8/1 Leo PMPS 349

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
7/30 Condo
Hi LL,

So Leo has been all stinky pinky the last 3 cycles, i raised his dose by 1.0 unit this morning in hopes he would come down.....nope he's stayed pink today. I notice Leo is acting depressed and looks horrible this morning, then just before lunch i notice him trying to crawl underneath my bed which is something he NEVER does, he's been sleeping allll morning too. I got really worried and gave him a prednisolone in case this is SRT related, i posted all of this on the feline acro group on Facebook and a few people told me i should phone CSU and talk to Dr. Timian about it. Within an hour of giving pred he came out of my bedroom and meowed a few times and rolled around with his nanners, then went right back to sleep. He's eating great today so i'm pretty sure its not another pancreatitis attack.

Dr. Timian says this sounds related to post SRT, and that its quite possible we are dealing with brain inflammation, he should start feeling a little bit better within a few hours of giving the pred and he should be completely back to normal within 24 hours of giving it, also she said its safe to give bupe as well, which i did (gave him 2mls), if he's not 100% by tomorrow then we might be dealing with something else and will have to go and see a vet. I am worried sick about my boy. :cry: But since giving the pred and bupe he wanted to go outside and that's where we are right now, he's stalking bugs in the grass.

I know pred can raise BG's, but by how much? And how long will he stay high for? I'm wondering if i should increase him again tonight to counteract the pred.

I was due to go back to work tomorrow but i've called and booked 1 more day of holidays so i can stay with Leo until Friday morning, we need some healing vines from LL that this is just a temporary glitch and Leo is back to normal within a few days.
 
Re: 8/1 Leo AMPS 335, +4 310, +6 310 & Q about pred

LeoBaby - extra scratches and headbutts....I'm sorry things are a bit silly while your body is adjusting. I can imagine how I would feel too. Another extra scratch...

HUG Tracy - Leo's got a new namesake...we were 'blessed' with a beautiful boy by an uncaring renter that left him last week. Reminds me of your Leo but more orinch...prayers for you ALL!
 
Re: 8/1 Leo AMPS 335, +4 310, +6 310 & Q about pred

Hi Tracy, sending some healing vines to Leo. It sounds like he's feeling some better after taking the prednisolone. The bupe should help, too. Glad you took another day to be with Leo and monior.
Sounds positive with stalking the bugs, too! Hugs.
 
Re: 8/1 Leo AMPS 335, +4 310, +6 310 & Q about pred

Neko and I are sending some brain inflammation reducing vines and scritches over the Leo. How much pred did you give him? Has he had bupe before? Going outside and stalking bugs sounds positive. Both my cats slept most of the morning too.
 
Re: 8/1 Leo AMPS 335, +4 310, +6 310 & Q about pred

Hi Tracy ... and poor little Leo!

Sorry you're not feeling well buddy! Good thing your mama's on top of it and can take you in if she needs to! Hoping it's nothing serious. Sending healing SRT vines to him and others to you!!!

Lu & Grayson
 
Re: 8/1 Leo AMPS 335, +4 310, +6 310 & Q about pred

Sending lots of healing vines your way!! Poor guy. As you know, Tarragon is on pred long term. I'm not sure how it will effect Leo but we have had to increase by about 1 U to make up for it. Since you are just giving one occasionally I would just keep with the 6 cycles.

I'm glad you get to stay another day. Hugs!!
 
Re: 8/1 Leo PMPS 349 & Q about pred

Oh I was hoping you would answer my question Melissa! I knew Tarragon was on pred. Leo got 5 mg of it today.

He's feeling much better already :-D back to his normal kitty self, hopefully we won't have to give many more doses of it.

Thanks ladies for the healing vines, they worked! ;-)
 
Re: 8/1 Leo PMPS 349 & Q about pred

I'm SO glad to hear Leo is feeling better, but I'm still sending my vines, thoughts, and prayers your way, too!!!
 
Re: 8/1 Leo PMPS 349 & Q about pred

If it is just the one dose, I wouldn't worry too much about it. Just watch his BGs like you always do anyway and don't be surprised by a slight rise. Tarragon is taking 5 mg every other day and sometimes every day depending. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/1 Leo PMPS 349 & Q about pred

(((Tracy)))
I don't think there's the kind of relationship between pred and BG that you're implying -- or at least that's how I'm understanding your question. It's not like 1 mg of pred will raise BG 50 points. Some cats have a minimal response to pred while others have a marked response. If you remember Joyce's Tuscany, Tuscany really didn't have any response to being on pred. Other cats' numbers rise. I think you're just going to have to see how Leo responds.

You did a great job of figuring out what the issue was and acting accordingly. Keep in mind that inflammation and just not feeling well are probably contributing to Leo's higher numbers. Especially if he's not going to be on the pred for more than a few days, as Leo feels better, his numbers will more than likely come down. On the other hand, if you see his numbers rising on the pred, adjust the insulin accordingly. Like with any inflammation or steroid, the insulin can be worked around the numbers.

How long does Dr. Timian suggest Leo remain on the pred? If it's for more than a few doses, he'll need to be tapered off gradually.
 
Re: 8/1 Leo PMPS 349 & Q about pred

Tracy, I have nothing intelligent to say :roll: I just wanted to say "hello" to you and Leo, and let you know I care. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/1 Leo PMPS 349 & Q about pred

Awww thanks everyone for the kind responses.

From what i understood from Dr. Timian, anything more than 5 days of pred needs tapering off. She is going to phone me tomorrow morning to find out how Leo is feeling and i guess she'll let me know if we should continue with the pred or not.

He's eaten a ton of food for supper and has gone outside for a tour around the yard, he's feeling better! :-D
 
It can also increase thirst/drinking and the resulting need to pee. Of course, in a diabetic cat that's not always obvious. Glad to hear it seems to be working.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top