8/1 ELIAN - ambg 98

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
So glad the board is back! So...... Elian's numbers have been really good the past week or more. The last few days I've had to stall him because he's been low. His usual shot times are 9:30 am/pm but 2 nights ago he was at 67 - didn't shoot until 1 am and didn't give full dose. Yesterday he went as low as 45 and I didn't shoot until 12:33 am and reduced from 2.25 to 2u. Now it's 12:30 pm and he's only at 98 - too low to shoot in my opinion yet he's sitting here waiting for it! Not sure what I should be doing and how/if we'll get back on schedule. I'm stalling now so it may be 1:00 before he gets a shot. Or should I skip all together and go back to regular time tonight? Or does time not matter? I would hate for him to go sky high again after doing so well lately. Any and all help is appreciated. Will check in frequently for replies - for some reason I'm not receiving notifications of responses any more.
 
Re: 8/1 ELIAN - ambg 98 need advice please

Congratulations on the dose reduction, yesterday. And yes, the timing of the doses matters. Lantus works best if given as close to 12 hours apart as possible. Because of the depot, a late shot acts like a dose reduction and an early shot acts like a dose increase.

It's up to you. You could skip this shot and get back to your preferred shot schedule. He is doing really well lately, though, and if he rises in the next 30 minutes or so, it would be good if you could give him his full dose as long as you have supplies and will be home to monitor him. To have the least effect on the BGs and insulin depot, you could change your shot schedule in 15 minutes increments per cycle, or by 30 minutes once per day.

You're doing a good job.
 
Re: 8/1 ELIAN - ambg 98 need advice please

Susie

IMHO, for the length of time you've been doing this....you could have shot all those numbers on time. You do a GREAT job of testing and you know how to handle low numbers.

If it were me, I'd not stall any more. I'd shoot this 98 with 2u and get a +1 and +2. On 5/2, you shot an 84 with 2u. I am not able to stay with you this morning but just refresh your memory on "Handling Low Numbers"...it's linked in my SS. If you need help, post.

You can do this!!! He is looking phenomenal....I'm so happy for you.

Good luck!
 
Re: 8/1 ELIAN - ambg 98 need advice please

Actually I didn't shoot the 84 on 5/2 - I posted below it that I stalked an hour and he was up to 141. I think the lowest I ever shot was somewhere around 114. Don't recall offhand and I have to run out the door again. He hasn't been bouncing like he used to which is why I'm afraid to shoot so low. And since I'm in and out all day I worry about him going to low and not catching it! Yep - I'm a worry wart and tend to side with caution. I tested him again and he's currently at 96 from 98. So I think I will continue testing when I come back home and if he doesn't shoot up then I will pretend he got a fur shot and get back on schedule tonight. Thanks for your responses - much appreciated.

PS Marji - I do know the 12 hrs, going back by 15 minutes, etc. but I meant that since we are now 3+ hrs off of our routine am I better off staying at this time; slowly moving back; or skipping a shot and going right back to our regular time. I'm going to let his numbers today dictate, I guess. He's still too low to shoot.
 
Re: 8/1 ELIAN - ambg 98 need advice please

If your goal is to try to get Elian into remission, then you MUST shoot these lower numbers. And honestly these are not unshootable numbers. These are just the kind of numbers you should give insulin for.

If you look at Maui's spreadsheet, you will see I shot these and lower numbers and she is 4+ years in remission.

Since you are 3 hours late in shooting, start over at PM time and give insulin - if he's 50 or below, maybe don't give insulin, but if he's low 100's if this were my cat, I'd give insulin.
 
Good luck with your next chance at shooting low. There is something different about shooting green, but there really shouldn't be. I find myself shooting something like 106 without a pause. But soon as I see green, I stop and think. But a 98 is within 10% of that 106 so all within meter variance.

Elian's SS is looking so much better the last week. :-D
 
I guess I'm scared because all of a sudden he's going so low and I'm afraid he'll get dangerously low. He's always been so ridiculously high it's taking time to get used to him being so low. We are back on track time-wise and he only went up to 162 so I'm very happy. Funny - I used to be happy when that was his low after his sky high numbers. Hopefully he'll continue to do well. Thanks for the encouraging pep talks. I will try not to hesitate when he's low at shot time.
 
Susie:

You need to remember that when Elian nose dives from a high number it's not the same as shooting a low number. With a pre-shot of 98, he's not going to dro[ 200 or 300 points. As long as you're monitoring, have strips and HC, you are in control of the numbers.
 
Thanks. It will be scary but I will do it. I'm just so pleased that his little body has finally decided to cooperate as well as he does - he still amazes me with every test and every shot - he walks right over, lays down and waits for me to finish. Amazing. I feel so lucky. I just hope his good numbers continue!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top