? 8/1 Ivy AMPS 276, +1 400, +4 263, +5 251,PMPS 341, +3.75 99, +4 55 Fast Drop Per Cycle REDUCE DOSE?

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...140-5-106-6-96-libre-11-198-fast-drop.280088/
Is Ivy’s dose too high for her? She seems to be dropping fast at most cycles. She's starting to clear bounces by the next cycle (is this good?)

She stayed "lower" for her, all last night PM cycle on 2.5 u Lantus dose but keeps dropping lower and staying there and I have a hard time bringing her up with carbs.( I was up all night last night feeding small snacks through the night). She seems to hit her nadir between +3 to +6, which is midnight for me.

I did give 1/2 dose at PMPS 2 days ago, she was dropping very fast at PMPS (so that messed with her depot I am sure)

It seems like she may need a reduction because of the constant drops most cycles, but hasn’t technically earned it on SLGS with a verified drop under 90. (Am I reading the data correctly??)
Do you agree?

The past few PM cycles, She drops in 100s and under 100 on Libre for hours at a stretch.
When cross check, ear prick on Contour Next meter, she's in low to mid 100s.
Although, Sometimes lately she's earned reduction under 90 with SLGS.

*Please advise if I should lower her dose to 2.25 or not. Thanks!

@Bron and Sheba (GA) @Wendy&Neko @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom
 
Her bg is not too low. Clearing bounces quickly is good. Remember normal bg is 50-100. If you don’t see a under 90 she has not earned a reduction.
 
I'm asking the same thing!!! She was on 8U Lantas with vet saying put her up to 10U! 3 meals later I did my first Preshot test and she was going into a hypo. She's at 2.25U and regularly in the green zone so I've been putting it down. A muddled weekend due to family crisis meant I forgot shots or tested late but I think she needs to go down again.
On SLGS I think we're supposed to decrease the dose after 2 drops so I need to know the same thing!!! When do we drop the dose? By how much and when are they in remission?
 
Her bg is not too low. Clearing bounces quickly is good. Remember normal bg is 50-100. If you don’t see a under 90 she has not earned a reduction.

9669"]Her bg is not too low. Clearing bounces quickly is good. Remember normal bg is 50-100. If you don’t see a under 90 she has not earned a reduction.[/QUOTE]
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...140-5-106-6-96-libre-11-198-fast-drop.280088/
Is Ivy’s dose too high for her? She seems to be dropping fast at mosto cycles. She's starting to clear bounces by the next cycle (is this good?)

She stayed "lower" for her, all last night PM cycle on 2.5 u Lantus dose but keeps dropping lower and staying there and I have a hard time bringing her up with carbs.( I was up all night last night feeding small snacks through the night). She seems to hit her nadir between +3 to +6, which is midnight for me.

I did give 1/2 dose at PMPS 2 days ago, she was dropping very fast at PMPS (so that messed with her depot I am sure)

It seems like she may need a reduction because of the constant drops most cycles, but hasn’t technically earned it on SLGS with a verified drop under 90. (Am I reading the data correctly??)
Do you agree?

The past few PM cycles, She drops in 100s and under 100 on Libre for hours at a stretch.
When cross check, ear prick on Contour Next meter, she's in low to mid 100s.
Although, Sometimes lately she's earned reduction under 90 with SLGS.

*Please advise if I should lower her dose to 2.25 or not. Thanks!

@Bron and Sheba (GA) @Wendy&Neko @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom
 
Her bg is not too low. Clearing bounces quickly is good. Remember normal bg is 50-100. If you don’t see a under 90 she has not earned a reduction.
I know her BG isn't too low, I'm just concerned because she's dropping over 100 points so fast into the lower ranges after she's bounced up high.
She clears it very quickly now, like the next cycle, so she's always free-falling, fast.
Just wanted to be sure I wasn't missing something. Thanks @tiffmaxee
 
Update: In pm cycle now. Watching bg drop on her Libre.
Repeating same pattern as the last 3 nights in a row. Dropping /diving from Lantus onset at +2 and after. Will likely go down from here all night long.

I’m still thinking she needs a reduction because she dives at onset and continues diving all night long (and sometimes am cycles). I know she should earn a reduction under 90 bg on SLGS, but this pattern can’t be good. (I check on Contour meter/ ear prick low bgs).

I will need to stay up with her all night long feeding and testing to keep her from going too low.
This is not sustainable to get no sleep all night, every night. I’m exhausted.

Shouldn't she be at a dose where she’s not diving at every pm cycle to lower numbers? Isn’t the goal to get to a flat(ish) Lantus cycle with gentle curves up and down?

