8/1 callie amps=302 + 5 =309 ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

calliecat an marty

Member Since 2011
hello eveyone!

well were not singing the blues today, does anyone have an thought as to what is going on ?? I know I didn't give a fur shot , I check this real close and I rub her for a while to make sure I don't feel anything wet, she didn't get any extra food and she hadn't had anything to eat since 8 am this morning , I checked her at 1:30 pm and then fed her but she didn't eat very much, she seems to be fine , and neg on keytones ! let me know what ya think.

8/1 amps = 302

+ 5 = 309

+9 = 311

pmps = 314
 
You said she hasn't eaten well today? I'm still trying to wrap my head around her SS. Today she's "flat", no dip, no climb.

Carl
 
The last two days, you got decent curves. Before that, you hadn't had one since the 23rd when she was only on .5 units.

Y'all, does this indicate 1u is too high? Is kitty's liver keeping the BG steady?
I'm still trying to figure out how that all works....

Carl
 
My guess is that this is a bounce from the 130 yesterday, she hasn't been that low since you started.

I would stay with 1 unit and let the bounce clear by itself in a few cycles.

You are doing so great.
 
Awesome,
Every day I learn a little bit more.
I would have advised lowering the dose. Glad Robin showed up.
Carl
 
Some days are just a bad day. I agree stick with the dose a little longer and see where it goes. If you drop down to a lower +12 after a day like that, that is one sign the dose is too high. If it keeps trending up like today, then not so much, though it's hard to say.

The reason I wouldn't go in the direction of lowering the dose is that you just came from there, and there are no signs up to today this dose is too high. Except for today, it's nice U-curves.

It's possible you got some WOW factor at first on this dose - sometimes they will see blues on the first cycle or two and then lose that and you have to raise the dose. I'd still give her another day though and see if tomorrow is better - could be there was some other factor today, stress or something, maybe just 1 wonky cycle.

I don't think it's a reaction to the blues yesterday though - if you got a reaction to that, she should have run high last night, but she didn't she got a dip last night but then not today, so the timing to me doesn't quite add up as a reaction to the 130.

It's hard to say for sure though, that's why I'd stick with the dose a little longer. If the blues don't come back in a day or two, and you don't see clear signs the dose is too high, then I would raise.
 
I remember being told (now don't faint anyone) not to test so much. I not only did preshot tests, but was always pricking poor charlie bear.... my sweet boy, I've been missing him now 2 years on Friday. Okay... back to Callie.... stick with the one unit and do preshots... If you're freaking out... do a +6 ... but try to give her some 'breathing room'... She's being such a good girl, and you're doing such a great job... Hang in there kid.
 
Hi Marty! I've been popping in from Health every so often to see how Callie is doing...and it looks like she's doing better!

When a cat has been in high numbers for a very long time, his/her body gets used to those high numbers and thinks they're normal. Then, when you get down to the numbers you've been seeing that are actually normal, the cat's body *thinks* the numbers are too low and their pancreas will release glucagon, which is the opposite of insulin. The glucagon will tell the liver to release glucose into the bloodstream, and you see higher numbers like these.

Eventually, the cat's body will get used to the normal numbers and realize that they aren't in danger of low blood sugar, and these high numbers after the blues will stop happening. You just have to be patient, and give Callie some time to adjust to the normal blood sugar levels.

There is NO evidence from your data that the dose is too high. You need to stick with it for a while.

I know I'm not a Prozinc user, but these reactions are pretty much the same for both Lantus and Prozinc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top