7/9 Meadow's AMPS 155..went green.. but PMPS 449

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meadow

Member Since 2010
Another busy day for me..out the door early and I really hate to have to leave when her numbers go so low, but I had no choice.

To recap yesterday:
AMPS 402
+7 189
PMPS 311
+4 222
Yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19223

So today we get a nice AMPS of 155 at 7am. I knew she'd go green starting the day off with that number. Sure enough, at +2hr 20 mins we got an 89. Knowing I had to leave the house, I gave her some 9-Lives gravy food. Left several cans of food for hubby to feed her. He gave her some FF at noon. When I got home at 2:45pm, her bg was 98. Gave her some more FF. Checked her again at 4pm and she went up to 389. 7pm PMPS went to 449. I do NOT like her Christmas colors!
She was in good spirits early this morning, up and squeaking at me and yelling at the other cats. The rest of the day she spent lying on the kitchen table looking like she didn't have any energy in her. But, it has been hot here, so maybe the heat got to her, although we do have a small a/c that keeps the house comfortable, but not cool.
These dang bounces are making me nuts. Hope tomorrow is a better day.
 
Dottie:

The bounce is predictable at this stage of the game.

Let me suggest that you think strategically about low numbers and food. What you did this morning was fine. You needed to make sure that Meadow would be safe while you were gone.

You were feeding again at around +8 because of the 98. I'm not sure how much food you provided, but I would have only given a small amount. It was relatively late in the cycle and the likelihood was high that numbers were heading up. If you gave anything other than LC, or if you gave a substantial amount of LC, you may have helped numbers to rise. A little bit of food around +8 or +9 can be good but, under normal circumstances it should be a small amount.
 
a little bounce is worth it, to get to see those pretty green numbers earlier today.

eta: it looks like you missed a reduction the other day (could have reduced after the 38). I wouldn't change it now, but watch for that reduction number to come around again.
 
Hi Dottie,

You are getting some good numbers with Meadow. Sienne's advice is good about how to feed. I know it's hard when you can't be there!

Myla
 
Thanks everyone!

Sienne, I probably did give Meadow too much FancyFeast at 4pm. I let her eat as much as she wanted and she ate a whole can. I'll have to be mindful of the amounts from now on eve though I want her to fatten up again.

Libby, you are thinking I should have reduced Meadow's insulin dose?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top