? 7/9 Marvin + 11 151, AMPS 157,+3.5 104, +7 106 PMPS 115, +2 95, I am so confused

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marvin's Mom - Nat

Member Since 2017
yesterday
Good Morning, I am exhausted this am, going to haveto make myself strong coffee to stay up for Marvin's shot. Just did his +11 (since I forgot to adjust my alarm to his new time). Nice blue this am, Planning on giving him 5.5U today.

You would think after to reduced shots his from yesterday, his number would go higher today, got a feeling Marvin has other plans to show off. Let's see.

I hope I don't fall asleep on coach before his amps shot ;)
 
Marvin has really been keeping you busy!

Enjoy your coffee! :coffee::coffee::coffee:

Marvin, it would be nice if you would play nicely today and let your momma bean get some rest.
 
Marvin has really been keeping you busy!

Enjoy your coffee! :coffee::coffee::coffee:

Marvin, it would be nice if you would play nicely today and let your momma bean get some rest.
I so love my visits from Osha :)... Love that pic, would love to see what she looks like too one day.
 
I've been staring at my SS on and off the last few days. I look at the last two weeks, hide that and look at 3 weeks ago and before. I shake my head, hug my cat and tell him I love him, I stare at his SS some more.... 3 weeks ago, even 2 weeks ago I would not have imagine the progress he has made the last two weeks.

I so hope that cabergoline will continue to help him, and give others a new option for acromegaly. the way I see it, my cost for insulin is going down, which will end up covering most of the monthly cost of the cabergoline as a cartridge wasn't lasting a month any more and with out this it would have kept going up.
 
:coffee::coffee::coffee::coffee:
If at some point the exhaustion is getting to you, it's OK to take a bigger than usual reduction and let Marvin ride in slightly higher numbers for a bit so you can get some sleep. When Neko went charging down dose, I had to do the same. I was doing back to back reductions and sometimes larger reductions, just to catch my breath. Again, this recommendation is for Marvin only and his special circumstances. We have no data on what happens to insulin needs when a kitty is on cabergoline so we are playing it safe.

What I really like about Marvin's SS is how flaaaat he's become. :cool:
 
t's OK to take a bigger than usual reduction and let Marvin ride in slightly higher numbers for a bit so you can get some sleep.
I may just do that, was even thinking of skipping an evening dose, but feel guilty if in shootable range. If he does give me mid green today, I will do that. Maybe go to 4U for a few cycles?
 
You could go to 4 U for a few cycles if you need the sleep (or to have a life :)). There is a risk of constantly changing doses, in that you don't know what size the depot thinks it is. Not criticizing, just saying. I had the same thing happen to me. A BCS followed by a reduced dose then another reduction makes it hard to know what a good dose is cause the depot is wonky. On the other hand, having a caregiver who is tired and falling asleep is not good for Marvin either.:bighug: You need to take care of you, so you can take care of Marvin.
 
I may have a quieter day, 106 @+7. I should have tested in between the last two. He probably had a green in there. It's all good, he needed a break from the poking, mind you last test had to poke him 4 times to get enough blood. He wasn't happy.
 
Marvin is still in the blues for his PMPS @ 115. Mama needs a rest so giving an unearned reduction to give me a break. I went back and forth between giving 4U and 4.5U. Finally decided on 4.5U for tonight. Felt too guilty going lower. I am messy with his depo, which is probably not a good thing. Mind you not sure if it's my imagination, but with all the reductions and no shots, it doesn't seem to be effecting him much. Is it just me seeing that?

I have been posting responses on other posts the last few days. It's addictive I think. Time consuming too. Hats off to the regulars that make sure people like me are ok, and are kitties are doing well, and take the time to educate and guide us through the tough times, and just remind us we are doing well or the best we can. I know quite a few of you who regularly check up on Marvin and I are quite popular and active on the site. I realize after these last couple days that it time consuming and completely from the heart. Thanks :bighug: :bighug:
 
Ugh! Marvin, really?!

The larger depot can take 6 cycles to go away at larger doses, so the 6.0 unit depot could be partly in play. Plus there is the whole unknown cabergoline effect. I think I would take another BCS dose tomorrow (depending what he does tonight, maybe 2.0 units) and go back to the plan of 4.0 units.
 
Ugh! Marvin, really?!

The larger depot can take 6 cycles to go away at larger doses, so the 6.0 unit depot could be partly in play. Plus there is the whole unknown cabergoline effect. I think I would take another BCS dose tomorrow (depending what he does tonight, maybe 2.0 units) and go back to the plan of 4.0 units.
bcs? + 4.5 is 92. I just gave him food, I probably should have tried to wait another 30 minutes. but tired. It's still LC, should I stock up on MC and HC? I have one HC (assume as it has gravy in it) for emergencies. so far he hasn't dove down to lime that we know of, so I think he should be fine. lol
 
I wonder if the low numbers is why he seems in a bad mood. He still purrs, but has been hissing at me and trying to bite the last few days.
 
Yes, I've noticed some different behaviours in Teasel when his BG is at different levels - varies from lethargy to aggression toward his sister to mild grumpiness to happy as a clam. His sweet spot for feeling good is around 120-150.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top