7/9 Tiger AMPS 95;+2=63;+2.75=35;+3.25=40;+3.75=45;+4=108;

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiger(GA) and Ruth

Member Since 2014
Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121480

Tiger's appetite is so much better, starting last night and this morning. Thanks to all for yesterday's vines and suggestions. I will look into getting fortiflora, I didn't know what kitty crack was before. :oops: And still on the hunt for a lower phos food that I can slowly transition into her diet.

My question, what dose should I give Tiger tonight at PMPS, assuming she is done tanking? :oops: Due to the poor appetite, I had decreased Tiger's dose to a token 1.5 for a cycle and a half;when her appetite seemed better, I increased to 2.5 yesterday AMPS. When I went to bed last night at +4, she was at 290. I figured the PMPS was a furshot. :oops: Well, this morning, she was licking my face and when it was time for AMPS, I got a 95 reading. I always test twice with 2 different meters. :shock: Can a cat have a nadir 12 hours after? So, it took some HC Fancy Feast, and even Karo syrup this morning, she's never gone below 36 to the best of my knowledge!! :shock: I realize now, I probably should have increased at a slower pace than going from 1.5 to 2.5? ohmygod_smile

Thanks for any and all suggestions. Sending vines to all in need, including poor Marje's foot; there has definitely been a lot of poor appetities lately, I sure hope this isn't an increasing trend. Best of wishes to all the OTJ or ready to go OTJ kitties and Marje, Happy Birthday!! :-D
 
Re: 7/9 Tiger AMPS 95;+2=63;+2.75=35;+3.25=40;+3.75=45;+4=10

typically when you reduce the dose because of some specific reason like a lack of appetite, or a low number when you're leaving the house, you would go back up to the regular dose when the conditions returned to normal. I'd have done the same thing, ruth.

I think i'd just reduce by 0.25u tonight and give her 2.25u.
 
Re: 7/9 Tiger AMPS 95;+2=63;+2.75=35;+3.25=40;+3.75=45;+4=10

Thanks Julie, so glad you are online at the moment! I fought with myself over what to give her, but I am glad I decided to give the chicken shot... :oops:
 
Re: 7/9 Tiger AMPS 95;+2=63;+2.75=35;+3.25=40;+3.75=45;+4=10

even though you had been giving her 3.0u, this is now 6 cycles past the last time she got 3.0, so i doubt there's much (if any) effect from the 3.0 in her cycle today. I think she got in the 30's based off the 2.5u shot, which would call for a reduction of 0.25u.

that's my thinking on it.
 
Re: 7/9 Tiger AMPS 95;+2=63;+2.75=35;+3.25=40;+3.75=45;+4=10

yes, I meant this morning. And no, I wasn't sure how long the 3.0 would have stayed in her system. But I see now, I probably should have started slowly, building up from the token 1.5? :oops:
 
Re: 7/9 Tiger AMPS 95;+2=63;+2.75=35;+3.25=40;+3.75=45;+4=10

no ruth - i would've done exactly what you did.

when you reduce a dose because of poor appy, or you can't be home to monitor, or whatever reason, you would go right back up to the regular dose when the circumstances return to normal.

i think you did the right thing - and no harm done. your goal is to keep her between 50-120, and part of following the Tight Reg Protocol is having occasional low numbers. She didn't have a symptomatic hypo, she just dipped down. and being vigilant like you are, you were on the testing, caught her and brought her up. you shouldn't feel badly at all!

in fact, i'd say you did everything just right. well done. :-D
 
Re: 7/9 Tiger AMPS 95;+2=63;+2.75=35;+3.25=40;+3.75=45;+4=10

Yay for better appy! I'm glad Tiger is feeling better. Look at those numbers - wow! Congrats on the reducie. You did a great job keeping her safe, Ruth.
 
Re: 7/9 Tiger AMPS 95;+2=63;+2.75=35;+3.25=40;+3.75=45;+4=10

I'm glad Tiger is eating better for you. You did a great job today managing those low numbers.

Thanks for stopping by Furball's condo.
 
Re: 7/9 Tiger AMPS 95;+2=63;+2.75=35;+3.25=40;+3.75=45;+4=10

It's great to hear that Tiger has her appetite back, so she has definitely earned that deduction. Congrats on the new dose. :mrgreen: I agree with Julie, you did what I would have done too. TIger is really zooming down the dosing scale. :-D You are doing a great job Ruth.
 
Re: 7/9 Tiger AMPS 95;+2=63;+2.75=35;+3.25=40;+3.75=45;+4=10

Wow! you did have a busy day too Ruth! :o Great job and congrats on the reducie. Good to hear Tigers appy is better too..hope you can relax tonight..
 
Re: 7/9 Tiger AMPS 95;+2=63;+2.75=35;+3.25=40;+3.75=45;+4=10

Wow, you and Tiger had a busy day!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: It sounds like you did exactly the right thing! I'm glad to hear her appetite is back.
 
Re: 7/9 Tiger AMPS 95;+2=63;+2.75=35;+3.25=40;+3.75=45;+4=10

I'm so glad she is doing better. I've been thinking of you all. I hope the reduction holds and she sees more green.

She's doing great!

Thank you for the vines and birthday wishes! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/9 Tiger AMPS 95;+2=63;+2.75=35;+3.25=40;+3.75=45;+4=10

Congrats on the reduction. I hope it holds.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top