7/9 Purrcee - PMBG 79 +38 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie + Muffin

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone
Thanks so much for yesterday and so many of you helped me through it. At least Purrcee and I got some good sleep last night.
Today will be a challenge because I have to take the dog to the vet (as mentioned yesterday) and I can't monitor for +1, +2, part or most of +3.
Purrcee stayed almost the same as his before bed +13.5 test (69). Without insulin last night can I assume he just hung around that number all night?
This morning he doesn't seem to need insulin yet and is in a good spot. I have no idea how this type of scenario usually plays out or what needs to be done so really need help? Also has there ever been a cat who just stops needed insulin cold turkey with good results? I'm sure that would be rare but I don't understand the reason to give insulin if they don't show they need it.

This seems like a difficult situation. Advice is definitely needed. Thanks.


Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99467

Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94
8:15 AMPS 94
8:45 Fed
8:55 Dose .5
10:25 58 fed LC
11:10 50 fed HC
11:45 49
Noon Karo on gums and fed HC
12:20 63
12:50 58 fed HC
1:45 70
3:00 68 fed LC
5:45 49 fed LC
6:30 51 fed LC
7:30 56
8:30 58
no shot
10:30 69 (before bed)

Today 7/9
7:00 am +22 67
 
Re: 7/9 Purrcee +22 67 (now what)??

It does occasionally happen that a cat will stop getting insulin at 0.5u and stay in remission but that is not usually done. More typical is the dose is gradually reduced to 1 drop and then stopped so that support to the pancreas is removed gradually. Cleo (on her OTJ trial) is like that. There was a cat recently, Timber, that stopped at 0.75 or so and went OTJ so it can happen.

Hopefully one of the more experienced members will stop by to advise. Love that green! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 7/9 Purrcee +22 67 (now what)??

Thanks Ann for stopping by and sharing that info. I get the ECID theory and sometimes not all of them fit the mold. Not sure is Purrcee does or doesnt. I need to feed by other kids so will be a 911 on this.
 
Re: 7/9 Purrcee +22 67 (now what)??

Hi guys .. purcee's numbers are looking puuurfect! I guess ECID in regards to how low of a dose they need before going OTJ .. we took it pretty much down to a drop with mocha, but she had been on insulin for a long time and we weren't taking any chances! Have a great day!
 
Re: 7/9 Purrcee +22 67 (now what)??

When a kitty is zipping down the dose ladder, it's sometimes hard to get ahead of what the depot is doing. If Purrcee is still in lower numbers, how about shooting 0.25u if you're going to be able to monitor?
 
Re: 7/9 Purrcee +22 67 (now what)??

Hi Sienne
Just did +23 and it's 71
If I feed now and shot at 8:30 I will only be here until 9:30 and return by 11:30
So I can get a +1
+2 and +3 not able to monitor
Also part of the day I have to help my sister with sanctuary issues. The problem I face every day is when I don't do something it falls on my sister and I can't do that to her...it's just too much of a burden so I have to work around a lot of things including our parents who are in their 80s and which we take care of the health needs. I know there must be other members who have the similar issues I just don't know how to handle Purrcee's needs with my other commitments.
 
Re: 7/9 Purrcee +22 67 +23 71 +23.5 73 feeding not shooting

Hi Julie. Just dropping in to say hello and that I hope Purrcee continues to give you these nice numbers.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 7/9 Purrcee Still Need Advice

Sorry, Julie - I had to leave for work.

Ordinarily, it looks like Purrcee's nadir is around +4 (except on days when it's not). In most cases, it sounds like you can shoot, have your mom keep an eye on things, and then you'd be home by +4.

To be honest, right now is probably going to be challenging. Purrcee is trying very hard to let you know that he's tired of being on insulin. (I'm not mentioning that 3-letter abbreviation because I don't want to jinx anything.) If you can just bear with this a bit longer, I think it's going to be a non-issue pretty soon.

If you feel like you need to skip this morning, especially since it's already late, that's fine. If you want to shoot a token dose of 0.1u, that's fine too.
 
