8/1 Onyx - AMPS 387 (Flat curve??)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Onyx & Klepto

Member Since 2013
Good morning, LL!!

Hope everyone is having a great week and the kitties are doing well. Things have been rather quiet and uneventful this week with Onyx's numbers, so I haven't really been posting. Yesterday was day 2 of her increased 1U dose, and her numbers stayed in the 300's all day. Is this what you guys refer to as the "flat curve"? I was expecting to see her numbers get down into the 200's with 1U, but I barely notice a difference from .5 and .75. Would it be safe to say that after she finishes 6 cycles of 1U tonight, I bump up to 1.25 tomorrow morning? Or is there another recommendation?

Her appetite is still a bit ravenous...and she still drinks a ton. And I'm checking her keytones when she actually cooperates and pees on the plastic. I still haven't been able to get her to even taste the wet food, and it's starting to worry me. My civie now ONLY wants wet...why can't she be so accomodating? lol. I was hoping to have the transition made while her numbers were higher. She is atleast eating the Wellness Core, so she's not getting all the crap she was before. I can't even get her to try canned chicken...and she's always hated tuna. With her numbers being as high as they are, would it be safe to withhold her dry food (except for shot times), in the hopes that she'll get so hungry she has no choice? I've tried so many of the suggested tricks, but nothing seems to work. :YMSIGH:

Thanks, everyone.
 
She is pretty high still so I suspect a dose increase to 1.25 will be recommended tomorrow.. see what the others say.

What wet foods have you tried so far on her? Sometimes its just a case of going to the pet store and picking up 2 cans of everything low carb. I say two cans as I find sometimes they will enjoy the first can but turn their noses up at a second.

You could try making food cakes. Get some wet and grind some dry into it to make a small firmish ball - size of a pea. Then throw the ball along the kitchen floor (kinda wiggle it first to catch her attention and then shoot it along the floor surface) for her to chase and maybe she will eat it That way she will taste some wet at least..

Wendy
 
Re: 8/1 Onyx - AMPS 387, +1 412, +3 365, +5 373

Wendy, the food balls are a great idea! I'll give that a shot. I've tried a few different flavors in: Friskies, Fancy Feast, Iams and Purina One. I'll be going back to Petco this weekend to grab a variety of other brands.

Does it seem wierd to you that her numbers aren't any different from the .5 and .75...to the 1U? I was really hoping that the curve flattening out was at least a good sign? She's been so great with all the curves she's letting me do, because I still can't figure out what her nadir is. Seems to be anywhere from +4 to +10. Grrrrrr!

So unless anyone suggests an increase to 1.5, I'l start tomorrow on 1.25.

Thanks for the input, Wendy. I was beginning to think I smelled or something since no one would reply.

:smile:
 
A lot of people live on the west coast and work till 5pm PST so you dont always see responses till later in the day.Also since everyone gets home and posts, if you post early you get pushed to the bottom and sometimes it unfortunately means you can get missed. If you need a response you can always reply to yourself which bumps you to the top. or if its urgent change the post icon to 911 and start sending PMs out!

Does it seem wierd to you that her numbers aren't any different from the .5 and .75...to the 1U?
Not if she is getting dry - it might take a higher dose to see any movement. But best to get her off dry. Have you tried all the tips here? http://www.catinfo.org/docs/TipsForTransitioning1-14-11.pdf


Wendy
 
Thanks, Wendy. Fortunately, I haven't had any urgent questions, so it wasn't a big deal. But I will definitely be sure to use 911 in my subject when the time comes that her numbers get really low and I'm in panic mode. And you are right, I posted relatively early and got bumped down the list quite quickly.

So you think the the dry, even though it's the Wellness Core (11%), could still be keeping her high? For some reason I assumed that just switching her from Blue Buffalo to the Wellness would help her numbers a bit, but it doesn't seem to have. I've tried a lot of the suggested tips on that document, but no luck. That's why I figured it might be time to try the food withholding tactic that I asked about it my original email. I hate to do that to her, but I might not have any other option. But I did just make up some little food balls with Wellness and Friskies Chicken like you suggested, so we'll see if she falls for it. I swear I think she has a bionic nose...lol.

