8/05 Morris AMBG 38; +10.5 110; PMPS 74; +1 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Member Since 2009
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... =9&t=21542

I got called this morning to come into work early, therefore, I did not have a chance to retest before I left this morning. To be safe, I did not give him any insulin. I dished out 1/2 can LC Merrick mixed with 1 can MC Fancy Feast for him to eat today. My ds (almost 13) is home today, so I will have him check on Morris throughout the day & to notify me if he notices any unusual behavior or if he runs out of food.

I realize that according to the protocol, he has earned himself a dose reduction. However, I really want to hold off on that for a little longer. Morris has his yearly vet check up scheduled next week & we are planning on updating all of his labwork (including fructosamine & fpli - they have a combo price which makes these tests cheaper when combined with his regular blood/urine labwork that gets done at his yearly checkup). I really want to keep him at this dose until we get those labs done! Plus, with him missing his shot this morning, his shed is going to get depleated today & will need to re-filled.

I will also have my vet check his teeth while we are there next week & see if she thinks a dental would be a good idea or not.
 
Re: 8/05 Morris AMPS 38!

Wow. When I see AMPS 38, it thought you gave the insulin.
 
Re: 8/05 Morris AMPS 38!

wow! Talk about a green morning! I don't know of anyone on here that has the BOS to shoot that ...
 
Re: 8/05 Morris AMPS 38!

Whoa Morris!

Morris is your kitty and you can manage him however you want. However, I have to point out that this is his 2nd time at 40 or below on this dose, so the protocol calls for a dose reduction. In fact, last time you got mid-cycle tests he was in the 40’s, and judging from yesterday’s bounce, I’m sure he was low on 8/3 pm too.

I feel like every time I post in your condo, it is to give you noodles. You can treat Morris how you want, but there are a lot of other people who read LL (now and in the future) and a lot of them are lurking and don’t have people to watch over their spreadsheets with them. It’s important to state that it’s not common practice to hold the dose when a cat hits the 30’s. You might know what you're doing with Morris, but we don't necessarily want lurkers following this example. ;-)

If holding the dose is what you choose to do, then I recommend getting a lot more mid-cycle spot checks. If he decides to go to the 20’s, then you really need to know about it.
 
Re: 8/05 Morris AMPS 38!

PeterDevonMocha said:
I don't know of anyone on here that has the BOS to shoot that ...
No, I didn't shoot!

Libby and Lucy said:
but there are a lot of other people who read LL (now and in the future) and a lot of them are lurking and don’t have people to watch over their spreadsheets with them. It’s important to state that it’s not common practice to hold the dose when a cat hits the 30’s. You might know what you're doing with Morris, but we don't necessarily want lurkers following this example.
Yes.....I know....I'm a bad person! LOL! If there was more room available in my signature line, I would mention that I am a rule breaker! LOL! I use about 3/4 - 7/8 information from this site & protocol, plus 1/8 - 1/4 information from my vet.

Libby and Lucy said:
I feel like every time I post in your condo, it is to give you noodles.
:roll: Yes & I am learning to take my lumps! LOL! I used to get real upset when people would give me a hard time, but now I realize you guys aren't really getting after me personally....you are just trying to help me learn how to take better care of my Morris! You guys probably think I don't listen too well & get fed up with giving me feedback (both positive & negative)....I try to take what you guys say to heart & also take what my vet & I discuss and combine the information to come up with a plan for Morris. After all, ECID.

I have to work extra hours today & tomorrow, then I'm home for the weekend, then I should be working my regular hours on Mon & Tues next week, and then I have 2 weeks off work!!! I will be home & able to get a full curve done on Morris then!
 
Re: 8/05 Morris AMPS 38!

Forgot to add.....just spoke with my son a few mins ago during my lunch break.....Morris is eating & playing just fine!
 
Re: 8/05 Morris AMPS 38!

Gwen,
can you adjust your subject line cuz it's kinda scary, and we dont wanna scare anyone thinking that you shot that. @-)

So AMBG 38 is good, k?
 
Re: 8/05 Morris AMBG 38; +10.5 110

I am kind of surprised that he has not got up that much today! What should I be thinking in terms of a dose for this evening? Skip another dose if he's still low? Give half a dose? Give his full dose? Any thoughts would be appreciated!
 
Re: 8/05 Morris AMBG 38; +10.5 110

Hi Gwen! Morris is amazing...and it doesn't look as if he is ready to bounce after that super low AMBG...
I guess I am a little confused as to why you wanted to hold this dose until after the upcoming tests....
As you said, according to the protocol he is obviously deserving of a dosecrease with those numbers...( :lol: usually we are overjoyed when they earn a dosecrease! Well, at least I am LOL)

I wanted to say that perhaps you can put the question in your header about tonight's dose when you get a little closer to the time....like +11 reading and then ask about tonight's dose. Also, state whether you will be able to test at least at the +1 afterward and through the night....a lot depends on what his PMPS is, ya know? I hope that an experienced dosing person will see it and pop in to help.
Good luck with the labs too! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/05 Morris AMBG 38; +10.5 110

Hi Gwen,
I dont have any thoughts on dose because Im having a hard time opening ss's right now.

I also dont mean to be a smarty or harsh, but Im confused...
There are a great deal of knowledgeable folks who have recommended lower the dose, yes? Based on low numbers and maybe still some difficulty having time to monitor, right? Then you have the protocol that has been researched and studied, spelling out their thoughts. I know you are trying to balance info between the board/vet, which is very wise btw! But, does your vet know or want Morris to be in the 30 and 40's, especially unmonitored?

As libby said, Morris is your cat and you certainly have every right to treat him the way you want, with love and best intentions.
Im only pointing this out in concern for Morris, because I know how much you care for him.

I hope all tests come back good and he continues to feel well.
 
He was still dropping at PMPS time, but I didn't want to skip 2 doses in a row! I decided to give him 1.5u this evening. Will see how he is doing in the morning & decide where to go from there. I have to go to work early again tomorrow, so it will be test/shoot/feed right as I am needing to run out the door to get to work!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top