8/02 Mačka - AMPS 502, +10 189, +11 180 should I shoot?

Penelope and Mačka

Member Since 2019
Mačka was in the very HIs for 2 days and not feeling well.

When I look at his SS, when he was first diagnosed and would only eat at shot times, his AMPS an PMPS were much lower. I did not test much, but overall his numbers were not as crazy as they are now, so I am wondering if, now that I feed him more and throughout the day, I keep his BG higher? Should I go back to feeding him only twice a day? (with a snack at +5 maybe?)

It is so hard to give the 360 cal/day that my vet recommended. He doesn't eat that much by himself, I have to push him a lot in order to eat that amount!

The feeder worked just fine, but Macka did not touch his food during the night, and I slept right through it too :/
 
Keep feeding multiple meals. Multiple small meals are easier on his pancreas. That is what human diabetics do too. What + times are you feeding now? I am wondering if the timing should be changed. Macka drops a lot early in the cycle, which can cause bounces. Giving multiple small meals early in the cycle may help with that.

Are you weighing Macka to see if he’s gaining weight? 360 calories seems like a lot. My 14 lb Neko maintained her weight at a little over 200 calories.

We look at nadirs, not AMPS and PMPS. Early on, he could have been just high and flat. Now at least he is getting to blues for his nadirs, though I suspect he’ll need another increase after tomorrow.
 
Keep feeding multiple meals. Multiple small meals are easier on his pancreas. That is what human diabetics do too. What + times are you feeding now? I am wondering if the timing should be changed. Macka drops a lot early in the cycle, which can cause bounces. Giving multiple small meals early in the cycle may help with that.

Are you weighing Macka to see if he’s gaining weight? 360 calories seems like a lot. My 14 lb Neko maintained her weight at a little over 200 calories.

We look at nadirs, not AMPS and PMPS. Early on, he could have been just high and flat. Now at least he is getting to blues for his nadirs, though I suspect he’ll need another increase after tomorrow.
I feed him at AMPS, +2, +5, +6/7, PMPS, +2/3 and sometimes Midnight/+5.5 (somehow flexible). Should I give him higher LC at AMPS and PMPS?

I feel like 360 cal are a lot too, but the vet confirmed again yesterday that it is what he needs.... so I don't know anymore! If you look at his weight chart on the 2nd page of his SS, he dropped from 6 kg to 5.5 kg in 2 months. However his diet changed drastically when he arrived here after the ER (June 15th), and has stayed almost the same since (I just received a new scale yesterday!).

I have to do a curve for vet this Sunday at this dose, and hoping to increase after that, yes!
 
Would it be possible to get rid of his AM +6/7 feeding? Feeding after nadir, when the insulin action is naturally slowing down, can shorten duration and lead to higher preshots. Macka drops a lot early in the cycle, so I would try adding a +1 meal. Keep it all low carb for now. Food experiments can take a while to show results, so keep at that schedule at least a week to see if it makes a difference.

His weight looks steady, so looks like he does need those calories. Recent DKA kitties seem to need more food for a while.
 
+10 189!
That's a first time. He was doing very well, playful, grooming himself so I tested him and surprise!
I am a little scared that he goes lower, hoping he's going up again in fact before shot time. But that's a weird late blues here.
Only one hour more to wait until I test him again.
 
No....shoot the scheduled dose and get a +1 and +2

Shoot low to stay low means you have to shoot those lower PS numbers to stay low

Feel free to look at China's spreadsheet(s)

I'd shoot anything over 50 (doing TR)….on SLGS, you shoot anything over 90 (as long as you have plenty of supplies and can test as long as necessary)
 
No....shoot the scheduled dose and get a +1 and +2

Shoot low to stay low means you have to shoot those lower PS numbers to stay low

Feel free to look at China's spreadsheet(s)

I'd shoot anything over 50 (doing TR)….on SLGS, you shoot anything over 90 (as long as you have plenty of supplies and can test as long as necessary)
Thank you! yes, I can see that! I'm still so new to it, and still very scared of lower numbers.
I have to work tomorrow, I won't be at home to look after him if he goes too low again, argh... And also I need sleep so bad.
 
