8/1 Joplin PMPS: 124, +3: 66---advice please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cherylockholmes

Member Since 2013
Here is my previous thread from today:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=101288

I'm afraid to go to sleep tonight! Just tested at 66, and I fed him some LC food. As I said in my previous post, I believe it was the switch to Wellness that is causing him to finally have low numbers. If you look at his chart, this is by far the lowest he has EVER been, a day after switching from a very high protein food, to a higher fat, moderate protein food. I just fed him some after this latest 66 reading. At what number would he be considered TOO low? I know I've asked this before, but I forget!! I'm afraid he's going to fall lower in the middle of the night....something tells me I won't be getting much sleep. ~O)
 
If Joplin's numbers drop below 50, he gets a dose reduction. You don't want him to drop too much below 40 (although my cat has as have many kitties here and there have been no ill effects).

I would test at +3.5 and see where Joplin's numbers are. Right now, these are very safe numbers. You're going to go through a process of testing and feeding. What you feed (i.e., the carb level), will depend on what the numbers tell you.

You might want to take a look at this post on handling low numbers.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
If Joplin's numbers drop below 50, he gets a dose reduction. You don't want him to drop too much below 40 (although my cat has as have many kitties here and there have been no ill effects).

I would test at +3.5 and see where Joplin's numbers are. Right now, these are very safe numbers. You're going to go through a process of testing and feeding. What you feed (i.e., the carb level), will depend on what the numbers tell you.

You might want to take a look at this post on handling low numbers.

Thanks for setting my mind at ease! What's considered the "perfect" range? Is it more the green (40-99) or the blue (100-199)?
 
It really depends on what you mean by "perfect." If you're aiming for remission, you want to see your kitty in the 50 - 120 range (i.e., normal BG levels). For a longer term diabetic where tight regulation is the goal, below renal threshold is good. Staying below roughly 220 (since renal threshold varies from cat to cat) limits any end organ damage.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
It really depends on what you mean by "perfect." If you're aiming for remission, you want to see your kitty in the 50 - 120 range (i.e., normal BG levels). For a longer term diabetic where tight regulation is the goal, below renal threshold is good. Staying below roughly 220 (since renal threshold varies from cat to cat) limits any end organ damage.

Remission is definitely what I'm aiming for. Thank you for all of your help and guidance. Things are finally looking up! :-D
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I'd say they're looking great! You might want to give Joplin a bit of LC food to keep the surf going.

That's what I've been doing. A question for you....i posted this on the main board, but in case you don't see it....he's still peeing around the house :( I thought the reason for the peeing was that the high BG was making him feel "out of it", but I just tested him at 62, and he proceeded to pee all over my desk :( In your experience, or from what you've heard from other people, do you have any idea when that will start to get better? I'd hate to have to seclude him from all the other cats and keep him in one room all alone, but I'm getting to that point because he's just destroying my home :(
 
How many kitties and litter boxes do you have?
 
They can just get into a bad habit and continue peeing in the wrong places. Usually it's because of uti's or cystitis when it's a medical problem but once the smell is there , they will just keep coming back and adding to it.

You can google ways to get the smell out...
I've had to do that with some of my wood floors ( my son's cat was having "accidents" in his room before she went GA)
 
rhiannon and shadow said:
They can just get into a bad habit and continue peeing in the wrong places. Usually it's because of uti's or cystitis when it's a medical problem but once the smell is there , they will just keep coming back and adding to it.

You can google ways to get the smell out...
I've had to do that with some of my wood floors ( my son's cat was having "accidents" in his room before she went GA)

I wouldn't know where to begin. I live in a large house, and he doesn't go back to the same spot to pee...it's just wherever he happens to be at the time ::sigh::. Don't get me wrong, it seems to be happening LESS with these low numbers (he WILL make trips to the litter room) but not EVERY time he has to pee. I have a vet appt. on Tues. and will have him checked for cystitis and UTI, but I highly doubt that's the case because he pees in large amounts, and doesn't appear to be straining in any way, or sit in the box constantly like my other cat with cystitis did. He doesn't seem in pain at all. Regarding the question about litter boxes, I have 7 cats, and a room with 5 boxes. They're scooped 2x a day, and one of the boxes is a big bin (almost the size of 2 large boxes combined), so he does have ample options!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top