:lol:
 
Hmmmm, that might be difficult. She hasn't chased anything in probably a few years. She's been overweight, needless to say. Went from over 13 lbs in early June, to 10 lbs. If I throw a toy her way, she looks at me like, "Seriously? You expect me to run after that? Paaa-leeeese!". But I'll give it a try...lol.
 
Hi!

I don't know if I've introduced myself and my boy: I'm Kat from NE Ohio and Gobbles is my sugar-cat-in-remission. He went OTJ exactly 6 months from his FD diagnosis.

How about trying to mix some of the dry food into some wet? Worth a try--maybe try 1 teaspoon of dry mixed into 1 teaspoon of wet..???

Have you tried sprinkling pixie dust on the wet food? Pixie dust is where you take some dry and crush it with a rolling pin, then sprinkle some on top of wet food.

As for dose increases--you are in good hands here for advice! My advice is to stick to the Protocol. I know it is hard to be patient when our little ones have high numbers.(believe me, I've been there--maybe if you take a look at Gobbles' SS, it will give you comfort :lol: as he drove me nuts with the doses, increases, decreases--just everything)

Hang in there-you really are doing a GREAT job!!!
 
Hi Kat!
Thank you so much for the introduction--and words of encouragement. I appreciate it more than you know. :smile:

So I took a look at Gobbles SS, and you are right...those numbers WERE all over the place before you got it under control. Definitely gives me hope. Onyx and I started out on too high a dose, which made her numbers drop to the low 100's right away, but now, 12 days later, there's not much change at all. It's frustrating to say the least. But no matter what, I'll do what it takes to make her better.

As far as the food-change-battle I'm experiencing--I did try mixing the wet and dry together--but I didn't try the pixie dust thing. I'll try that as well. Wendy suggested making little balls of mixed food, but so far she won't touch them either. My civie, Klepto, LOVES the wet now and won't go near the dry. From reading posts, I know tons of people have trouble with this, so I'm sure it will eventually work out. I just want her switched before her numbers get much lower, where it would seriously affect dosing. I shouldn't complain though about the food issues, because she is absolutely amazing with tests and shots. No joke, when she sees me pull out the little bag, she comes to sit down beside me and starts sucking her paw while I get it ready. She probably would have been difficult if I tried to restrain her or hold her down to do it. But since I started doing it with her in her "comfy spots", just gently holding the ear and nothing else, she instantly accepted it well. YAY!!!!

So for the rest of the night, I'll continuing trying the balls and pixie dust.

Thanks again, Kat.

:smile:
 
I do think the dry food is effecting Onyx's numbers. Dry food takes forever to be metabolized.

People are going to be shocked to hear me say this but, I don't think you need to be testing as much as you are. Getting a daily curve is a lot of testing, especially when the numbers are in a higher range. Barring any dramatic change, I think increasing tomorrow seems like a good plan.

FWIW, many cats sit in high numbers until they hit their dose. Then, things start to change. You might want to look at Charm's SS.
 
Hi Sienne.

Yeah, I haven't wanted to test her so much, but I've been desperate to figure out what her nadir is...which needless to say, I still haven't, even with all the tests. Is it normal for her low point to be different every single day?

But I'm vert glad to hear you say I don't need to test so much, because I was afraid it wasn't enough. I see so many people testing hours back to back, so I was afraid I was still missing a lot of data. But I will give her a break for a few days, with only the normal tests. My fingers are crossed that the dose change tomorrow will start to bring her numbers down. I'm so tired of seeing her lay around like she lost her best friend. It's killing me. :sad:

I'll go check out Charm's SS now.

Thanks for the input, Sienne.

:smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top