8/1/15 Lucy AMPS=265 +3=121 +4=59, 41 +5=63 +6=88 +7=108 +9=128 PMPS=337

Status
Not open for further replies.
awesomeness! celebrate that she's getting in to better numbers!

I'd get a +4, then I'd look at how fast she dropped from the 121 to whatever you get at +4.

I'd also feed her 2 teaspoons of regular low carb food right now to help her "surf."
 
That's a pretty fast clip - I'd test again in an hour. Looks like this dose might be doing it's stuff. :cool:
 
You'd better test again at +4 to check if it's still dropping fast, or has slowed, or turned into a surf - fingers crossed for a surf. If she's still dropping we might feed a tsp or two of low carb to try and get her surfng
 
When you get the +4 and figure out how many points per hour she dropped, that will help you figure out when to check her next. Cats don't drop at a constant rate per hour so you can't rely 100% on this method, but i found that it really helped me to know when to test next. If you have any doubt, test earlier rather than later.

Your important number is 50. If she goes below 50, the 40's become your "take action" zone. you'll want to give her a little high carbs and then retest in 15-20 minutes. The Low Numbers sticky has the exact process. Just watch for her going below 50.

You are using a human glucometer, right? I'm not readily finding the name of your glucometer. If it's an Alphatrak, the important number is 68.
 
Thank you Julie, Wendy and Serryn. I will test in an hour :) and yes it is a fast drop for sure. I fed Lucy some low carb food at +3. I have everything on hand if needed if we get a reading below 50. Yes I am using a human glucometer a freestyle lite and I have a second human glucometer a freestyle optium neo which also tests for ketones. I sometimes use both glucometers to confirm a reading if it is a lower or higher reading. I have read the low numbers sticky and have it saved on my computer too.
 
Watch out for the freestyle light meter - many of us have got caught out with that one giving lower readings than it should when the cat is in higher numbers so that we think that they're doing better than they are and don't increase when we should. The wonky readings have also occured in a few humans that have cross tested it against other meters. I think everyone has abandoned them now. I use the optium, the difference in the amount of blood required compared to the lite isn't very significant
 
Thank you Serryn. I do notice when I have compared the freestyle lite and the optium that the optium reads a little higher about 10% higher though occasionally the freestyle lite reads a little higher than the optium. I find I nearly always get a test with the freestyle lite so I have used that in preference to the optium. But now that I am more experienced with testing I can use the optium easily too. I have stayed with the freestyle lite for consistency but maybe I should change back to the optium. I always confirm lower and higher readings with the optium.
 
I will test with both glucometers for the next test. I think it states in the information that comes with the freestyle lite that it might vary in its readings by a certain amount compared to using glucometers which need bigger blood samples like the optium.
 
Based on my own experience and that of others, you'll see the variance more when she's higher so maybe wait until she is and do it then - although of course if you happen to get anough blood this time it's alwasy interesting to see...
 
Based on my own experience and that of others, you'll see the variance more when she's higher so maybe wait until she is and do it then - although of course if you happen to get anough blood this time it's alwasy interesting to see...
Yes I have noticed with the higher readings that the difference is greater than with lower readings so my experience is similar to your's and others' experiences too.
 
I too had the Freestyle Lite, but that was also a couple of years ago, and Neko had horrible high numbers. As one other member who had the Freestyle said, it's close in the low numbers (blues and greens where it counts) and anything above that just means you need to increase the dose.
 
Yes I have noticed with the higher readings that the difference is greater than with lower readings so my experience is similar to your's and others' experiences too.
.

This is true with all meters. I use a Relion Micro and my back up is an Arkray. The can vary by 20 points when in the 200"s but within a few points when under 100. They both uses tiny amount of blood .
 
I gave a quarter of a pouch of Whiskas at +3 so I fed two teaspoons gravy lovers at +4 even though we aren't under 50 I got anxious.
 
The Whiskas seems to have little effect on Lucy's glucose levels so I think it is truly low carb. So I gave a little fancy feast gravy lovers instead. It has happened before that her glucose levels keep dropping with Whiskas.
 
I think that was the right move given that you gave her a fair amount of LC and it didn't seem to slow her up - this will be some good data to get too - to see what she does with the HC
 
I think that was the right move given that you gave her a fair amount of LC and it didn't seem to slow her up - this will be some good data to get too - to see what she does with the HC
Yes I agree Serryn. Thank you. I will test again soon.
 
