8/1 Skooter PMPS 122 +1 117 +2 83 +3.5 101 +5 98 +8.5 130

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
The CoNdO of YeStErDaY

Got about 6 hours of sleep, yay! Yet, for some reason I am not feeling all that refreshed :sad:

Skooter seems to be in good spirits this morning. Tonight I will be increasing his raw and decreasing his wet and starting with my new half marked syringes.

Not much else to report on our front.

Sending vines to all who need them, especially Mariko and Lucy....keeping you in my prayers.....

I hope everyone enjoys their Friday!
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159

Good Morning :cool:

Great start today for Skooter!

For you, I recommend some . . .

:lol: TGIF!
 

Attachments

  • coffee.jpg
    coffee.jpg
    10.5 KB · Views: 461
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77

If only I drank caffeine, Sandy :sad:

About a year ago I cut drinking caffeine out of my diet....Right about now, I am deeply regretting that decision lol

We shall see how it goes.....liking the green :)
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77

What raw are you using, commercial or homemade? I do the home made. Saves me around $110/month, and I am seeing only half the amount of waste in the box. The biggest change is the litter hardly smells. One that is a +/- is Charlie's hair is so silky soft its hard to get a grip of the skin at shot time.
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122

Commerical (Nature's Variety - chicken)....I am not so sure about being able to do the homemade lolol

I figure I can take one step at a time, so if I can get him over to the commercial raw, I can do some research on homemade...how difficult is it to "make" the home made?


OT: Guess who has two thumbs, soft fur and just shot their lowest pre shot EVER? If you guessed Molly and Skooter, you would be right!


I started with the relion syringes tonight, pulled through 2u and got like a bubble's worth out, so it looked like 1.5 marking, but hoping it was closer to the 1.75...
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77

I saw your question in yesterday's condo about amount of raw food to feed. There are many factors such as Skooter's weight, whether he is just right, too hefty, too light, how much exercise he gets. Dr. Lisa has a lot of information on her website. The one thing she stresses is regular weigh ins, maybe once a week or two when you are changing food. You don't want them to lose more than 2% of their body weight a week.

She gives a guideline of:
Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70
I took a look at the Nature's Variety website food calculator last night - boy do they want to sell lots of food! :shock: I put in the calculation for my civie who is 13 lbs and currently maintaining weight at around 230 calories of raw a day. The NV website said I should feed 318 calories a day. You do want to count in the calories for any treats, but I'm pretty sure he's not getting 90 calories of treats a day. :lol: :lol: Using Dr. Lisa's calculation, he should be getting 246 calories a day which he might do with treats.

And different proteins are higher calorie than others, for example, chicken is the highest calorie protein I serve and kangaroo is the lowest. I rotate proteins but the average daily calories is around 230 and that's in 125g or 1/4 lb of raw food per day.

Chocolate is an acceptable form of caffeine. ;-)
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122

Skootersmom said:
OT: Guess who has two thumbs, soft fur and just shot their lowest pre shot EVER? If you guessed Molly and Skooter, you would be right!
Way to go!
Grab a +1 since it's uncharted territory :cool:
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122

Good luck on figuring out the food changes. Everything becomes more complicated when FD is involved!

I'll bet you'll like the new syringes, too. I much prefer the ones with 1/2 markings. I use the terumo, because they move more easily with my stiff hands. My DH prefers the ReliOn, though.

Have a great weekend, Molly!
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122

Tricia - I do like them, but I am not quiet sure what I gave Skooter tonight. Like I said, pulled out 2 units and slowly let some out, maybe a drop or two, so while it looked pretty close to the 1.5 mark, I am hoping it was closer to the 1.75, lol. Perhaps if he earns an "r" word tonight, then it won't much matter as I would be at 1.5u.

Sandy - I can easily get a +1, it is in about 20 minutes or so!

Wendy - so if I am understanding right, it really doesn't matter WHAT I am giving (in regards to wet vs raw), the calorie amount will remain the same. Also, another random question for all. So, currently Skooter gets one 5.5oz can per day, since he gets 4 meals a day, pretty easy to cut that into fourths. I normally put it in the fridge after each meal, but I do not heat his food up before I give it to him with the other meals in the day. Again, getting him to eat just isn't a problem lol (thank goodness). Should I be heating it up before giving it to him? Like I said, he really doesn't seem to mind it from the fridge....
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122

Great job on shooting that 122!

A calorie is a calorie - doesn't matter the source. If the amount of calories in a can of food is working to get/keep Skooter's weight where you want it, then stick to that amount. It's up to you if you warm the food up. I add a bit of warm water to the kitties raw food, just cause I like to add more water to their food and the civie is slightly fussier on his poultry (prefers red meat like many males I know :lol: ).
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122 +1 117

Awesome! Let's see a little green tonight, Skooter, but not the deep end.
Liz
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122 +1 117

Thanks, Liz!

