is okay too!
 
{{{{{{Christina}}}}}}} What a nightmare of a time you have had the last few days. I am so glad that you got his dental done and I so pray that is the reason for losing remission and that he will be back OTJ ASAP
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
(((Christina)))

I’m so sorry you’ve been so ill and send tons and tons of healing vines for you. I’m sure the boys have been just fine and it’s great to get Mandarin’s dental behind you.

I think you probably need some KTSS!
 
I'm so relieved you have a friend helping you. So sorry it was a very rough day for Mandarin and his poor little mouth was a mess. Walter please not funny stuff sweetie. Take care of yourself Christina. Sending tons of feel better vines and prayers for you and Mandarin :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Christina, sorry it was so rough for the past few days. I'm glad Mandarin is back home safely and didn't have to stay there all day. With all that going on in his mouth, it's no wonder his BG went back up. I hope that once he recovers, his BG will drop again. At least you have confirmation that it wasn't the kibble raid that was responsible for his BG! Take it easy on yourself for a few days and rest. Getting sick like that truly does feel like you've been hit by a truck. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Walter, take care of mama bean and keep the kits occupied while she recovers, okay? And no more dramatic dives until she's better!
 
Thank you for all of your well-wishes. Getting out of bed and going to the vet to pick up Mandarin took more out of me than I thought. I pretty much slept the rest of the day. Mandarin was so stressed that he wouldn't even come near me at first and when he finally made it on the bed, I decided that the first priority was to get his bandage off of him. It already looked like his paw was starting to swell up.

If I had known that his BG was going to drop 450 points in a few hours :eek:, I would have tried a bit harder to test him... but I wanted to avoid traumatizing him even more. So glad that I didn't give him Insulin this morning! And I skipped his PM shot as well since I am not sure I am in any shape to pull an all-nighter.

Good news is that he is eating and that I got him to take his Bupe and Clindamycin.

Walter pulled off a gorgeous surf today and is in great spirits. He's also the best snuggler and has made sure that his bean has someone by her side at all times.
 
Sending vines to you and Mandarin.
cat.gif
 
That's quite a big drop. Max went the other way after his dental. No shot so hopefully you will rest and sleep the night away. :bighug:
 
Holy cow on that 55. I'm glad Mandarin settled down and hopefully you both get a good night sleep. Please Walter, surf safely buddy.
 
Wow on that drop!! Looks like Mandarin may be headed back to the falls sooner than expected! That would be so great!!

Hope you're feeling better tomorrow....those migraines really take it out of you

Walter buddy...you surf safely and keep mama company until she feels all better!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top