8/1 Michael AMPS 142 +4 272 PMPS 296 +2 227

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/1 Michael AMPS 142

hi paula! good morning!

Michael's off to a perfect start for his day - looks great.

i just wanted to say don't worry about not knowing that punkin had passed away. he had a wonderful life with us and he didn't die from diabetes - probably cancer. there's no way you would know and i wouldn't expect you to, or be offended that you didn't. the (ga) after a kitty's name means that they've "gone ahead" in the lingo of this forum. most of the people who post still have diabetic cats, but you'll see the (ga) here and there. I've stuck around to help people who are still in the trenches with a diabetic kitty. Once you've done it, you never forget how hard it is at the beginning.

Can't wait to see what Michael does today - he's looking good.
 
Re: 8/1 Michael AMPS 142 +4 272

Julie, you are amazing!
Sticking around to help us is wonderful! We need you. You are right, this is very very hard.
I just tested +4 272. so much for the blues. grrr. When are these #'s ever going to be in a safe range? I guess I need to put on my patient pants. They are very pretty. They match M's SS. (LoL)
Paula (Michael's Mom)
 
Re: 8/1 Michael AMPS 142 +4 272

thanks paula, but i'm not amazing. i just have an extra big soft spot in my heart for these diabetic cats. You'll find there are others here that help out whose cats are in remission (Sandy, who posted above, has had BK in remission now for several years) as well as me. Other people taught us and helped us help our cats, and we're just paying it back.

Michael is starting a bounce. I can see that because he's gone up from amps to +4 a fairly significant amount at a time in the cycle when we would've expected him to have a gentle curve down. From there, I'm looking backwards on the spreadsheet to see what caused the bounce. Let's look at last night's cycle.

He began last night's cycle at 231 and went to +2/135. That was a giant red flag for us! too bad no one caught it to call your attention to it.

The +2 is a great test to get because in many cats, it can "forecast" what's going to happen in the rest of the cycle.

If the +2 is higher than the preshot, like Michael's no doubt was this morning, that tells us that he might be headed off in a bounce.
If the +2 is about the same as the preshot, that signals a "normal active" Lantus cycle where the BGs are going to gradually decline until somewhere midcycle, then rise to the next preshot.

But if the +2 is significantly less than the preshot - that's a red flag. That tells us that the cat's BGs are dropping at a fast speed and you've got to pay extra attention to that cycle. If anyone experienced had caught that last night, we'd have suggested you get a +3 and probably give him some food to slow him down.

So looking at this morning and last night on the spreadsheet, I can guess that he either went into some green numbers last night, or the speed of the drop alone was enough to cause the bounce. I suspect both were at play in causing today's bounce.

As cats get used to normal numbers, their bouncing will decrease. It stops going so high and will decrease in length. So it's lessening in both duration and intensity. We'll see how long Michael holds this bounce and how high it goes. It may last as long as 3 days from last night, but it may clear sooner too. You'll know it clears when he's back into green numbers again.

In the meantime, just keep holding this dose. Does that all make sense? Ask if it's muddy. I'm a teacher and I can't help but explain all the why's! :lol:
 
Re: 8/1 Michael AMPS 142 +4 272

Julie,
Thanks for all the info. It's still confusing but l'm getting there. What if never hits the greens and goes back to the blues?
Does that mean the bounce cleared?
Paula
 
Re: 8/1 Michael AMPS 142 +4 272

it might. i'd look at last night and count forward 3 nights - so thru Sunday night's cycle. I found it hard to know when a bounce cleared (everything about bounces was confusing for me for several months, lol) because sometimes while still in a bounce, the cat can bobble around.

just using an example, if he gets to 325 tonight, then tomorrow he comes down to 250, goes back up to 330 tomorrow at pmps - that's all still in the same bounce. 250 wouldn't be a bounce-clearing numbers. if Saturday night he gets down to 120, i'd say that could very well be the end of the bounce. Just kinda depends on the context.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top