Re: 8/1 Michael AMPS 142 +4 272
thanks paula, but i'm not amazing. i just have an extra big soft spot in my heart for these diabetic cats. You'll find there are others here that help out whose cats are in remission (Sandy, who posted above, has had BK in remission now for several years) as well as me. Other people taught us and helped us help our cats, and we're just paying it back.
Michael is starting a bounce. I can see that because he's gone up from amps to +4 a fairly significant amount at a time in the cycle when we would've expected him to have a gentle curve down. From there, I'm looking backwards on the spreadsheet to see what caused the bounce. Let's look at last night's cycle.
He began last night's cycle at 231 and went to +2/135. That was a giant red flag for us! too bad no one caught it to call your attention to it.
The +2 is a great test to get because in many cats, it can "forecast" what's going to happen in the rest of the cycle.
If the +2 is higher than the preshot, like Michael's no doubt was this morning, that tells us that he might be headed off in a bounce.
If the +2 is about the same as the preshot, that signals a "normal active" Lantus cycle where the BGs are going to gradually decline until somewhere midcycle, then rise to the next preshot.
But if the +2 is significantly less than the preshot - that's a red flag. That tells us that the cat's BGs are dropping at a fast speed and you've got to pay extra attention to that cycle. If anyone experienced had caught that last night, we'd have suggested you get a +3 and probably give him some food to slow him down.
So looking at this morning and last night on the spreadsheet, I can guess that he either went into some green numbers last night, or the speed of the drop alone was enough to cause the bounce. I suspect both were at play in causing today's bounce.
As cats get used to normal numbers, their bouncing will decrease. It stops going so high and will decrease in length. So it's lessening in both duration and intensity. We'll see how long Michael holds this bounce and how high it goes. It may last as long as 3 days from last night, but it may clear sooner too. You'll know it clears when he's back into green numbers again.
In the meantime, just keep holding this dose. Does that all make sense? Ask if it's muddy. I'm a teacher and I can't help but explain all the why's! :lol: