8/01Lily PMPS ~128 +1.5 85...here we go surfin' green again!

Status
Not open for further replies.

LilyAndLaura

Member Since 2010
Hi - Thanks to all of you for your support as we surfed into the wee hours. We're now awake again and Lily's only at 88 at her normal AMPS time. Should I really be giving her a full 1U this a.m. when she's only climbed 8 points in the last 4.5 hours? I'm going to go feed her now, bu it feels like she needs a lower dose (I know, I know...I'm supposed to maintain the dose). If I look at what happened, I'm betting that her shed is full again after the 1.75 dose I skipped two days ago. Exciting if it is full at 1U BID, but still not sure what to do.
 
Re: AMPS Lily 88 Not sure what to do

Good morning Laura and Lily,

Laura, will you be home to monitor all day and do you have plenty of test strips and high carb food?
 
Re: AMPS Lily 88 Not sure what to do

Thanks for your response. I'll be home this morning, but must be gone this afternoon, so I can monitor until +5 or so. Along the same lines, we're moving tomorrow, so I will need to shoot and run tomorrow morning with no monitoring so that I can go meet the moving truck (am leaving Lily here until they are gone). I do have plenty of test strips and no gravy FF (just learned about that last night when she was surfing in the low 50s). I do have both wet and dry MD. Kibbles she loves, wet not so much. I can run out and get some gravy and then shoot, though, if that's better.

Thanks again!
 
Re: AMPS Lily 88 Not sure what to do

I found that the protocol PDF gives 3 options for a pre-shot number under 100.

a) feed and give a reduced dose
b) feed and wait 1-2 hours, then if over 100 (or 130) then give normal dose, otherwise give reduced dose like a)
or c) give most of the dose and feed, then wait 1-2 hours and give remainder of the dose.

I tried b) when Podo had a low number one evening. An hour after feeding she was up 26 points and ok to shoot a normal dose.

You will want to be sure you have a hypo kit though and plenty of test strips and lancets. If you don't have a hypo kit ready, then I wouldn't shoot (treat it like a fur shot) and get yourself a kit put together today.
 
Re: AMPS Lily 88 Not sure what to do

Hi, Ronnie - I just retested at +.75 and we're at 118. Do you think I should shoot the whole dose, or a reduced dose? I haven't shot yet.

As a side note, I had to pull her out from under the sofa (not typical) before re-testing, so number could be slightly elevated due to that.

--Laura
 
Re: AMPS Lily 88 Not sure what to do

did you feed her already?

118 is good, you shot lower last nite, and as you said you are home for a few hours right?
 
Re: AMPS Lily 88 Not sure what to do

Yep, she's eaten, and I'm here until noon (another 5 hours)...Okay. Shooting at 1U.

Thanks, Brian - I've got Karo, but don't have any high carb FF. Will get some today, though!

--Laura
 
Re: AMPS Lily 88 Not sure what to do

Some options for next time you get a lower than usual preshot number - others will be by to correct if this doesn't apply.

stall, don't feed, and re-test in 15 minutes - when you're stalling and if you feed you may get a food spike preshot number...so next time, hold the food when you are stalling. You want to get a clean-without-food-on-board number that you can shoot.

shoot a BCS (big chicken shot/reduced dose) and feed
and always test at +1

The more data you collect, you'll be more comfortable.
Make sure Lily has food on board for at least the next few hours.

you stalled almost an hour right?
 
Re: AMPS Lily 88 Not sure what to do

Ran and got some HC FF (gravy formula with wheat gluten), so I'm ready for low numbers now if need be. My gut tells me that the BCS is more my style, but this isn't about me, now, is it? I shot at 7:09 (stalled for almost an hour). Will retest at +1. She's happily sleeping on her favorite cushion, so no worries right now. I didn't even think about stalling without food but that makes a ton of sense to me, Ronnie. Thank you.
 
Re: AMPS Lily 88 Not sure what to do

I'm just now waking up to see this. Nice! I think Lily will be looking for another dose reduction soon, please get a +2 today to see where she's going.

You know what a dose reduction means: enough dose reductions and one day the dose will be zero. (anti-jinx) :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/01 AMPS Lily 88 Stall 118 +1 146

Thanks, Libby - Would love to do another dose reduction so soon, but I stayed with it this morning after stalling, and I'm glad. She was at 146 at +1. I think she must have an overlap in her cycles (maybe her cycle period is more like 13 hours?). Will do a +2 for sure and if she's a good, consistent kitty, we should start to see it drop like yesterday.
 
Re: 8/01 AMPS Lily 88 Stall 118 +1 146 +2 140

Down a little, but nothing scary. At 140 at +2. I gotta say, it's easier on my blood pressure if she surfs at 140, but I know it's not as good for her as surfing in the 50's. I actually am going to have some time to take a shower!

Thanks again, everyone. You rock for helping this newbie through this, especially as your juggling your own kitties. ~O)

--Laura
 
Re: 8/01 AMPS Lily 118 +1~146 +2~140 +3~117

Looking good here!

Remember, cuz you have to leave later, you'll want to test her before you go - that's an-out-the-door-spot check, leave plenty of foods out and she will be ok.
Tell yourself - she will be ok.

Looks like she is taking her sweet time this morning :mrgreen: but I'm sure she will creep into greens soon and do her surfy thing.


I know how hard and uneasy it is to leave them, but you gotta do what you gotta do.
 
Re: 8/01 AMPS Lily 118 +1~146 +2~140 +3~117 +4~109

She may just be surfing a higher this a.m. +4 109 I just re-arranged my schedule and I'm going to go for two hours or so now, and then come back in between so that I can check in at +7 or so and then meet my husband at the house when he arrives at 4 or so, and then be back again for PMPS and the rest of the night. Whew. I'm looking forward to having someone else help juggle all this! Movers come tomorrow with our stuff and we are so ready!
 
Re: 8/01 AMPS Lily 118 +1~146 +2~140 +3~117 +4~109

Nice to meet you, Lisa and Do Lou! Ronnie and Libby, I feel like we've got our own cheering section. Thank you so much. Back soon.
 
Re: 8/01 AMPS Lily 118 +1~146 +2~140 +3~117 +4~109 +7~116

+7 ~ 116. Lily's surfing again, she's just surfing in the blue today instead of the green. I'm still really happy with these numbers, though. Amazing to think that she was nothing but pink just two weeks ago. Now, the only thing that's pink is her urine strips because she's not throwing any glucose on 'em at all! I'll be able to check a +8 before I head out again, and then will be back for PMPS. :-D

--Laura
 
Re: 8/01 AMPS Lily 118 +1~146 +2~140 +3~117 +4~109 +7~116

What a nice surf, and glad to see a pic of pretty Lily.
 
Re: 8/01Lily AMPS-118 +1~146 +2~140 +3~117 +4~109 +7~116 +8~114

+8 ~114, still surfing blue. Small meal, with food left down, be back by PMPS. Hope surf stays up for everyone! Thank you, MJ+Donovan!
 
Re: 8/01Lily AMPS-118 +1~146 +2~140 +3~117 +4~109 +7~116 +8~114

Wow. All I can say is "Wow." Getting rid of the dry and watching numbers is really paying off.
 
Re: 8/01Lily AMPS-118 +1~146 +2~140 +3~117 +4~109 +7~116 +8~114

PMPS ~128, +1.5 ~85 ...Back in the green surf zone. Lordy. I know what's gonna happen here. I think I may just do the 2 hour checks and get some sleep. Our moving van shows up at AMPS + 30 tomorrow. Surf, baby, surf. Just had a small snack and the hockey puck is down!
 
Your +1 should be higher than your PMPS due to a food spike and your +2 should be about the same as your PMPS. Since your +1.5 is lower, please test relatively soon. This could be a busy night with testing.
 
Re: 8/01Lily PMPS ~128 +1.5 85 +6 ~44

Hi, Sienne - Thank you! Her +1 and +2 were both lower than her PMPS the night before, too, so her curve is shaping up to be a little different. She did surf green (a little low) with the 44 at +6, but I got up and fed her. She slept on my legs all night, so I could keep my eye on her. New condo starting in a minute!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top