Sunny17
Member Since 2018
Hello All!
Astrophe - our male, neutered 18lbs senior cat - was diagnosed eleven days ago with a 382 blood sugar before starting on insulin.
- He was started by the vet on 1U Lantus twice a day. Numbers never went below the 300s.
- After 5 days the vet had us increase the dose to 2U in the AM, and stay at 1U in the PM - we saw only a slight improvement in numbers
- After another 5 days - yesterday - the vet had us increase the dose to 2U in the AM and 2U in the PM. 5 hours after the PM shot, I did a spot check and saw the first low BG number at 174 and we were happy.
But this morning the AMPS went *up* to 427 - which is higher than before we had even started on insulin!
Is this a Somogyi effect? What should we do?!
Please help. We love our furball and are at our wits end. Home testing has been very hard for us, as he hates being pricked, so my apologies for the sparse data in the spreadsheet
_________________________________________
Some other background about Astrophe:
- Has a history of bladder issues. Had to have a stone removed. Eventually had to have a PU surgery.
- Was on a low dose of prednisone (once a week) for arthritis, which we have tapered off and discontinued after the diabetes diagnosis.
- Has been drinking a lot and peeing/leaking indoors and that has not yet resolved. Vet thinks this is due to the diabetes.
- Was a dry food addict. We have switched him to wet food only fancy feast, which he will tolerate, but he won't (yet) eat the low carb versions. Working on it. He still gets dry treats
- Due to work arrival departure hours our dosage isn't every 12 hours. He gets a dose at 7AM and then 5PM. We are working on figuring out how we can get it to exactly 12 hours by adjusting schedules.
Astrophe - our male, neutered 18lbs senior cat - was diagnosed eleven days ago with a 382 blood sugar before starting on insulin.
- He was started by the vet on 1U Lantus twice a day. Numbers never went below the 300s.
- After 5 days the vet had us increase the dose to 2U in the AM, and stay at 1U in the PM - we saw only a slight improvement in numbers
- After another 5 days - yesterday - the vet had us increase the dose to 2U in the AM and 2U in the PM. 5 hours after the PM shot, I did a spot check and saw the first low BG number at 174 and we were happy.
But this morning the AMPS went *up* to 427 - which is higher than before we had even started on insulin!
Is this a Somogyi effect? What should we do?!
Please help. We love our furball and are at our wits end. Home testing has been very hard for us, as he hates being pricked, so my apologies for the sparse data in the spreadsheet
_________________________________________
Some other background about Astrophe:
- Has a history of bladder issues. Had to have a stone removed. Eventually had to have a PU surgery.
- Was on a low dose of prednisone (once a week) for arthritis, which we have tapered off and discontinued after the diabetes diagnosis.
- Has been drinking a lot and peeing/leaking indoors and that has not yet resolved. Vet thinks this is due to the diabetes.
- Was a dry food addict. We have switched him to wet food only fancy feast, which he will tolerate, but he won't (yet) eat the low carb versions. Working on it. He still gets dry treats
- Due to work arrival departure hours our dosage isn't every 12 hours. He gets a dose at 7AM and then 5PM. We are working on figuring out how we can get it to exactly 12 hours by adjusting schedules.