She’s now clearing bounces by the next cycle to another low drop.

Please advise. Thanks.
@tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom @Suzanne & Darcy @Angela & Cleo
 
upload_2023-8-1_21-35-13.jpeg
upload_2023-8-1_21-35-13.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-8-1_21-35-13.jpeg
    upload_2023-8-1_21-35-13.jpeg
    20.4 KB · Views: 141
Hi Staci, I would not reduce unless you get a BG under 90.

If you feel strongly about dosing outside the SLGS method as written here in FDMB stickies, you can always do custom dosing. There are a few members who are custom dosing and post daily condos. If you do custom dosing, there isn't much dosing help members can give.
 
Hi Staci, I would not reduce unless you get a BG under 90.

If you feel strongly about dosing outside the SLGS method as written here in FDMB stickies, you can always do custom dosing. There are a few members who are custom dosing and post daily condos. If you do custom dosing, there isn't much dosing help members can give.
How do you even do custom dosing? I’m not aware. Does that mean you can’t post for help? @Angela & Cleo
 
If you choose to do custom dosing you can choose when to increase or decrease. We here give dosing advice based upon our two methods. You can also choose to continue to follow SLGS but skip or take a one time reduction at any point. You hold the syringe and she’s your cat. If you reduce it’s for you and not really for Ivy as I see it. I agree with Angela about nit reducing unless under 90, especially when basing your decision on Libre readings.
 
How do you even do custom dosing? I’m not aware. Does that mean you can’t post for help? @Angela & Cleo
You are the caregiver and you hold the syringe. The SLGS method has reductions earned at 90.
I get the impression (and correct me if I am misreading your posts :)) that you want to reduce the dose for reasons other than what's in the stickies.
Some members I've seen custom dosing may be following their Vet's advice or maybe have a different reduction point or maybe a sliding scale. Of course you can continue to post for help. Unfortunately though many members will be unable to help with dosing if you decide to custom.
 
You are the caregiver and you hold the syringe. The SLGS method has reductions earned at 90.
I get the impression (and correct me if I am misreading your posts :)) that you want to reduce the dose for reasons other than what's in the stickies.
Some members I've seen custom dosing may be following their Vet's advice or maybe have a different reduction point or maybe a sliding scale. Of course you can continue to post for help. Unfortunately though many members will be unable to help with dosing if you decide to custom.
Thanks Angela and @tiffmaxee Elise. I’d like to continue to follow SLGS. And while I watch her trends on Libre, I do ear prick with the Contour when she’s low, as you know.

Ivy seems to be in a new phase recently with very fast bounce break clearing and very sharp drops at onset which go on for many hours, all night long.

It seems like she may do better without all the sharp low drops each night. I thought a reduction would level her out a bit.

(Plus, It just seems impossible to give proper care with no sleep).

Does this new trend of fast drops and fast bounce clears seem normal in her journey? Should it ease up???

Anything else I can do to reduce them?
I am feeding snacks to try to reduce step drops but it doesn’t seem to stop them. She’s not very carb sensitive.

Thanks for your input.
 
Fast bounce clearing is a good thing. She has extra momentum when that happens. I know you feed a special diet so when that happens try adding karo or honey to her food. Start small and add a little more until you find the amount that slows her down is my suggestion.
 
Fast bounce clearing is a good thing. She has extra momentum when that happens. I know you feed a special diet so when that happens try adding karo or honey to her food. Start small and add a little more until you find the amount that slows her down is my suggestion.
Interesting. Would I add the karo to her main preshot meal, or just the snacks and/or when she’s dropping?
 
You are the caregiver and you hold the syringe. The SLGS method has reductions earned at 90.
I get the impression (and correct me if I am misreading your posts :)) that you want to reduce the dose for reasons other than what's in the stickies.
Some members I've seen custom dosing may be following their Vet's advice or maybe have a different reduction point or maybe a sliding scale. Of course you can continue to post for help. Unfortunately though many members will be unable to help with dosing if you decide to custom.
Here’s another question, how will this cycle ever end if nothing changes? I mean if I don’t reduce her dose, then she keeps bouncing high, then she repeats the drop at pm +2 for the pm cycle again and again. how do we break this cycle?
@Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee
 
The more time spent in more normal numbers the less bouncing. Big drops can cause bouncing as well as lower bg than a cat feels normal which is why feeding the curve helps. Lowering the dose will NOT HELP most cats. Every cat is different. Some cats bounce all the way to going otj.
 
Back
Top