Re: 7/9 Purrcee Still Need Advice

Julie, if you've fed already, then his numbers at PS time will likely be influenced by food, so we won't know if he was coming up on his own. The normal routine is to not feed anything after +10 (or +22), then test, feed, shoot all within 10-15 minutes. There should be two hours without food before that PS test.

It looks like you are probably gone now by the time. I think the dose of .25U that Sienne suggested is a good one. At this rate, you'll only have to deal with Purrcee hijinks for a little while longer. If you have time to shoot now, you can always leave out some MC or HC food to tide him over until you get back.
 
Re: 7/9 Purrcee Still Need Advice

Just got back so I'm going to test - +26 is 88
It has been about 2.5 hours since his breakfast so test won't be influenced by his food.
At +22 he was still at 67 (with no food for hours) that's why I went ahead a fed him because he was hungry and if I got word to shoot he would be ready. But it didn't work out.
(Sienne my mom doesn't live with me)
I guess I will just skip the am shot today and see where he goes.
I'm going to feed him a little now and wait at least 2 hours before testing again so not influenced by food.

If he goes out of green I may post again and seek your wisdom.
Please let me know if this at least sounds like it is okay.
I will take down 911. sorry I should have done that before I left.

Today so far:
+22 (7 am) 67
+23 (8 am) 71
+23.5 (8:30 am) 73 and fed breakfast after test
no am shot
+26 (11 am) 88 going to feed a little now and test in over 2 hours
 
Re: 7/9 Purrcee Still Need Advice

Just got back so I'm going to test - +26 is 88
It has been about 2.5 hours since his breakfast so test won't be influenced by his food.
At +22 he was still at 67 (with no food for hours) that's why I went ahead a fed him because he was hungry and if I got word to shoot he would be ready. But it didn't work out.
(Sienne my mom doesn't live with me)
I guess I will just skip the am shot today and see where he goes.
I'm going to feed him a little now and wait at least 2 hours before testing again so not influenced by food.

If he goes out of green I may post again and seek your wisdom.
Please let me know if this at least sounds like it is okay.
I will take down 911. sorry I should have done that before I left.

Today so far:
+22 (7 am) 67
+23 (8 am) 71
+23.5 (8:30 am) 73 and fed breakfast after test
no am shot
+26 (11 am) 88 going to feed a little now and test in over 2 hours
 
Re: 7/9 No a.m. shot-testing 2 hours after eating

Sounds like a plan. Let's see where he is before normal dinner/PS and post. +34/35 maybe? There could still be some action from the depot from his last shots that is helping to keep the numbers down. Normally we like to keep giving insulin support as long as possible as it seems to help keep them in remission.

Hope the pup is OK.
 
Re: 7/9 No a.m. shot-?? to feed or not now/soon

Julie,
In a perfect world, what time (12 hours apart) would you like to give him his shots AM and PM?

By skipping, you have the opportunity to "pick a best time" going forward.
 
Re: 7/9 No a.m. shot-?? to feed or not now/soon

Hi Julie-
Just thought I would stop by and say HI. I don't always post but 'lurk' to check in on everyone.

Sounds like PurrCee is rushing to the finish line. I know it seems confusing to continue giving insulin when the numbers are low, but I suspect PurrCee has a bit of depot still there. We gave Fur Ball insulin as long as we could to hopefully give his pancreas a good time to heal. Check out our spread sheet if you'd like to see the numbers. It does seem like you won't be long, and boy do those patient pants get tight! :smile:

Sorry to hear about your little Stu as well.

Hope its a good day for you.

Karen
 
Re: 7/9 No a.m. shot-?? to feed or not now/soon

Thanks Karen for stopping by! I will check out your spreadsheet. This is all a mystery! Thanks for remebering Stu.

Hi Carl - Probably give the shots at around 8:00 but I can never seem to make that happen even when I have the opportunity. So wouldn't that mean I need to test around 7:30 then feed and be ready to shoot at 8:00. I have failed at this many times ;-)

I am torn between feeding now and waiting 2 hours to test or testing at +27 (in 10 minutes at noon) and maybe +28 and then feed a little.
Yikes...
 
