8/06 Morris AMPS 490

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Member Since 2009
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21633

Well, looks like Morris finally found his way to RBC! Hopefully it will be a short visit there!

I was so tired last night when typing my final post for the night, that I neglected to answer some of the questions that were asked in yesterday's condo! Here are those answers:

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
I guess I am a little confused as to why you wanted to hold this dose until after the upcoming tests....As you said, according to the protocol he is obviously deserving of a dosecrease with those numbers...( :lol: usually we are overjoyed when they earn a dosecrease! Well, at least I am LOL)
Because the fructosamine is an average of the past 10-14 days, so I don't want to adjust his dose & have wonky numbers right before that test is done. My vet doesn't think the test is as accurate if I have been adjusting his dose during that time frame.

carolynandlatte said:
I also dont mean to be a smarty or harsh, but Im confused...
There are a great deal of knowledgeable folks who have recommended lower the dose, yes? Based on low numbers and maybe still some difficulty having time to monitor, right? Then you have the protocol that has been researched and studied, spelling out their thoughts. I know you are trying to balance info between the board/vet, which is very wise btw! But, does your vet know or want Morris to be in the 30 and 40's, especially unmonitored?
When Morris was first diagnosed last year, my vet said she would like him to be in the 106-216 range for his highs & lows. I am just trying to hang onto this dose until the vet visit next Fri & then lower his dose. I am also going to print off his ss & drop it off to my vet's office either today (I may be getting off work early!) or Monday on my way to work. That way, my vet will have time to look over my data before my appointment with her next week.

carolynandlatte said:
As libby said, Morris is your cat and you certainly have every right to treat him the way you want, with love and best intentions.
Im only pointing this out in concern for Morris, because I know how much you care for him.

I hope all tests come back good and he continues to feel well.
Thanks Carolyn!

Libby and Lucy said:
you're testing more tonight, right? Have to, it's a dropping number and already in the 60's at +1.
No, I was barely able to stay up to get the +1 reading done last night! Between my current medical issues & working extra hours this week, I was absolutely EXHAUSTED!
 
Thank you for answering my question from yesterday Gwen....
Well, i do have another one now... :razz:
How do you think that 489 will affect your frustosamine test...talk about wonky numbers! Wow! Wonder how low Morris went last night. Guess that will remain a mystery and maybe the bounce is only from yesterday's numbers.

You know Gwen, I am not a dosing expert but...BUT...Monique explained to me that when one does not give dose reductions when they are warranted, the hormones rage. By not giving him the dose reduction he has earned, you are driving his numbers higher as well as lower. If you lowered his dose as was suggested, maybe he wouldn't be bouncing so terribly high. Know what I mean?

The Protocol should be followed or not...but if you follow it, it should not be in a piecemeal fashion. You had to skip the shot yesterday morning and he went boing today....we know all about consistency, right? Everyone here stresses that so much.

I know you are exhausted and extremely busy...I am sorry about that.... I am only thinking of Morris right now. These erratic numbers cannot be all that good for him, ya know? Will you think about lowering his dose...?? Just rethink it?
He is YOUR furbaby and you might want to disregard what I am saying but I am only speaking from the heart to you...as another Mama Bean...just think about the wonky numbers and decide if it's worth sticking to that dose. If you are tired, there is no way you can possibly be checking him enough with those low numbers....it would give you a break if he wasn't being driven down by too much insulin right now...
Hope you understand that I mean well....please give a hug to Morris from us...okay?
 
It's me again!

Yesterday:
+12 = 38 (skipped)
+22.5 = 110
+24 (PMPS) = 74 (dropping)
+1 = 65 (no food spike, should be higher than PS especially with a drained shed)

At that point, Morris was dropping an average of 18 points per hour for the last 2.5 hours and onset hadn’t happened yet.

At this pace:
+2 would be 47
+3 would be 29 (onset is now starting, so should just now be starting to drop, usually the drop picks up speed from here)

Morris was quite likely in the 20’s by +4 last night and could have dropped lower than that. This is the highest he has bounced in a LONG time, so it’s reasonable to assume that his number was very, very low while you were asleep. At the very least, if you HAD to go to sleep, a big juicy HC dinner could have been served, maybe with some syrup for good measure, and one more test to be sure he was rising from that.

Morris is over dose. Please print out the hypo guidelines and put them on your refrigerator, right now. Morris’s liver is pretty good at keeping him safe, but at some point it won’t be able to keep up anymore. Please, we have not lost a LL cat to hypo yet and we don’t want to now.
 
and.... if your medical situation is preventing you from being able to monitor at night, that's ok, but you need to drop the dose to a safe level.
 
gwen,
pat and libby have made excellent points.
morris has a VERY strong liver which has protected him, but this has now become dangerous. very dangerous.
please, rethink what you're doing...
 
I hate to come late to the party but I do want to echo what everyone else is saying. The guideline your vet is giving you is perhaps a general rule of thumb. Generalities are all well and good but they don't always apply to an individual situation. It's like saying never give HC food to a diabetic cat. It's a great general rule until your cat's numbers are low and then HC is a very good idea.

If your goal is to keep Morris tightly regulated within the range your vet suggested, you still need to work to finding the dose that will put Morris within that range. So far, Morris is way below and way above. Please reconsider your strategy in light of Morris' safety.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top