OK - reduction earned! How much honey did you use? Usually a couple drops is good enough. I'd test again 20 minutes after she finished the food.
 
Well well look who just earned herself a reduction - I'm heading off for lunch now but Wendy's going to keep an eye on you. She's going to want to know - how much HC and how much honey did you give.
 
Hi Wendy. I smeared some honey on Lucy's gums twice so I don't know how much it was. Probably too much. :) And probably too much high carb food too.
 
Whew, let's see what she at in 1/2 hour. Could you do me a favour and update your first post subject line with the latest data. It helps us looking at a glance if someone needs help.
 
Congratulations on the reduction!!

The first time China went below 50, I knew that I was supposed to give Karo, honey or syrup, but nobody told me exactly how much (at the time)...I dumped about a cupful into a bowl and let her at it (I was really surprised that she liked maple syrup!!) Needless to say, she went UP!

I learned later that it was supposed to be 2-3 drops....we all overdue it the first time!!
 
Chris that is funny. Well I didn't go that far with the honey :) and I could tell that Lucy didn't like it. All I know is I have run out of chocolate to soothe my nerves. :) Thank you again.
 
You reduce by .25U.
Thank you Wendy. That is what I thought but thought I should check. I know I should do another test soon and delayed it a few minutes as Lucy looks content at the moment. But I think a tiny amount of one of her favourite fancy feast grilled varieties will make up for the stress of the test. :cat::)
 
You should test every half hour while she's int he 50s or 60s, in case she dips down again. High carb food or honey can wear off in a couple hours and the numbers could drop again.
 
If she wants to eat try adding a drop or two of the honey or karo to a spoon of food. She might like that better.
 
ahem, someone has not updated their spreadsheet and that next test seems to be rather overdue...

The first time China went below 50, I knew that I was supposed to give Karo, honey or syrup, but nobody told me exactly how much (at the time)...I dumped about a cupful into a bowl and let her at it (I was really surprised that she liked maple syrup!!) Needless to say, she went UP!
I learned later that it was supposed to be 2-3 drops....we all overdue it the first time!!
bahahaha, how true!

Chocolate is an essential component of your hypo kit. Make sure you restock!
essential advice!
 
How long since the last test - what time in the cycle are you up to? and have you fed anything since the +4.5 honey and carb?

Wendy - I'm back not sure what time it is there but thinking it must be around bed time for you. I can stay through the rest of the cycle if you want to get some zzzzz
 
Hi Serryn. I just did a test at +6 which was 4.9/88 and I have updated the spreadsheet and the title of my post too.
 
Just had to stop in and say congrats on the reduction- and nice work keeping Lucy safe- great job!! :bighug:

I also have to confess that the very first time Tiger went into the 40's, I am pretty sure I gave her a half cup of Karo syrup on top of Fancy Feast Gravy Lover's- Can you say carb overload!! :oops::oops:
 
Again my apologies for being away from the computer for a while longer than I thought I would be but my sister called and because we had bushfires close to home last night we had some things to discuss about that and some other things too. I didn't want you Wendy and Serryn who have been supporting me and advising to think I just ignored you. It has been a stressful couple of days but it made me think last night that I needed to be more prepared about the things we would need if we had to leave home suddenly in having some supplies ready to go.
 
Just had to stop in and say congrats on the reduction- and nice work keeping Lucy safe- great job!! :bighug:

I also have to confess that the very first time Tiger went into the 40's, I am pretty sure I gave her a half cup of Karo syrup on top of Fancy Feast Gravy Lover's- Can you say carb overload!! :oops::oops:
I can certainly relate to how you felt though I gave a little less honey maybe a teaspoon or two. :)
 
88 is good. You can go longer between tests now. She might bounce due to the numbers lower than she is used to. If she is high at the next shot time, you could shoot the old higher dose one more time before reducing in the AM. We call that shooting through the bounce. It can help them get over the bounce.

Next time this happens, and it will, keep track of the amout of high carb food and/or honey so you can figure out what works for Lucy.

Serryn, I am up for another hour but would be grateful if you could keep an eye on things.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top