8/1 Rocky PMPS 68 +1 69 +3.5 51 +4.75 82 +6.25 64 +8.25 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL!

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122701&p=1275194#p1275194

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 57 +2 67 +5 53 +9 69
(NS) PMBG 58 +15 67 +16.5 78 + 19 66

Real quick, I spent a few more hours late last night updating even more of Rocky's SS on the computer. He is now missing only 7 days of data on the chart, from July 15 through July 21. Most of those missing days were green days too, with some blue.

This morning Rocky is still looking pretty good, despite the fact that I fed him the Wellness Core 8% at PMBG +19 last night because I could barely get him to eat anything at all during his PM cycle. For the past few days, his morning 'norm' BG has been 56-58, (even without his PM insulin) and he was at 66 this morning. Maybe it was because of the higher carbs last night? :roll: It worried me because I really wanted him to eat everything last night, and he would not! But, he really chowed down on that 1/4 can of Wellness Core, even licking the plate. It seems he wants to eat less and less now that his blood glucose levels are in a normal, healthy cat range. He did, however, eat ALL of his NVIV 0% carbs food for his AMPS meal this morning, which pleased "ME" greatly. :lol:

I don't know how much insulin I gave him this morning, what I mean is, I have no idea what to call the dose of insulin that I gave him this morning. The tip-top of the plunger touched the bottom of the ZERO MARKER LINE ON THE SYRINGE!! :shock: haha_smiley It looks like we could still play around with that "zero" marker line more, meaning, put the plunger just barely inside of it, and then put the top of the plunger at the very top of the zero marker line. Anyway, there is this teensy, tiny amount of insulin still left in the syringe when you do it like that. The only way there is no insulin left in the syringe is if the plunger is pushed all the way, completely to the top.

Because Rocky is less hungry now, starting two days ago, it seems, and he doesn't want to eat as often either, I'm not going to feed him nor test him again until at least +3, or even maybe later then that if I don't wake up sooner. I-) :lol:

Rocky knows something has changed and he is all gang-busters to get out of his room. In fact, a few of the other cats have now taken to waiting for him directly outside of his door. I've been very worried about this day because I feed the rest of the crew 1/3 cup kibble each in the AM, and Rocky cannot have that contraband. What to do.. what to do.. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 8/1 Rocky(reducie .25u??): AMPS 66 [SS UPDATE: 07/22-07/

maybe Rocky can get put into your bedroom or the bathroom while the the other kitties are eating their dry food. He needs to never get even a single crunchy.

thanks for updating his spreadsheet. i don't care about the previous numbers, but i do want to see current ones on the spreadsheet. seeing it on the spreadsheet makes all the difference in the world in getting the picture of how he's doing.

I'm not seeing his meds on the spreadsheet. i don't think the food matters much, at least not to me, but you'd mentioned him getting some ABs earlier and i'm thinking that the resolution of the ringworm and whatever the AB was for are probably the reasons that he's suddenly gone all green and is going down the dosing scale. meds are important to have on there.

we know that keeping him on insulin for as long as he'll take it is helpful in making the remission be a strong one. i'd stick to the 0.25u for both am and pm cycles, shooting everything over 50ish, until you get a number below 50, then try the 0.1u.

I am thrilled to see him doing so well. i know you are too. It's been a long haul getting him from all the crazy bouncing to this point. good job.
 
Re: 8/1 Rocky(reducie .25u??): AMPS 66 [SS UPDATE: 07/22-07/

Rocky was on Doxycycline for pneumonia, which he contracted during his seven day medical board at an animal hospital while I was away on a Buddhist retreat during the last week of June 2013. I'll make sure to put the meds on his SS.. I just couldn't remember when we ended the meds. I'll call the vet today and find out how long the course of Doxy was for. I'm also probably going to put him back on the Doxy for another 3 to 4 weeks as he had anemia when he went DKA in early December 2013, and the tests at that time suggested that he might have Bartonella. Doxy is really the only 'cure' for that blood parasite and it takes a long, strong course of those antibiotics to rid the body of it.
 
Re: 8/1 Rocky(reducie .25u??): AMPS 66 [SS UPDATE: 07/22-07/

i just wonder if that's been the key to his recent good blood sugar. whatever the cause, it sure is a good thing!
 
