8/1 Max AMPS 322 +2 512 +5 543 PMPS 510 +2 463 +4 374

Good morning, here the link to your condo from yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...439-8-459-pmps-488-2-385.250658/#post-2828204
It's great to read that Max was playing a little! I hope he continues to improve. Numbers are important, of course, but our kitties are more than just their numbers so we often ask about "five P's": playing, purring, preening, peeing and pooping:).

I hope you and Max have a wonderful day!
 
Not sure what happened with that +2 :( unless it’s because I didn’t put his Gabapentin in his food this morning and he was hurting??? He didn’t seem like he was uncomfortable though. He ate FF chicken and liver pate, the whole can with added water. (He always eats his whole can) Anyway, just gave him his Gabapentin. Hmmmm…
 
I don’t know what’s going on today with the 500s.
He's bouncing from last night's numbers. One of two things happened, or both. Bounces can happen from steep drops (he did drop 100 points to +2 last night), or numbers lower than they are used to. The +2 test on Lantus is a good one to get. If it's quite a bit lower than the preshot (as it was), then that's the sign of a more active cycle and a good time to get a later test that cycle. So I'd guess he got lower, perhaps to the yellows? Regardless, not low enough to stave off that increase Marje mentioned last night. I think you could try 6.5 units next.
 
He's bouncing from last night's numbers. One of two things happened, or both. Bounces can happen from steep drops (he did drop 100 points to +2 last night), or numbers lower than they are used to. The +2 test on Lantus is a good one to get. If it's quite a bit lower than the preshot (as it was), then that's the sign of a more active cycle and a good time to get a later test that cycle. So I'd guess he got lower, perhaps to the yellows? Regardless, not low enough to stave off that increase Marje mentioned last night. I think you could try 6.5 units next.
@Wendy&Neko okay that makes sense although I never would have thought of that. Is it best to increase tonight or can I wait until the morning when I can test him in better increments?
 
Not sure what happened with that +2 :( unless it’s because I didn’t put his Gabapentin in his food this morning and he was hurting??? He didn’t seem like he was uncomfortable though. He ate FF chicken and liver pate, the whole can with added water. (He always eats his whole can) Anyway, just gave him his Gabapentin. Hmmmm…
Glad to hear he is eating well and not acting uncomfortable. Wendy beat me to the increase advice but I’m glad she checked in. Good luck with the new dose!
 
Is it best to increase tonight or can I wait until the morning when I can test him in better increments?
It's really hard to tell at this point. Some cats react with action on the first cycle of an increase, some wait until cycle 4-5. Your job is to gather data and figure out how Max reacts. The other thing, he's just starting a bounce, so at this point in time, it probably doesn't matter when you increase. A one cycle delay is not a big deal if you want to wait.
 
It's really hard to tell at this point. Some cats react with action on the first cycle of an increase, some wait until cycle 4-5. Your job is to gather data and figure out how Max reacts. The other thing, he's just starting a bounce, so at this point in time, it probably doesn't matter when you increase. A one cycle delay is not a big deal if you want to wait.
Thanks @Wendy&Neko I will probably just wait until the morning when I can monitor better.
 
Thanks Marje. Thanks for y’all checking in on him!
You’re welcome. I just saw your question about when to increase so we must have cross- posted. I also see Wendy responded :) I always found it easier to increase in the morning cycle for the reason you mention…being awake to test:)
 
Back
Top