Re: 7/9 No a.m. shot-?? to feed or not now/soon

Okay. Then here's what I would do.

If he's hungry right now, feed him.
He can eat at any time between now and 6PM. You don't really need any more tests between now and PMPS, I don't think.

Test him at 8. Assuming you have a number you would give insulin on, feed him then, and give him his shot. You can start that whole process a few minutes before 8 if you want. It just depends how quickly the routine goes.

You don't really need to feed thirty minutes before the shot, unless Purrcee is a slow eater.

I used to test, feed immediately after, and shoot as soon as Bob hoovered down his food. Usually the whole thing took five minutes. Ten tops.
 
Re: 7/9 No a.m. shot-?? to feed or not now/soon

I wouldn't worry too much about testing since he hasn't had a shot. Give everyone a break. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 7/9 No a.m. shot-?? to feed or not now/soon

okie dokie but just tested at noon +27 and it's 71 so that's good. gave him a treat but will feed them all some now.

I won't feed after 6 pm for sure and get a test/feed/shoot schedule going closer to 8. It takes me longer to do the feed part because I feed all 8 cats at once and have to watch to make sure Purrcee and Mango are eating. So my time for feed/test/shoot takes about 30 minutes. If I try to isolate one cat then they all get weird! Such is life :smile:

At least today and I get the errands done with my sister and go get my pup. They need a urine sample to culture and he didn't have any in him at the time so they are keeping him a few hours. I told him he was coming home with me this time and now I lied to him! Not good.

Thanks...see you later!
 
Re: 7/9 Purrcee - PMPS 79 NEED ADVICE

Purrcee is at +34.75 (7:45 p.m.) which is now PMPS at 79.
Not sure what to do as to feed and shoot.
Concerned shooting will put in too low for the night.

Help!!! Thanks!!!
 
Re: 7/9 Purrcee - PMPS 79 NEED ADVICE

Since he's at 79 after almost 36 hours without insulin, I would go ahead and skip tonight, too, and see how he does.

I would suggest to go ahead and feed him, and test again in 3 hours, if you can.

I don't think he's going to go up all that high if you skip another shot (although, I could be wrong).

Purrcee, you are looking good, my man. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/9 Purrcee - PMPS 79 NEED ADVICE

Ok Marje...I will feed some and check in 3 hours and post. Thanks!
Looking over his SS it seems he started coming done 7/4. On 7/4 high blue/low yellow.
7/5 High blue then took a dive to +4 and held green
7/6 reduction to .75 low blues/high greens
7/7 skipped am shot; morning all green. PMPS not sure if he got full dose or dose at all; low blue then seesawed a bit between blue/green
7/8 am shot .5 then all green skipped pm shot
7/9 skipped am shot - morning all green. skipping pm shot and testing at +38 (11 pm.)
 
Re: 7/9 Purrcee - PMPS 79 Will feed/skip shot test at 11:00

Go Purcee :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Good job Julie! Hope the pup is fine :-D
 
Re: 7/9 Purrcee - PMPS 79 +38 85 more tests tonight???

Time for you to get a good rest. :-D Pass on a few scritches to Purcee. He's doing great. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Test again tomorrow morning. If he pops up into the blues, then ask for dose advice, otherwise just post the number. In the meantime, several smaller meals are easier on the healing pancreas than one larger meal.
 
Re: 7/9 Purrcee - PMPS 79 +38 85 more tests tonight???

Thanks Wendy...Purrcee and I are happy. Hope he stays in the green.

I have been giving him small meals throughout the day since we started and it's good to know that was the right thing to do. All the cats seems to be happy about it too.

Hope you have a quiet night!
 
Re: 7/9 Purrcee - PMPS 79 +38 85

Just one convention thing on the subject line - you only list PMPS when you actually are going to do a shot. Otherwise it's PMBG (PM blood glucose). That let's people know at a glance that you didn't give the shot.

Go Purcee!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top