This is a great opportunity to see how Macka reacts to shooting a blue. You have done it in the past before but this is another chance :)

You are ready and we’re here to help :)

Like @Chris & China (GA) said, lantus works better when numbers are lower, producing nice flat curves. As well, shooting lower numbers decreases the chance of dives and thus decreasing the chance of a bounce.

Edit: If you want another example: i am doing TR but I shot an 85 today. In the past, I’ve shot 56 before too. But I know it’s because Ming still has about 3-5 hours before his insulin starts working (he’s on Levemir). Lantus typically has a 2 hour window before onset starts/the next dose starts to work. So getting a +1 and +2 is helpful to predict what the dose will be like and catches an early onset if your cat has one.
 
Last edited:
Thank you! At PMPS he was at 187 so basically the same as an hour before.
I just don't understand how he could be so low right before shot time. How do you explain it?
I will shoot the usual dose, but certainly freak tonight! I'm glad I slept a little last night :)

I usually feed him again at PM +2 and +5. Hope this will help.
 
No....shoot the scheduled dose and get a +1 and +2

Shoot low to stay low means you have to shoot those lower PS numbers to stay low

Feel free to look at China's spreadsheet(s)

I'd shoot anything over 50 (doing TR)….on SLGS, you shoot anything over 90 (as long as you have plenty of supplies and can test as long as necessary)
I don't mean to . . . contradict (is this the right word?) a FDMB Guru like yourself but if this is really only Macka's 2nd month on insulin, I would be hesitant to shoot under 150 at first.

Thank you! yes, I can see that! I'm still so new to it, and still very scared of lower numbers.
I have to work tomorrow, I won't be at home to look after him if he goes too low again, argh... And also I need sleep so bad.

You seem as cautious as I am and I felt much better reading and re-reading the sticky about shooting low numbers. It took me like 9 months to shoot under 150. But ECID and so is every human. However I WOULD also shoot 180/190 - no time like the present to see what it does and better tonight with you home, than tomorrow while youre at work!

you got this!
 
I don't mean to . . . contradict (is this the right word?) a FDMB Guru like yourself but if this is really only Macka's 2nd month on insulin, I would be hesitant to shoot under 150 at first.

Feel free to question anything any of us tells you!! That's how you learn!!

The only way to learn is to try.....that's why we tell you the first few times you shoot a lower number than you're comfortable with, we will either agree to check in on you until you're sure everything's OK, or we'll find someone else to watch over you.

I can't be on non-stop tonight, but I can check in now and then....and @Crista & Ming and @Wendy&Neko are both here tonight and I'm sure they'll be checking in too.
 
Thank you all.
I have to say I'm pretty scared right now and counting the minutes until the next test.
He is sleeping right now and I wondered: if a cat has an hypoglycemia while sleeping, does he wake up?

I did not feel too comfortable shooting this low (it's a first one for us), but I try to trust the experienced people on the forum that it's going to be alright. All I want is Macka to feel good again.
Please don't leave me alone tonight!
 
Is +1 in another half hour?

I doubt he is hypo right now. He has eaten so his numbers might be going up :)

And I'm here and will be around for the next few hours as it's only 7 PM here. Are we both PST?
 
Test in another hour and we'll see :) But it is quite a jump. What food did you feed?

I see you wrote s1.75. Does that mean skinny?

Edit: I see you fed FF. Is it LC?
 
Test in another hour and we'll see :) But it is quite a jump. What food did you feed?

I see you wrote s1.75. Does that mean skinny?

Edit: I see you fed FF. Is it LC?
Yes, more like a 1.60, it's really just psychological....

Fancy Feast classic beef paté.

Yes, it's a jump, Macka loves to bounce into the 800s....
 
Nice slide today Macka. :cool: He was breaking the bounce from his previous set of blues. Nice bit of progress, it only took five cycles to get over the bounce this time.
Thanks!!! Why would the blues come that late in the cycle though?
Also, I think he's up for a new powerful bounce tonight... Let's see the PM +2
 
You can if you'd like but I think he's bouncing. It's quite a jump from blue to 300 and you didn't give the full amount of insulin tonight.
 
Back
Top