8/05 Toeby AMPS 153, PMPS 63, +2 56, +3 47, +3.3 38, +3.7 52, +4.3 68, +5 86, +6 133.

Laurasboyz

Member Since 2020
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-61-pmps-229-2-130-3-106.250803/#post-2829665

In August, Toeby has had his budesonide reduced from a half mg every day to a half mg every other day - he had a dose tonight after a second day off with no budesonide yesterday.

His nadir was always early and now it seems to be changing, with lower BG's later in his 12 hour cycle?
I am going to give him his regular dose tonight after a PMPS reading of 63, but will have to watch him closely.
My worry is that his nadir might not be in the next 5 hours like it always was.

He has gone under 50 twice in the last couple weeks since his budesonide was reduced to a 0.5 daily.
Now that he is getting 0.5 every OTHER day, I am wondering if he will require less insulin, but I guess I will just have to wait and watch him.
If he goes under 50 again, I will be reducing his dose.
Laura
 
He's been stubborn to come up the last couple times he's gone low, Katherine.
He's got me double checking food charts to see if what I think is HC really is HC... the exact description on this can doesn't show on Dr. Lisa's list - " Fancy Feast Beef Flavour Feast in Gravy: Chunks" but if the next test is not going the right way, I'll open a different can, maybe the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers with cheese, which seems to be on the list exactly as labeled here.
Anyway...
Yes, tomorrow I will have to figure out how to measure a reduced dose between zero and 0.4.... 0.15??? OY!
 
He's been stubborn to come up the last couple times he's gone low, Katherine.
He's got me double checking food charts to see if what I think is HC really is HC... the exact description on this can doesn't show on Dr. Lisa's list - " Fancy Feast Beef Flavour Feast in Gravy: Chunks" but if the next test is not going the right way, I'll open a different can, maybe the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers with cheese, which seems to be on the list exactly as labeled here.
Anyway...
Yes, tomorrow I will have to figure out how to measure a reduced dose between zero and 0.4.... 0.15??? OY!
I know, it's exhausting. :bighug: It will probably take a few days for you to see the effect of the every other day dosing of the budesonide. I can't recall if you've tried using calipers or not. They might help with the smaller doses.
 
52 twenty minutes later... turned his nose up at beef, so I gave him some FF Gravy Lovers Chicken Feast in Grilled Chicken Flavour Gravy, which he licked up... (I make these notes for myself)
Hopefully he stays up the next couple tests.
 
I can't recall if you've tried using calipers or not. They might help with the smaller doses.

I did try digital calipers last summer without much success.
I use BD syringes - they're what I can buy here with half unit markings and tiny needles.
What I found was that trying to eyeball the measurement on the side of the syringe using the metal points of the calipers as the reference was really still just a guessing game dependent on how good my vision is.... I dunno.
Besides, I worked in manufacturing, I know there are tolerances for all production, and when you're talking tiny, tiny amounts of insulin, I don't think these single-use plastic syringes are that precise.
Anything meant to measure larger doses suitable for human beings, then tossed away, is not meant to measure amounts of like 0.15 units....
Anyway, I don't meant to sound negative.
I'll get through tonight and tomorrow is a new day, new project.
 
He is 68 twenty minutes after the 52 - Yay!
Another snack, and I'll keep an eye on him and test before turning in tonight.

Thanks for keeping me company Katherine!
 
I always eyeballed anything less than .25 units. After drawing the insulin I push the plunger until there's a hair of light between it and the stopper at the top for .1. Always happy to keep you company during your PJ parties with Toeby! :bighug:
 
+5 86... he's on the right track now.

Yeah, I just dragged out the calipers and looked and well, again, not to be negative Nancy (another name, in addition to "Karen", that gets abused in speech :)) but holy crap I think the calculation for BD syringes is that 1.5 mms is 1 unit, which means if I drop him by a quarter unit like TR guidelines say, (currently at 0.4 units minus 0.25 equals 0.15 units) I will be trying to measure about 0.2 mm's.... which is not very much space between the arms of a caliper.
I don't care how good your eyes are...
I have to study that math in the cold light of day.
Regardless, it's eyeballing, no matter whether you use a caliper or not.

Anyhoo...
Again, not to be negative, but I suspect there is something more going on with him than just the diabetes.
Tonight he moved to lay on a mat on the floor in our office, a place he has only laid in 15 years when he's been feeling sick.
I just checked him lying there and his BG's are 86, so he's not hypo'ing, but he obviously is not feeling good.
He's purring for me, and rolling for me to rub his belly though.
I'll check him once more before I toddle off to be sure his BG's are staying up, and hope he feels better in the morning.
The swooping BG's can't feel great, I'm sure... he's probably as tired of feeling this way as any of us in this house.
If he's not feeling better tomorrow I'll have to try to get him into the vet.
 
Back
Top