I have decided not to be afraid to shoot any numbers when I am going to be home to test. The first few times his AMPS or PMPS is under 100 I will probably seek advice, I am only afraid of shooting the lower numbers when I am at work.

My head gets that he isn't gonna drop to zero because he can drop 50 to 60 mg/dL when his numbers are higher, I just worry about the hypo when I am gone. I am hoping at some point, that fear goes away......
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122 +1 117

Looks like you will see action tonight and maybe a pj party!! Nice pmps with a drop at +1 means action most of the time around here. Congrats on not being afraid to shoot low. I was when all this started because some people I know that are usually right on told me never to shoot under 200. That would never have worked for my cat.
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122 +1 117

Uh, no, I don't think that that fear goes away until the cat goes OTJ. :lol: :lol: When you are there to test, yep, you can keep him safe. If you can come home at lunch, then that's great, since that's when he is likely to be the lowest. It would be helpful if he would eat while you're gone too. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122 +1 117

We shall see, I did get a timed feeder, it hasn't arrived yet...HOWEVER...he is weird as he goes through phases where he will not eat unless I am there to watch him do it, like he wants to PROVE he ate it.

Well it is just me and him and there is no way I am gonna eat his food....and when I come home and see the clean plate, there is my "proof" he ate it.....he broke into the last one I got several years ago, but his IBD was not under control during that time, so hopefully he will not be as obsessive about the food. The feeder should be arriving sometime this weekend or early next week!
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122 +1 117

And so glad to hear that fear never really goes away, Liz LOL :roll:
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122 +1 117

You can also carb him up if you have to be away for a while. He'll love that! :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122 +1 117 +2 83

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Lookie, Lookie!!!!
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:


I have to run out for about 20-30 minutes and then in for the night! I may have to make a pit stop for a little chocolate :)


I feel horribly guilty but I will have to carb him up next Friday night. I have an event that I missed out on last year and I have been looking forward to pretty much this whole summer. I know I need to have a life as well and ONE cycle won't kill him, but I still feel like I am being selfish :sad:
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122 +1 117 +2 83

Nice shootin' tonight, Molly....surf safe, Skooter!!!

As for the event next Friday...it's hard, but you do have to have a life! I've skipped a few of Trix's shots so I could go see my hero, Bruce Springsteen (it's epic...everyone here knows my obsession!). It bothered me a lot...until I was there, and I knew Trix would be fine. Don't worry about Skooter...he'll be fine, and you need the time to yourself!!
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122 +1 117 +2 83

Oh, Amy likes Bruce Springsteen? I had no idea... :lol: :lol: :lol: Uh, yep, her adoration is epic here in LL. :-D Don't feel badly about going to your event next Friday. You need to have a life besides FD.
Liz
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122 +1 117 +2 83

Its pretty easy to make. I bought the heavy duty meat grinder per Dr. Lisa. I also had to buy a 5.1cf freezer, cause I make about 30lbs finish product. Takes me about 2 hr so including portioning. Each portion is half of their daily meals.
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122 +1 117 +2 83 +3.5

Hrmmmm, I might have to look into that, Darin....


As for Mr. Skooter.....ummmm I get you normally nadir early, but really?!!?!!?

Is this possibly a bounce from his low numbers today and tonight? I have never seen a mid cycle bounce...nor have I seen him nadir this early, normally it is around +4.5 or so....there isn't any contraband for him to have gotten into...I am sure not a big deal, but I was expecting him to go much lower than 83......I am a bit perplexed.... :?

Can he possibly still go lower? I am thinking a +5 test?
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter AMPS 159 +5.25 77 PMPS 122 +1 117 +2 83 +3.5

Hrmph....

Does he not understand? I was prepared for this one, ready and pumped to be up all night, I went and got chocolate for goodness sake!

I am wondering if this is an effect from possibly not getting him the full 1.75u during his AM and PM cycles tonight.....I apparently still need some practice with figuring out this whole 1.75u thang.....

Ugh... the ONE NIGHT I am pumped up and excited, got the chocolate ready, etc etc etc ..... :roll: A cat is gonna do what a cat wants to do :lol:

If I do a +5 and he is still good, I think I shall call it a night......(and I can't believe I am upset at that lol)
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter +5.25 77 PMPS 122 +1 117 +2 83 +3.5 101 +5 9

So I got the half unit marked syringes.....still having trouble with the 1.75 dose

I am drawing out 2u and letting like 1-2 drops out for the 1.75, is that correct?
 
Re: 8/1 Skooter +5.25 77 PMPS 122 +1 117 +2 83 +3.5 101 +5 9

just compare the plunger line against the syringe lines - it doesn't matter if your 1.75u is the same as someone else's, what matters is that you can duplicate your dose, and reduce or increase it as needed.

you can also make a comparison syringe with colored liquid and a used syringe. just compare against your current dose each time you draw it up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top