? 8/1 Loki AMPS 324 +6 327

Baer & Loki

Member Since 2020
Last condo

Super upset. He was doing pretty good for a while and now for almost a month it’s been terrible. I guess I’ll try to get other readings than his usual +6 because on my chart it’s like he’s nearly flat all day, or gets worse after lunch. Trying to wait for a day he doesn’t throw up breakfast (he usually eats too fast [even if I give him small spaced out portions, he gobbles up his sister’s dish] + hairball comes out with it) to do a proper curve because I know being sick can influence their numbers. I don’t know if I should increase up to 2.5 just yet? I’m just bummed that he WAS doing good on 1.75 and then everything changed in a day. I know there’s rarely rhyme or reason to FD but still :(
 
I would increase - it's not pretty on this dose. Do you might putting "TR" in your signature - I think that's what you are following? If so, a dose shouldn't be held more than 8 cycles if all you are seeing is the very odd high blue. If you hold a dose too long, glucose toxicity develops, which basically means they get used to higher numbers and it's harder to get them down to better numbers. I'd also encourage you to always get a before bed test - so many cats are sneaky and drop down at night. He was bouncing on the 29th, which always make me ask how low he was going the nights of the 26-28th.

Mixing up the test times somewhere in that +4 to +7 range is a good idea. I've seen some cat nadir as early as +2, and mine liked to nadir around +7=+9 when on Lantus. And it's not always the same time each cycle. Bounce breaking cycles the nadirs tend to be later, as you saw on the AM of the 30th.
 
Last edited:
...He was bouncing on the 29th, which always make me ask how low he was going the nights of the 26-28th.

...Bounce breaking cycles the nadirs tend to be later, as you saw on the AM of the 30th.

Yeah I was wondering that too, I was thinking maybe I missed low numbers. I’ll increase tomorrow and try to get some more varied readings. Thank you!
 
I was wondering why if you're following TR that you didn't increase after 6 cycles and not seeing any nadirs below 200? Did I miss something - highly possible since I don't get to follow all the kitties due to work.

Thanks!
 
I was wondering why if you're following TR that you didn't increase after 6 cycles and not seeing any nadirs below 200? Did I miss something - highly possible since I don't get to follow all the kitties due to work.

Thanks!

My logic is dumb but it made sense to me at the time. I didn’t want to jump to increase after the first initial 6 cycles because he had a bad day of throwing up on the 23rd and wasn’t sure if I should take those numbers as “typical”, but then I missed those three nights of checks because I wasn’t feeling well anyway and thought maybe I missed low numbers. I knew I wasn’t going to be able to stay awake past 9pm so was worried to increase without being sure I’d be able to check. After that, I was trying to wait to see 6 cycles without him throwing up food (and getting at least 1 night number) but Loki is not on board with that idea.
 
Back
Top