Re: 8/1 Rocky(reducie .25u??): AMPS 66 [SS UPDATE: 07/22-07/

Any pointers on what you did other than going off antibiotics? I'm thrilled for you and would love to stop the bounces with Max. Once everything calms down and you finish the ss maybe I will pick up some ideas to try that I haven't already thought of yet. In any case, well done Tina and
R. :RAHCAT :thumbup ocky
 
Re: 8/1 Rocky(reducie .25u??): AMPS 66 +5.5 67- HE WON'T EAT

Well, it seems we've hit a road block. I cannot get Rocky to eat. :YMSIGH: He ate the first 1/4 can of NVIV 0% carbs for his AMPS meal this morning, but now 5 and 1/2 hours later, he wouldn't eat the Merrick Purfect Bistro Chicken 2% carbs, that I've been feeding him for about 5 days now. He wouldn't touch it. The only thing I've done differently is not add water to it, so I'll go back and add the tablespoon of water to it, but I still think he won't eat it.

The other thing is, to get him to eat the NVIV, I've had to sprinkle a bit of the Forta Flora on it. He's gotten game to that now, and he will just skim the top of it, eating off of the top of it as lightly as he possible, eating as much as he can of ONLY Forta Flora. ohmygod_smile

When I just went into his room I found a small piece of poo in his bed, but it is not hard. I am wondering if he has been having a bit of very soft stools and stomach upset from the Forta Flora? :?: :?: I check the box but I use that pine litter for him so it's really difficult to get any sort of idea about the poo. It is definitely not ALL diarrhea, I would see that as pancake patties in the box and there are none of those. It's not hard as a rock either, or that's what I would have found in his bed.

It's not OK that he only eat 1/4 can of the LC food this morning. I know for SURE that he will eat the 8% Wellness Core, but I'm not going to give that to him just yet. He gobbled that down last night.. Now we have a BG that is slowly on the rise with only one meal in him.

I think I might try that sardine trick that I used when I very first wanted to get him to eat the NVIV, but I'm going to crumble a bit of it on top of the Purr Bistro right now.

What a bummer.. looks like we are not going OTJ after all... I guess I should be happy with these great lower numbers though, an a smaller amount of insulin. At least one vial of insulin will now get me farther with him. :thumbup (Trying to look on the bright side, but really not feelin' it.) :lol:
 
Re: 8/1 Rocky(reducie .25u): AMPS 66 +5.5 67- HE WON'T EAT

i don't think you can say he's not headed OTJ just because he's not eating at the moment. i'm not sure where you'd get that - don't go to the worst case scenario. just take one day at a time.

do whatever it takes - 8% or sardines, or a different food, warm it up, sprinkle on parmesan, oregano or catnip, pull out the rotisserie chicken - to get him to eat.

if those things increase his BGs, he'll get back on track when his appy is back to normal.
 
Re: 8/1 Rocky(reducie .25u): AMPS 66 +5.5 67 - HE ATE IT!

All right that's exactly what I'll do, Julie. ;-) I just checked in on him again and he had eaten all of it, had licked the plate clean. So, apparently I was just not giving him enough time to savor the flavor. :lol: I'm so use to him in the past just wolfing down his food, even though he's a cat. He is like, eating about half of it and then walking around the block, so to speak, and then returning to the food to finish it just a few minutes later. Rocky has ALWAYS had a great appetite, except for when he went DKA, and most recently when he had pneumonia.

I do suspect that the Forta Flora is somehow affecting his stomach. I'm going to pull back on that and start using the ol' sardine topper trick when feeding the NVIV. In the past, he would eat all of the 4% carb food with no problem. He is starting to get a bit finicky about the Artemis 4% though, and he wouldn't even eat the Fancy Feast Classic Chicken last night. That's why I finally fed him the 8% carbs, which he did eat.

The poo in the litter box is not solid logs, which is how it normally looks. Instead, it is sort of some log shapes all stuck together and then all rolled in the pine dust. Like I said, I suspect he is having a bit of very soft stools and those can be incredibly difficult to get out of the body. Maybe he has to poo more before he can eat more. Would getting less insulin in your body cause any type of digestion issue? :roll:

I'll feed him again and get another BG test in here before I need to run to Costco and do some other errands today. I'll feed him the 4 mini-meals this evening and he'll get the 3 during the day, today.

Elise, as soon as things slow down here a bit I'll follow Max and you on one of his insulin cycles where he is going lower, and then tell you how I'd handle it. I've got some other pretty great news that I'd like to share here on LL, but with so many folks going through a lot of suffering at the moment, I don't feel it's appropriate.
 
Re: 8/1 Rocky(reducie .25u): AMPS 66 +5.5 67 - HE ATE IT!

Yea for great news!! With all that is going on it will be a nice change of pace. Thanks and I'm glad Rocky is eating. What did he finally eat?
 
Re: 8/1 Rocky(reducie .25u): AMPS 66 +5.5 67 - HE ATE IT!

He actually did end up eating all of his Merrick Purfect Bistro Chicken Pate.. the 2% carb 1/4 can of it. I'll feed him another 1/4 can of it before I leave the house today. He will have then eaten 1/4 can shy of (1) 5.5 oz can of food for his AM cycle.

I'm going to give him a shot tonight, the same shot that I gave him this morning, and see what happens. I have been skipping his PM shot lately.
 
Re: 8/1 Rocky(reducie .25u): AMPS 66 +5.5 67 - HE ATE IT!

Tina & Rocky said:
So, apparently I was just not giving him enough time to savor the flavor. :lol: I'm so use to him in the past just wolfing down his food, even though he's a cat. He is like, eating about half of it and then walking around the block, so to speak, and then returning to the food to finish it just a few minutes later.
I know first hand how a history of DKA makes one hyper-vigilant to the slightest hint of inappetance, as it should.
I honestly think the change may be from the lovely green stretch allowing him to more fully and efficiently metabolize calories.
Rocky may have been a grazer rather than a hoover pre FD and is now reverting back to that.

Give him some leeway for change - you will know if it's something requiring intervention or just Rocky finding a new normal.

Like Julie said, one day at a time. I know it's highly emotional - the feeling Rocky is at a crossroads of sorts and not knowing which way he will go.
Time will tell :cool:
 
Re: 8/1 Rocky PMPS 68 +1 69

I have not given Rocky a shot for 5 nights in a row now. Tonight, I gave him the same dose of insulin that he had this morning. I fed him 1/2 can of the FF-CC 4% at his PM shot time, but again, he would only eat about 1/2 of it. The rest of it is just sitting in his dish. I'm not sure whether to remove it and bring it back later, or if I should just leave it there. I just left it there.. I haven't seen any new poo or pee in the litter box since this morning.

Update-- He still hasn't finished his first PMPS meal, one hour later., :roll:, however, he did eat all of his 1/4 can of Pur Bistro 2% at his AMPS +9.25. maybe he is just not that hungry because he ate two and a half hours ago :?:
 
Re: 8/1 Rocky PMPS 68 +1 69

I honestly think the change may be from the lovely green stretch allowing him to more fully and efficiently metabolize calories.
Rocky may have been a grazer rather than a hoover pre FD and is now reverting back to that.

i would point to this as well. the unlimited appetite of a cat's whose BGs are unregulated can change when the cat's BGs become regulated.
 
Re: 8/1 Rocky PMPS 68 +1 69 +3.5 51

Rocky wouldn't eat anything but started meowing for food at 10:30pm, that's PMPS +3.5 for him. His BG was at 51, and it is making me very nervous because of the insulin that I gave him tonight. I hope that his appetite will hold and that he will eat if he does decide to drop below 50. He has SCARFED up the 1/4 can Wellness Core 8% that I fed him, and now he is crying for more food.

I'll feed him again, I just need to wait a a few more minutes to see what has happened to his BG after he ate that mini-meal of 8% carbs. This is a a little bit nerve wracking right now. nailbite_smile I kinda wanted to try and get some sleep tonight.

I never memorized the 5 P's, but I can tell you, he is acting like a cat on adrenalin, which I've never seen from him before. Chewing on all of his supplies in the room, leaping across my lap, won't sit still so that I can easily take the blood from his ear. Crying and crying for more food! Finally..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top